Beauty

Girl Crush of the Week: 90’s Models


I’ve been noticing a theme on my tumblr lately. It’s a Kate Moss theme sprinkled with other 90’s models, actors and actresses looking good compared to what they look like now. The 90’s were a magical decade. There was good music, great TV shows, awesome movies, and cool fashion. And everyone seemed to be doing well in that decade. The economy was okay. Bill was happily cheating on Hilary. Life was good.tumblr_mlrsh6U8JE1qc94oqo1_r1_500

Okay so first of all Kate. Kate Moss wasn’t your typical model. She wasn’t tall. But she made up for it in super skinny-ness and being uber photogenic. Her face eases my soul for some reason. She’s just so flawless.

There’s also Cindy Crawford. I like her, she always modeled beautiful clothes and she had a great head of hair. But ugh that mole. How hard is it to remove it? Not hard at all. I know it’s like her trade mark and everything, but why would she want to be known for having a facial mole? Β But I’ll forgive and try to forget it. *shudder*tumblr_mde9jcgFtc1qbg2pgo1_500

I really like Christy Turlington’s big smile. She always looks so happy. Happy girls are the prettiest girls. Isn’t that something that would be on Pinterest written in pink script with a random landscape background? Yes.

I’m also a fan of Linda Evangelista, Carla Bruni, and Naomi Campbell (but mostly just for the phone throwing). There were so many great faces back in the day–it’s overwhelming.Β top6_on_the_cover_of_vogue_1990

Lastly, I have to give an honorable mention to a young Milla Jovovich. She had such an awesome youthful lion’s mane back then. And her blue eyes. Gorge!tumblr_mjrxf1j9WN1qz9qooo1_500

Who are your 90’s crushes?

 

Standard

25 thoughts on “Girl Crush of the Week: 90’s Models

  1. This is the second time I’ve seen Linda Evangelista’s name today. Well, third if you count me scrolling back up to see how it’s spelled and I already forgot so hopefully I got it right.

    90s crushes? The hot chick from Veruca Salt. All of the Spice Girls except for Victoria Beckham. I’ve never found her attractive. Ashley Judd. Lacey Chabert. A lot of other random people I would see on television from shows my mom would watch. I always liked all of the women from Ally McBeal for some reason except for Calista Flockhart. The bassist from Hole Melissa Auf der Maur, also because of her name. The Mermaids from Hook, but you have no clue about them.

    • I didn’t even look up the spelling so I might have spelled it wrong. But I think we spelled it the same. WHEW.

      I know the band Veruca Salt, but I don’t know what any of the members look like. What? All the Spice Girls? Even Sporty? Yikes. Ashley Judd is a good one haha. I still need to see these beautiful mermaids from Hook. Maybe I’ll rent it this weekend.

    • Lol so was I pretty much. But looking back, I can really appreciate the beauty. But yeah, I can’t blame you for not being able to think of any. You were probably watching kids shows πŸ˜€

  2. Kelly from Saved By The Bell – she was just too perfect…and she got Zach…though I always had a thing for Slater too! She’s still pretty fierce, grrr.

    • I was always so envious of her hair! I didn’t watch it a lot, but I think I would’ve had a huge crush on Zach. I love Mario Lopez’s dimples though..!

  3. unfetteredbs says:

    Happy girls are the prettiest girls.. No matter what ” model” they happen to be. Good call!
    Cheers Lily!

    • Hah thanks Audra! It’s true though–I think Roald Dahl said something like “if you think happy thoughts they will shine out of your face like sunbeams and you will always look lovely.” or something sweet like that. I love it.

  4. Holy moly… these women may or may have not adorned my bedroom wall at some point in the 1990s…!

    Some of the female presenters of kids TV were really nice as well.

    Philippa Forrester, Kate Humble… can’t remember any of the other names I’m afraid.

    • Hah you had good taste! You probably still have good taste, actually.
      Presenters of kids shows make such a big impact on us, don’t they?

    • Ahhh you picked some great ones! Young Milla was so beautiful! I mean she still is, but she looked amazing when she was young.

      Lol yeah some fashion is always questionable. But its fun to look back at everything that was popular. Hah!

  5. Seriously with Cindy and the mole! I wouldn’t want to be known for something ugly…?! Lol. Btw, I love this theme. Before I read this post, I was checking out the themes to see if there was anything new, and I previewed this one and loved it. Then I realized it was the same as yours, and your name is also Lily, so if I used it I’d be a total copycat…:( So I’ll just admire yours, lol.

    • Omg you should totally have this theme too! Then we’ll really confuse people haha. But in all seriousness, if you like it, use it! I can’t be the only person on wordpress who has this theme hah! Another similar one is Triton Lite. I like that one too but my mom uses it haha.
      Glad you agree about Cindy! You and I seem to agree about everything πŸ˜€

      • πŸ™‚ I shouldn’t even be changing my theme again…I don’t think I’ve had my current one very long. I have commitment issues with themes? But it’s the cutest dark theme I’ve seen. Maybe I’ll wait a few days til you forget, then I’ll steal it lol. Jk. πŸ˜€

  6. Hahaha, yes! Not a fan of Cindy Crawford, but young Kate Moss was gorgeous! Saying that, I’ve always been slightly turned off of her whenever I picture her kissing Pete Doherty. Ewww. He’s so sweaty, all the time.

    I’m a bit too young to have crushes on 90s models, but I do remember how much my sister, mum and I thought Freddie Prinze Jr was such a dreamboat. Sure, he hasn’t done any films in the past 15 years, but at least he’s happy with Buffy so that’s always nice.

    • Ahh I didn’t see your comment until now! I think Cindy would be wayy better if she removed that mole. Pete Doherty is gross though. I don’t know what attracts models to greasy musicians.

      I wasn’t actually interested in 90’s models in the 90’s either. I was too busy playing with barbies. Haha yes I still think Freddie Prinze Jr. is cute! He and Buffy are a match made in 90’s heaven.

  7. Janessa D says:

    If you want to justify a crush on Milla Jovovich by basing it on more than her appearance, check out her album from the early 90’s, “The Divine Comedy”. If you haven’t heard her sing you won’t believe it. Check out this video (seriously):

Comments are great, eh?

