Animals

The Bug Zoo


Why did the people at Disney make their ants blue? So unrealistic.

I took the kids I babysit to the Bug Zoo yesterday. I figured we needed an adventure, and since it was rainy outside there wasn’t much else to do. I was debating between the Bug Zoo and the Butterfly Gardens. Why does Victoria have so many insect related habitats? (2 = so many) I chose the Bug Zoo because I didn’t know how to get to the Butterfly Gardens even though I like butterflies more than bugs.

When we got there, the cashier was uber weird. He kept calling the kids “hatchlings” which made me want to throw up in my mouth. And then he asked me if I had ever been to the Bug Zoo before. Does it look like I’ve ever been to the Bug Zoo?

So we went into the “zoo” and it was basically one big room with bugs in glass cases. We followed a tour guide around the room while she opened each case and let us hold the bugs. The kids I babysat didn’t touch anything. Smart move. I touched/held everything. Weird stick bugs, a tarantula, a millipede, etc. When would I ever get the chance to do this again? Never. Because I’m never going back to the Bug Zoo. So I had to make this trip worth while.

In any other circumstance I hate bugs. They creep me out. Mainly because I think of them crawling in my ears, nose or mouth when I’m sleeping. It makes me so uneasy. But for some reason, the big bugs I was fine with. I mean, don’t get me wrong, if I saw a tarantula in my house, I would burst into tears.

There were these two boys there that were like Napoleon Dynamite–moon boots and all. Every time the tour guide said anything, they were always like “Oh we found one of those in our basement” and then their mom would go on and back them up on everything they said. It was so annoying. The tour guide tried to act interested in their stories. So professional. Their voices were like a voice I would use to mimic someone. They were so odd. My favorite part was when one of them pointed to a glass case and said, “Oh I see you have some salamanders” and the tour guide replied, “Umm those are millipedes.” It brought me so much joy.

The Bug Zoo was actually pretty cool. For some reason I was mesmerized by this ant farm that wrapped around the entire room. The tour guide was explaining each of the ant’s jobs and how they just know what to do. They’re so organized! I was impressed. They just do their thing. I don’t appreciate little ants as much as I should.

Weird guy greeted us again in the gift shop. He asked how we liked it and what our favorite part was. I wanted to tell him that my favorite part was when that kid thought the Bug Zoo had salamanders but I didn’t. The kids I babysit paid him no attention. Seriously smart kids. I kind of felt bad for the guy because he was so awkward. So I got into a bug convo with him. I know I say this all the time, but seriously, what is my life?

Standard

11 thoughts on “The Bug Zoo

  1. AgrippingLife says:

    lol! You always start out so disgruntled and by the end of it you’re being kind. I feel sorry for awkward people, you might as well humor them. This whole thing makes me laugh because I know how much you hate the insect world. Good for you for facing your fears.

    Also, thanks for rescuing me from this seminar on adolescent addiction. Ugh! So boring! Haha!

    • Haha yeah. A lot of my posts take a complete 180. Oy. I feel sorry for awkward people until they annoy me. If they’re nice, then its fine.
      Adolescent addiction always amazes me. When I was an adolescent, I didn’t even know what drugs were. Okay, I did. But still.

  2. I also have a large fear of bugs crawling into my ears. I never had the fear until someone told me about it happening to their friend in a desert in Egypt and all of the natural/handy remedies that had on them. And the stickler is: I can’t remember what worked. So now I absorbed their fear and don’t know how to fix it if/when it happens to me.

    Thank goodness your experience was in a controlled environment. They would surely know what to do about ear bugs. And it sounded like fun!

    • It was actually really fun! The thought of bugs crawling into any hole or crevasse in my body freaks me out. We need to find that remedy. Now I’m scared to go to Egypt! But I still really want to go.

  3. I am not too keen on insects myself actually. There is no way I would want to hold a tarantula either.

    Having to call the kids ‘hatchlings’ would make me cringe. The kids wouldn’t really understand it and the parents just look at you like you’re some kind of pervert.

    Were you taller than the cashier bloke? He probably thought you were going to stamp on him.

    • He was actually taller than me! So that was weird. He was just so awkward.
      Holding bugs is just weird. They just sit there or crawl around and its kind of like ummm okay what am I doing?

    • Hahah thanks Hook! My opinion on situations always changes half-way through blogging. It’s always, “Oh I guess it wasn’t so bad after all.” haha

  4. Bug guy never talke to a girl before. The only females in his life up to this point have been ladybugs.

    Bug experts are always strange and strict. I had a woman yell at me for sneaking into a butterfly exhibit. Yeah, I was 22 at the time and didn’t pay the $10 extra to see them but it was Super Bowl Sunday and the museum had 4 people in it. Give me a break.

    • Yeah bug experts are the weirdest. Like, how is working with bugs their life goal? Seems odd.
      You’re such a rebel. Sneaking into a butterfly exhibit sounds exhilarating. I hate when people take their dumb jobs so seriously.

Comments are great, eh?

