Feelings

I Told You So


I love saying this phrase. Maybe because it’s not everyday that I get to prove someone wrong. Not that I want to prove people wrong everyday. It’s just fun to be right when someone else assumes that they’re correct.

Sometimes you don’t even have to say the words “I told you so.” You can give a knowing glance, or just let a smile creep across your face. Or you can play it cool knowing that the other person is thinking “DAMMIT!”

There are also moments when “I told you so” is not as rewarding as it would seem. The phrase “I hate to say I told you so” makes the other party aware of a mistake they could have avoided. Or something of the like. ย tumblr_mt4jd2wSnV1rxs3wso1_500

I don’t handle being on the other end of an “I told you so” well. Not that I don’t like learning things from others, or being wrong. I just don’t like learning things from others or being wrong.

I think my love for proving people wrong started when my aunt and I were talking about a 90’s song and she quoted incorrect lyrics and I said “I think it goes like this…” (This kind of thing is usually seen as obnoxious, pretentious behavior, but I was young and dumb, so cut me some slack.) My aunt was so sure that she was right. When we looked up the lyrics, it turned out that I was actually correct and my parents laughed so hard that I schooled her. That being said, I haven’t seen her for years and she’s probably still mad that I’m a lyrical genius.

Have you ever proved someone wrong? Do you like the feeling or hate it?

Standard

16 thoughts on “I Told You So

  1. Is it mean that I LOVE proving people wrong?! I get almost competitive when I know I’m right and they’re wrong, and it’s so satisfying to prove that I was indeed right. I don’t even always say “I told you so.” Sometimes I just smirk and say, “Okay, if that’s what you think…” Eventually, they realize all on their own. ๐Ÿ™‚ Still pretty satisfying.

    • Haha no it’s not mean at all! It’s awesome! Being right is a very rewarding feeling, so I definitely understand. It’s good that you play it cool though. Unless I’m 100% sure that I’m right, I try not to go too crazy because there’s always a chance I could be wrong. But yeah, I’m glad we have this in common! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Sometimes I love it, sometimes I had it. It really depends on how the person was acting when they thought they were right. If they were being really uppity and dismissive, I’ll savor the satisfaction. If they were humble, I’ll feel a little guilty.

    • That’s a really good point. I usually won’t go into attack mode if someone is just making conversation or being nice. But yeah, if they’re being hard to work with, it’s pretty great to be right. So basically, what I’m trying to say is that I agree with you. Haha

  3. Of course, I prove people wrong all the time! ๐Ÿ˜€
    No seriously, when I’m convinced of something, I’m moslty right because when I’m not absolutely sure, I will always say that.
    That probably makes me an annoying person, but hell, I like being right! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Totally! Proving people wrong is so easy these days. Yeah, and you can also make sure you’re right before you get in a major brawl. What a wonderful time we live in.

  4. unfetteredbs says:

    Mmmm I love being right. I’m a competitive bugger but never do I rub it in someone’s face. I do a mean victory dance in private though.

    • Being right is pretty great. That’s good that you don’t rub it in people’s faces. Depending on the person, I might. Victory dances at home, or with people who witnessed it are pretty great!

  5. erinorange says:

    I hate both – I’m so awkward at telling people they’re wrong and I hate to hear it myself – I just like it that everyone can walk around in their own version of the world – as long as it’s not too messed up obvs.

    • Yeah it definitely depends on the person you’re dealing with I think. I don’t mind telling someone that they’re wrong if they’re annoying. Haha. But yeah I like that everyone has different opinions and views. What a positive way of looking at things! Nice one ๐Ÿ˜€

Comments are great, eh?

