Music

Brothers


No, I’m not going to talk about my brosef. I’m going to talk about the band Tanlines and their song “Brothers.” Not that my brother isn’t worth talking about.

I haven’t listened to the entirety of Tanlines’ album, Mixed Emotions, but I have listened to the first two songs on said album and I really, really enjoy them. Don’t ask me why I haven’t given their other tunes a chance. I think part of me was nervous that the rest of the album wasn’t going to be as good as the first two songs so I might as well quit listening while I’m happy. Nice logic on my part.

I love this style of music–electro indie rock pop whatever. It really speaks to my soul and makes me happy. The band consists of two dudes from Brooklyn. I find their sound really refreshing and different from the top 40 tunes that are always on the radio and playing on the speakers in drugstores. Not that I frequent drugstores….

Their song “All of Me” is upbeat and catchy. I can’t put my finger on the right words to describe their sound in this tune. It almost has a retro feel paired with it’s electronic beats. 

“Brothers” has the same quality, but I like the vocals a little bit better because they sound deeper and they resonate more. This song isn’t as dance-able as “All of Me” but it still has a great beat that keeps you coming back for more. 

 

Standard

7 thoughts on “Brothers

  1. Lily logic is a fascinating thing and the world would be an intriguing place if more people followed it…

    People would come home early from their holidays in case the rest of it wasn’t as good as the start was.

    They’d stop cooking before the meal was ready, in case it didn’t taste as nice as it smelled.

    Anyway. The moment I see a guitar in a music video I get deeply suspicious, but them electronic beats were pleasing to my rave-techno mind.

    • Haha okay okay I get your point. Nothing would get done if we all followed my type of “logic”.

      Glad you liked dem beats. They probably have other good tunes…I just need to give them a listen. Fingers crossed that they’re good! 😉

Comments are great, eh?

