Books

Lily’s Literature #10


I feel like I really zoomed through the last three books I read. It’s probably due to being stuck on an airplane for 4 1/2 hours last week, and then again this week. I’m also really proud of myself because I’ve now read 29 books this year–only one more before the new year and I’ll have read 30 books! That’s huge for me. I’m a slow reader, guys!

A book that had been getting a lot of good reviews was The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion so I decided to take a chance on it. In fact, an employee at a book store told me how much they loved it–I kind of hate/love when people do that. I like it because people are sharing something that they love, but I hate it because books are personal and not everyone will like the same stories that you do.9781443422666

The Rosie Project is about a 40 year old Aussie named Don Tillman who isn’t your typical bachelor. He is particular, peculiar, extremely OCD, and not aware of how lonely he really is. Until he meets Rosie–a woman who fits none of his future wife criteria. With the help of his best friend and the wife of his best friend, he weighs the pros and cons of dating Rosie, and helping her find her biological father.

I had trouble getting into this one. The main character, Don, was so annoying to me. He became lovable towards the end, but he ultimately frustrated me a lot. I guess the writing was done well, because he was supposed to be like that. I think his neurosis would be funnier on the big screen though. This book would make a great rom com. Some events in the story just seemed so unlikely, but they worked. If you can’t tell, I could take or leave this book. Meh.

After that, I picked up a book that had been on my list for a while, Life of Pi by Yann Martel. Life of Pi is an incredible story of a young man who is the son of a zookeeper in India. When the boy, Pi, and his family decide to leave for Canada to start a new life, the ship carrying them and their cargo sinks leaving Pi in a life boat with a handful of wild animals. The book follows Pi through his journey and his eventual return to land.life-of-pi-book-cover

I didn’t like the first couple chapters of the book, but it eventually held my attention. I liked the story because it was such an adventure without being as boring as The Old Man and the Sea. There was a lot of animal on animal brutality which disturbed me, but other than that, I enjoyed Pi’s journey. It forced me to ask the question “What would I do if I was in that situation?” A good story with an interesting ending that is open to interpretation.

Today I finished reading Divergent by Veronica Roth. Oddly enough, I went to high school with Veronica. She was in my grade, I think we had a couple of classes together. We were both tall. I wonder if she remembers me? ANYWAY the book is really great! I’ve only recently tried to get into Young adult novels, but I would recommend this one to teenagers and adults alike. The movie is coming out soon, so you better start reading it now!divergent_hq

Divergent is the first book in a trilogy that takes place in dystopian Chicago. The population has decided that, in order to avoid war and obtain peace, people needed to choose a “faction” or a group that characterized them as close as possible. When it comes to Choosing Day, Beatrice chooses a faction that is completely opposite from the one she was raised in. Throughout her journey into her new faction, Beatrice not only finds out who she is, but she realizes that she doesn’t fit into just one category–she’s different from society. She’s Divergent.

I’m always really impressed when authors can invent new worlds. I thought the characters were very life like and I could totally feel their emotions jump off the page. There was a rewarding romance and a lot of action. It was a long book, but I read it pretty quickly because the story held my attention all the way through.

Have you read any good books lately?

Standard

21 thoughts on “Lily’s Literature #10

  1. Yay! I’m glad you finally read Divergent and liked it! Also, I keep hearing good things about the Rosie Project so I feel like I SHOULD read it, even though it doesn’t sound like a book I would like. So thanks for the honest review on that one; now I don’t feel so obligated to πŸ™‚
    -Kaitlyn

    • Yeah! I loved Divergent! Glad you guys recommended it to me. The Rosie Project was okay. I wasn’t super attached to the characters or anything. But I think they would translate much better on screen. I could see it being a Hugh Grant film or something haha.

  2. unfetteredbs says:

    Divergent is all the rage. That’s pretty cool about the author. I haven’t read it either one of these. Not sure about the Rosie P. Meh as you say.
    30 books? Impressive!! I think I squeaked out maybe eight, you count graphic novels then ten. Kind of embarrassing to admit for a librarian. Shhh

    • Hah yeah I felt pretty cool once I discovered my connection to Ms. Roth. Kind of cool. Yeah The Rosie Project was Meh at best.
      Thanks lady! I feel very proud of myself. Eight is still really good considering that you have a job and kids and actual stuff to do during your day!

  3. All the girls on Goodreads are going mad about Divergent so I was expecting you to be all contrary and hate it. Nifty fact about the author though and I reckon she reads your blog every day.

    Tall girls stick together, yeah?

    • Haha I know, that’s usually my style, right? Well I figure I need to do some major sucking up at my high school reunion, so I can direct the author back to my blog to prove how much I liked it. HAH.

      Tall girls always stick together.

  4. Wait, we went to school with Veronica Roth?!? THIS Veronica Roth?!? How did I not know about this before?!? I can’t deal right now… omg I just looked up photos and I think she was my friend’s cousin’s girlfriend? lol Said friend and cousin were in a Christian metal band (I still have their music saved on my computer… lawd why) and I’m pretty sure I talked to her a few times at their shows… THIS IS SO WEIRD, LILY. SO. WEIRD.

    • Lol yes! I didn’t make the connection at first. She was in my grade and I think we had an open together maybe? And maybe choir? Kind of funny huh! (Lol about the Christian metal band…) I’m glad you’re freaking out as much as I did! πŸ˜€

  5. I just finished The Sisters Brothers, which is not your father’s western. It won a bunch of prizes, including Canada’s Leacock Medal for humour. I don’t quite get that one. I quite liked it but the humour is so dark as to be invisible.

    • Okay The Sisters Brothers has been on my list for a while simply because of the cover art on the book. So cool. Hmm. I’ll probably read it one of these days and see if I feel the same way about the humor. Good to know!

    • Yeah do it! It’s a great story and then if you like it, there are two more books in the trilogy. And then you’ll be prepared for the movie! πŸ˜€ You’re welcome. Thanks for reading!

  6. 30 books is impressive! After reading your review I finally feel motivated to finish my copy of Life of Pi that has been laying around for years. And I’m adding Divergent to my next-to-buy list. Thanks!

    Ever read Cutting for Stone or the Poisonwood Bible? They’re definitely high on my all time favorites list. Very moving and thought provoking.

    High five for being tall!! I’m 6’0 πŸ™‚

    • Awesome! Yeah I think you’ll really like Divergent! I just felt like I was the only person in the world who hadn’t read Life of Pi haha!

      Both Cutting for Stone and The Poisonwood Bible are on my to-read list so I think I’ll get to them eventually. They’re so thick and intimidating!

      Awesome! I’m also 6 feet! πŸ˜€

    • That sounds like a good choice. I think I need to read that one too! I love reading books and then watching the movie to compare and contrast.

      Life of Pi definitely had some slow moments for sure. I feel ya!

Comments are great, eh?

