Beauty

Girl Crush of the Week: Olivia Palermo


Let’s just pretend that I do a “Girl Crush of the Week” post weekly and that this isn’t the first time, okay? If you don’t know who Olivia Palermo is, you probably aren’t a New York socialite, never watched The City, and don’t have a Tumblr. Let me be the first to advise you on seriously rethinking your life.Olivia Palermo 2011

Olivia Palermo gained social status by starring in the reality TV series The City alongside young fashion hopeful Whitney Port. Whitney was originally on The Hills as a friend of Lauren Conrad, but moved on to bigger and better things. Olivia was kind of like Whitney’s frienemy and showed her the ropes of the fashion world in NYC but still making sure that Whitney was somewhat beneath her. I never said my girl crush was nice, okay?

Since then, every time I see a picture of this girl, she looks perfect. She knows style. Every look she wears seems effortlessly chic, like putting outfits together is second nature and money grows on trees. The girl can dress, is what I’m trying to say. I have a feeling that Kate Middleton wants to be Olivia Palermo, but is too restricted by modest royal garb and cries every night about having to re-use outfits to seem like “the people’s princess.” The people want fashion statements, Kate. If I have to see you in that green jacket one more time I swear…Olivia Palermo Leaving A Nail Salon In New York

Anyway, Olivia has done a couple note-worthy things with her time besides walking around the streets of New York hoping that someone takes her picture, but I don’t feel like looking up the details on Wikipedia. I think she got signed toย Wilhelminaย modeling agency but I’m pretty sure she doesn’t model any more.

When I was thumbing through one of my mags recently, I saw her in an ad accompanied with Masai tribesmen in traditional dress, all looking super chic. Basically, this Spanish footwear brand, Pikolinos (a non profit company), are sending their leather and beads to the Masai people to help better their lives and sustain the development of their endangered tribe. In turn, these Kenyan women are producing beautiful, handmade designs and earning money for their children’s schooling, livestock, clothes, etc.OP-pikolinos.jpg

So that’s cool right? Olivia is the ambassador for the charity project so that basically means she gets a free trip to Kenya to oversee the project and gets to model the footwear. Fair.

Who’s your girl crush at the moment?

 

Standard

46 thoughts on “Girl Crush of the Week: Olivia Palermo

  1. That stuck-up tan praying mantas is a crush of yours? At least we’ll never fight over a woman.

    My current girl-crush, Anna Friel. Mostly because I was at my dad’s where I spend the entire day watching Chiller TV channel and they’re really advertising Pushing Daisies a lot and at one point in the commercials she walks up to the camera with a smile and in a sweet voice says “Morning!” while waving. It’s all I need. A well-wish for my day.

    • I was trying to place Ann Friel and she was in Land of the Lost! Hah worst movie ever but I still thought it was funny because Will Farrell makes anything funny. I’m impressed that you were able to narrow your girl crush down to a single person because it seems like most women make your list.

    • Ha ha, Anna Friel!

      She’s a lovely girl but it’s quite strange seeing her being mentioned. Over here she’s most famous for a lesbian kiss in some dodgy soap opera from the mid 90s.

  2. Emily says:

    I love your writing! This grabbed my attention bc I am a full on girl but I also think it is important to point out genuinely real women who are worth ‘doating’ over–to coin an Irish phrase. I recently commented on your kidzshows how I so enjoy your work!! After seeing the finale of ‘the office’ and having been in theatre /film mind you in a more academic way as of late, I can’t help but admire actors who are women and really do it right… There are so many that don’t. It’s pathetic. They are hired to make the writer or director feel more macho or something–whatevs!!
    SO I think the world of your honest writing–you’re a genius! The piece about Ann Hathaway–perfect example. But do you know how sad it is that many other girls play ‘teacher’s pet’. There’s even a show w ms Fischer now in NYC and unfortunately her opposite femme cast member falls into this category. When will the real stars be aligned and learn to create a respectable profession?
    I’m writing a dissertation, so apologies for this more lengthy response. I sometimes get to read your blogs, and LOVE what you write w honesty and passion!

    My girl crush at the moment–Jenn, of course. OK Lily in Canada and Jenn ; ) I think it is refreshing to discover untamed talent on and off the virtual page!

    http://mashable.com/2013/05/07/jennifer-lawrence-photobomb/

    • Thank you so much for all of those lovely compliments. I love being called a genius and being someone’s girl crush! I also hate when women make themselves sex symbols just so they can become more famous, or get more roles.

      I think I know what show you’re talking about in NYC. I always hate when I see women play respectable roles and then I’ll see them in a magazine wearing almost nothing. It’s just so weird.

      I like Jennifer Lawrence too. She can do no wrong right now in her life! Thank you so much for your kind words! I love writing for people like you, who understand my humor and get what I’m trying to say.

  3. I agree with Tim. Awful taste in women ๐Ÿ˜‰

    My girl is Jennifer Lawrence. She is so sweet and just hilarious on TV. And the casual way she accidentally says stuff she probably shouldn’t leads me to believe she’s genuinely like that. And her putting her foot down about starving herself for Hunger Games was really sweet too.

    • Haha shut up!

      Jennifer Lawrence is sweet. I dig her for sure. But I’m starting to get tired of her quirkiness. I feel like she’s trying really hard to constantly make people laugh. I might be wrong though. I’m probably just jealous because that’s what I would try to do. I do like that she has a healthy appetite. She’s never looked super skinny which is great ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Lmao. You totally would. I think she just doesn’t want to be seen as standoffish or haughty like some of the other A-list actresses.

        I tend towards normal sized men/women in general. Although my other big girl-crush is a skinny chick (Eliza Dusku).

      • Hah yeah I liked her in Bring It On (I just had to look up who she was!). She’s got a 90’s cuteness about her. Hah ya know what I mean?

      • You hit the nail on the head! That 90s aspect is EXACTLY what I love about her.

        I love her in Bring It On too. But Faith from Buffy is my all-time favorite. Also my all-time favorite kick-ass heroine.

    • Thanks Michael! It was inspired…I’ve thought about it too much.

      She is very skinny. Lol Definitely heroine chic. Plus her voice is kind of annoying, but I can look past it.

  4. I think Girl crush of the week should be a regular feature. No. It should.
    This was great. I’m thinking about my girl crush. Who would you say I currently love… I’ll get back to you.
    By the way – those sandals are to die for – defs worth a trip to Kenya or wherever. LOL!

    • I think it should be too! Too bad I hate more girls than I have crushes on, but oh well. I can make it work.
      Aren’t those sandals coolio?! I was going to point them out to make sure everyone noticed, but I’m glad you understood what I was getting at.

  5. Mallory B. says:

    Duchess Kate wins it for me. I love Jennifer Lawrence as well, but Kate is just perfection. I have a feeling she’s a lady on the street, but a freak in the bed kind of gal. (Too much?) ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Duchess Kate is a class act for sure. She’s gorge. A bit too skins, but she seems like a really sweet person. HOWEVERR I definitely agree and could totally see her as a freak in the bed. I’ve seen pictures of her “modelling” in college wearing a see-through dress. She knows what’s up.

  6. unfetteredbs says:

    My girl crush is a cartoon– does that count? Lana Kane from Archer– she kicks butt. — secret agent and hot. But really I am just in love with Archer. I guess I need a life….
    ( do you watch it? Totally inappropriate)
    Pretty cool that Olivia is an ambassador for the charity. Tops!

    • I’ve never seen Archer or ever heard of it! What channel is it on? Or is it on Netflix? She seems pretty sexy (I looked her up on google). Just for the record, I always fall in love with cartoon characters. Always always.
      Yeah! She’s kind of dumb otherwise, but I think she’s pretty and has great style! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • unfetteredbs says:

        It is on FX but we stream it on Netflix. Lily if you watch it, you mustn’t think ill of me. It is grossly inappropriate and I adore it. I laugh my ass off. I really shouldn’t admit this.

    • That’s refreshing! Curvy girls are always sexy, but there’s still not enough of them in the media! Hard core, kick ass women are so fascinating! I wish I could be like that!

      • Oh, tell me about it! I am neither skinny nor busty, nor hardcore or kickass.
        But seriously, how can anyone not love Miss Vangsness? :3

      • You might think I’m weird, but I actually had to google her when you mentioned her. I’ve never seen her in anything! But I’ll take your word for it that she’s awesome ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. I don’t know who she is but what the hell, if she wants a slab of Derbyshire Thick End then it is hers for the taking. My girl crush would probably be Lena Headey, I know she’s getting on in years but she’s still a tasty piece of fruit; maybe I watch too much Game of Thones, I dunno. But rawr.

    • LOLZZ. I haven’t watched any Game of Thrones, so I’m clearly missing out on all these hotties. I looked her up though and she’s pretty! I’ve noticed that most people have crushes on the main characters in their fave shows hah. We’re just all addicted to our tvs.

      • Don’t get me wrong, there’s plenty of fit bints to be had where I work and whatnot but definitely the biggest crushes are the ones on TV because they’re people you’ll never had a chance at. Like Seven of Nine from Star Trek Voyager; ugh I’m such a geek.

Comments are great, eh?

