Games

Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny Review


For those of you that don’t know, I really like video games. And when you’re unemployed, playing video games all day just happens sometimes. I haven’t done many reviews on games that I’ve played. I once wrote about WoW (World of Warcraft for all you n3wbs) but I’m not a pro at that game by any means. Since I haven’t reviewed a game in 5ever (longer than 4ever), I decided that it’s about time.

I’m not super into fighting games like COD (Call of Duty) and Halo. I’m more into retro games and role playing simulation games. Let me explain. I still have my N64 fresh from the 90’s so I play a lot of games on that system. I know they aren’t the newest and don’t have the best graphics (and they definitely aren’t that challenging) but they bring back a level of nostalgia for me that is indescribable.

One of my favorite games for my N64 was called Harvest Moon. It’s a pretty basic game where you make a life for yourself by farming, wooing women, making money, and just being an all-around cool guy. It’s not that challenging. It’s kind of like a Sims game but with awful graphics. Anyway, the company that made Harvest Moon, Natsume, continued to make Harvest Moon games for other systems which had better graphics and more to do.HM64boxart

They branched out even further and developed Rune Factory which includes all of the challenges of making your character successful in his township, but there’s also a battle element. And the fighting is actually pretty tough. There is way more to do in this game, making it ten times more addictive than the Harvest Moon games.

The premise of Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny is that your character and his best friend (who is a girl) get trapped in the same body and they have to work together to solve the mysteries of their home island and the surrounding areas. It’s cool because you can explore the oceans by riding on this big golem. The farming element isn’t as difficult as their previous games–you don’t have to spend as much time harvesting crops and making money that way.

There are lots of potential spouses on the island too, which is good. I always make my character talk to a lot of ladies, so he’s a pretty big pimp.

Much like WoW, there are quests that townspeople ask you to go on. It helps the game move along well and also earns you money and respect from the islanders. The graphics are pretty great as well. The island that you live on looks very Mediterranean so the game also has a relaxing feel to it.rune-factory-tides-of-destiny-613582

Overall I would definitely give this game two thumbs up. It offers a lot of different elements that I think would please most people–girls and guys alike. If you’re interested in this one, it’s available for PS3 and Wii (I have the Wii version).

What kind of video games do you like to play?

Standard

8 thoughts on “Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny Review

  1. heeey, great review! I played Harvest Moon once, didn’t really get into it tbh. But I was guilty of making the guy a big pimp too. I like RPGs, sometimes the occasional shooter, First Person (like Bioshock) and action, like Assassin’s Creed where you can skulk around in a hoodie hehe.

    You should play Persona 4 for PS2, you can pimp your main character too but not as much as Harvest Moon since it’s still an RPG. It seems all games have some an element like this now, like Dragon’s Dogma/Skyrim for instance, where you can crush on kids and old gents and choose who to marry. Just find this magical amulet or something like that then talk to the character you kinda fancy and get married at the church lmao.

    Then there’s otome games which I discovered a while back – most are Japanese games aimed at girls – where you play as a girl character and there’s this bunch of guys you can choose to go with rofl!!!!

  2. Lol yeahhh! I love that stuff! It’s so cheesy,but it’s good.I don’t have a Playstation, but I’m seriously thinking about getting one because they seem to produce the best games. I think I would like Persona 4 and Skyrim (my brother has told me great things about that one). Thanks for the recommendations!

    Lol I should look up the Japanese ones because I would probably get a kick out of them haha. So amazing.

    Thanks for the tips and for stopping by!

  3. unfetteredbs says:

    You should totally visit me Lily. You would fit in my household quite nicely. Daughter one is a huge Nintendo fan as well as the biggest kid in the house-my hubs. They just got the new Pokemon game. They love animal crossing too. Sky rim is a huge huge favorite. There are others but I’m kinda the odd man out. Daughter two is a huge fan of harvest moon. We are probably so poor because of all our video games haaaa. Shhhhh we were laughing the other day cause every toddler picture up through teens for daughter one she had a controller in her hAnds. That’s not really funny. And this is a stupid and long comment.

    • I totally want to! N64 is the best system ever created. I grew up on that bad boy. Freak I love Pokemon games too. So good. I’m embarrassed to say that I haven’t played Skyrim yet, but my brother speaks pretty highly of it. Maybe he’ll let me try his out? Yeah right.
      Gahh we sat in front of the tv and computer so much growing up. It’s sick. But amazing. I will definitely take you up on that offer and visit next time I’m in your neck of the woods!

  4. The N64 was AMAZING and I skived off college all the time to play Banjo Kazooie and Goldeneye.

    The Harvest Moon games aren’t really my thing to be honest – I’m a huge Halo fanboy who has even read all the novels and short stories that have been released for it.

    I’m not sure if you’ll like Skyrim – although it’s a big roleplaying game with lots of exploring to do, the tone of it is much more serious than Tides of Destiny.

    • Haha Banjo Kazooie! And Goldeneye was a classic. However I was more into Mario 64 and Mario Kart.

      The early Harvest Moon game is kind of lame but it was a childhood staple for me so that’s the reason I keep it around. Halo seems fun but too intense for me!

      Yeah I can see Skyrim being more serious than Tides. That makes sense. I don’t even have a Playstation so it’ll be a while before I even think about playing that one! Thanks MIchael!

Comments are great, eh?

