Feelings, Surroundings

La Lune


I see the moon and the moon sees me and the moon sees somebody I want to see.

Lately I’ve become entranced with the moon. I love how it lights up the night and how it morphs into different shapes yet still remains the same. Waxing and waning. Crescent and gibbous. The sun is always the same. It gives us light, life, and even energy. The moon is different though. It doesn’t require attention. It’s just there. Sometimes it comes out even when it’s not supposed to. Have you ever looked up on a clear day and seen the moon faintly making an appearance? Like it’s always watching over us.tumblr_ncab6dKwep1ssdfcyo1_500

The moon kind of reminds me of the Underworld in Greek mythology. Everyone thinks of Hades and the Underworld as evil or interchangeable with hell. But I don’t really think that was the case. The Underworld was simply where people went when they died. Everyone went there. No exclusions. It wasn’t a bad place at all. But since the myth was painted with a dark undertone, people translate it as a dark place. Because the sun is always associated with light and good it makes sense that the moon would be paired with darkness and even a wicked vibe. But I think the moon gets a bad rap sometimes.

Even though our moon can’t make flowers grow or supply us with a source of vitamins, it has other, equally impressive powers. For example, old Luna can control the ocean’s tide. Whenever I spend a week at the beach with my mom she always asks the life guard what time high tide is. It’s different every day because the moon goes through a different phase each day. tumblr_mgbgjq5cVg1rtuzomo1_400

The moon can also control our personality. The word lunatic gets it’s root from our nightlight. My parents both used to work in a mental health facility and they said that anytime the patients started acting a little bit over the top, they would look out the window and see a full moon staring back at them.

We can even walk on the moon if our heart so desires. And if you have millions of dollars combined with the permission of NASA. For those of us without those means, we can just moon walk down the aisles of the grocery store (the best place to practice). The sun never provides us with dance moves or a place to travel.

Have you ever read the book Goodnight Moon? It’s not a very challenging read, but it’s a classic. The little boy I used to babysit liked to read that one with me. I think the moon is a comfort. It’s always there to tuck us in at night. And everyone sees the same moon. No one really says that about the sun. You can’t look straight into the sun. But the moon will just calmly hang in the sky.tumblr_ncf0rhZP4r1s5u2cno1_500

There was a rare ‘blood moon’ eclipse the other night. Did you see it? 

Standard

12 thoughts on “La Lune

    • I do. I hope it’s not too dry on the facts. But yeah, I definitely have a lot of love for that big old floating rock…or whatever it is.

  1. lanceleuven says:

    Have you ever looked at the moon through a decent telescope? If not, you really should try (local amateur astronomy clubs would probably be happy to help). The first time I looked it took my breath away. It’s absolutely stunning. I’ve never looked at the moon the same since.

    • I did when I was really young and it was during an eclipse so it was kind of freaky. My neighbor shared his telescope with us. But yeah I would love to have a good look now as an adult and have someone explain everything to me. Maybe I will go an astronomy club! Thanks!

  2. Love your moon post! I did see the eclipse this week – it was incredible. I remember when I had my first son, there was a full moon that evening and the hospital was so crazy crowded with mothers giving birth. My doctor said it is that way every time there is a full moon.

    • Me too. It does give a strange light. It’s weirder that it’s not even really lit up. I guess light is just reflected off it or something? I don’t know..its cool though haha

Comments are great, eh?

