Memories

Sleepovers


Sleepovers were exciting when I was a youngster. Hell, they’re still exciting. They’re not always comfortable, but no one ever promised comfort. They promised games, staying up way past your bedtime, pranks, and some tears (whether they were from laughing too hard or crying, there were always tears). The one sleepover that’s still vivid in my mind is my friend Kelly’s birthday party.

Side note: I do remember an instance from a sleepover at my house. One single friend was sleeping over with me and my cute little brother who was probably 4 came in the room wearing an over-sized shirt for bed. I asked my friend if she wanted to see something funny, and lifted up my brother’s shirt, revealing his belly and little undies. He was so sad. The next day my mom said that he asked her why I’m so mean to him. Ugh heartbreaking. The reason I remember this so clearly is because it literally scarred me for life.

ANYWAY Kelly was one of my best friends who, before I moved away, I informed that I didn’t want to be her friend anymore. I really knew how to make a clean break. She cried at recess. Why was I the worst child of all time? This sleepover was before that though. Everything was fine and I was invited to spend the night with other gals. Some I knew, some I didn’t.

I remember bringing a long fleece nightgown to sleep in for some reason, not thinking about how hot I would get wearing that while inside a sleeping bag. When I got there we ate and ran around the house–typical stuff when you’re a child hopped up on sugar. There was a token mischievous girl who liked to cause trouble, one who was really loud, and the rest were relatively normal. Excluding me and my fleece nightgown.

When the sun started to set, “Spice World” was turned on and we danced to the same two songs on repeat. All I have to say is God bless Kelly’s mom and dad. I fear the day that I have to host my child’s sleepover. By the third time “Spice Up Your Life” played, I was sufficiently drenched.spice world

At around 10 or 11pm we started sneaking upstairs. I remember crawling in single file formation into Kelly’s parent’s room as they watched TV in bed. After a while they kicked us out. We were laughing pretty hard by that time so of course, minutes later we did it again. I said it once and I’ll say it again. God bless Kelly’s parents.

The next morning I woke up dripping with sweat from my poor choice of sleep wear. I was also exhausted from the night’s festivities. My mom would usually make us go to bed at 7:30 because she wanted to get rid of us. I don’t blame her though. Whenever I babysit for someone and they tell me that their kid’s bedtime is 9pm, I’ll roughly translate that to 7pm. It’s just a survival method. So yeah, since I was used to going to bed so early, I was pretty tired. However, if I woke up fully rested, it wouldn’t have been a successful sleepover.

rememberthetime_zps58158eef

Standard

39 thoughts on “Sleepovers

  1. That thing you did to your brother…I hope he doesn’t remember it.

    I like that you mentioned crawling single file. Did you used to go up stairs on all fours or at least using your hands on the steps. I used to do that all the time and remember still doing it when I was like 17. Other kids did it too so I don’t feel weird.

    • Yeah of course. In my high school years, before walking into my bedroom I would touch the space on the wall above my door. After a while it made a mark. I guess I have dirty hands?

      I know. That story about my brother is so sad. That’s one of my biggest regrets.

  2. I like this but would have enjoyed it much more if my heart hadn’t just broken… TWICE!
    As a parent of 22-year-old and 19-year-old girls, I too am a Spice Girls survivor. They used to dress up their little brother = more scarring.

    • Hahah being a Spice Girls survivor is an amazing feat. Not everyone makes it through something like that. I feel bad for all younger brothers. What a tough role to play. I think I made up for it though by playing with him every day. Well…it was just the two of us so I didn’t really have much of a choice anyway haha!

  3. I always had sleepovers at my friends houses but rarely at mine. Now that I’m a mom I think that was very smart of my parents!
    Actually for my 13th birthday my mom organized a “Diaper Party”. It was a way of saying “Goodbye Baby! Hellooooo Teenager!” It was a lot of fun. Mom got receiving blankets to use as cloth diapers and even found the old fashioned diaper pins. Everything we drank was from a 4 oz. baby bottle. We played baby shower games and had a blast!

    • Haha that’s pretty awesome! I can see that being really fun at that age. Anything creative is a nice break from the norm. There were so many barbie parties…

    • Yeah! It’s super fun! The link up? If you go click on the badge at the bottom of my post, it should take you to a page where it explains how to do it. Then if you go to Emily or Ashley’s post, there is a link where you can add your post to the list of people who participated. Hopefully that helps! πŸ˜€

  4. I dreaded sleep-overs as a child and as a parent. Nothing can pierce the eardrum quite like a gaggle of high-pitched giggling girls.

    Nothing.

    • Rebellious! I think I stayed up until 2pm the latest. I’ve had a love affair with sleep since I was young. Can’t get enough of that stuff!

    • I know right? Man being mean when we were young was fine but now that we’re older we can’t be mean without being called a bitch. Tough times!
      I miss sleepovers too! πŸ˜€

  5. It really makes me feel good that your mom made you go to bed at 7:30 because she wanted some times to herself because sometimes I refer to putting C down at 7:00 as “putting her away for the day.” Please forward all parenting awards to moi.

    I loved that you guys watched Spice World! Weren’t they the best? I have a very clear memory of “Wannabe” debuting on MTV when I was on Spring Break my freshman year of high school and being like, “Well this is the best music I have ever heard.” Fiona Apple came out around the same time and I much preferred the Spice Girls because they weren’t as angry.

    • Oh yeah moms these days are really cray when they let their kids stay up till 9 like animals. Putting C away for the day seems totally normal to me. That’s how I babysit, and that’s how I’ll most likely raise my children or child or cats.

      Also, so true about Fiona Apple. She’s grody.

  6. So I’ve decided if my future children ever want to have a sleepover, they can only listen to music on repeat that I actually like.

    Also, I’m a little jealy of your fleece nightgown because I’ve never owned one.

    • NOOO don’t be jealous of my fleece nightgown. It was the worst decision and it wasn’t even cute. Like, you know how some shoes are painful but it’s okay because they’re cute? This was the opposite of cute.

      Yeah, we should totally make the playlists to our kid’s sleepovers. They will love us.

  7. unfetteredbs says:

    I’m beginning to wonder how it is your mom is still sane but then I read her blog and I think the apple didnt fall far from the tree?

    Worlds worst sleep over game for a parent? Endless hours of dance dance revolution and 7 teenage girls in a tiny apartment. My head still hurts

    • Dude my brother and I were OBSESSED with DDR. It was so fun until we broke the floor pad with our stomping.

      Lol wait what do you mean the apple didn’t fall far from the tree? You mean I’m sane like my mom? haha

      • I always loved the tears that came from deeply emotional moments of revelation about ultra serious pre-teen problems. Like discovering who your true friends were after another friend wrote a nasty note about you and passed it on to your crush. Drama.

    • Those girls really knew how to “spice” up a party! LOL (I hate myself)

      I don’t think I’ve ever been hotter in my life. I don’t even think the desert is as hot as a fleece nightgown in a sleeping bag.

  8. I started wetting the bed around 12 and a half and mom put me into cloth pin on diapers and rubberpants at bedtime and the bedwetting lasted quite a while.When i turned 13,my mom had a ‘Welcome to teen’ party for me and all of my friends wore my cloth diapers and rubberpants at my sleepover so i wouldnt be the only girl wearing them.We also got crazy,and used pacifiers and drank from baby bottles and played baby games.Some of the girls brought blanket sleepers and wore them with the cloth diapers and rubberpants under them and looked like toddlers!

Comments are great, eh?

