Music

Baby Stick Around


This week I knew I wanted to feature a Joe Jackson song but I had so much trouble picking just one. Damn, I have so much love for this man. Even though he’s like the fugliest person ever. His songs just put me in such a good mood. I love a lot of the tunes off of his “Look Sharp” album. In fact, the song “Look Sharp” was definitely a contender for the name of this post.

When I was in my first year of university I wore mini skirts a lot. Hell, I wore mini skirts a lot in high school too. And I still wear them often. One of the lyrics in Joe Jackson’s “Pretty Girls” says ” I found the girls there, long legs and blonde hair…I hear the mini skirt is coming back in style.” I was convinced he was singing about me even though the song had been written, performed, and produced way before I was born. Minor detail.

I think most people are familiar with his song “Is She Really Going Out With Him?” which is a classic. I don’t know how many times I’ve looked at couples on the street and thought Hmmm something’s not right here.

I also like his song “I’m the Man” mostly because of the lyric “Now give me all your money cuz I know you think I’m funny.” It’s just such a fast, upbeat tune.

The namesake of this post is from a song that really makes me happy. It has almost a 50’s-ish feel. Like, I could see Richie Cunningham, Potsie and Ralph dancing to this. Man, imagine if your name (or nickname) was Potsie. Would you kill yourself or what?

 

 

Standard

12 thoughts on “Baby Stick Around

  1. Great pick!
    I saw him 15(?) years ago before NYU took over The Bottom Line and turned it into a lecture hall.
    Bastards.

    He put on a good show, but man, he was kind of creepy.

    • Hahah omg I love that he was creepy. That means that his personality matches his face I guess.

      That’s crazy that you saw him only 15 years ago. Not bad Guap, not bad. You see all the good concerts!

  2. Being the uncultured listener of dancey rave tunes scoundrel that I am, I have no idea who this man is. He looks right strange, though.

    All that stuff about mini skirts was jolly interesting though.

    • Haha yeah seriously. Joe Jackson is awesome. He’s so weird and cool. Very New Wave. Which is like, my favorite style of music.

      Haha yeah the lyrics in that song are awesome!

Comments are great, eh?

