Food

Foo Asian Street Food


I don’t think it’s any mystery that I like food. I also love eating out. To me, food tastes better when it’s prepared by someone else. It’s about the experience. I’d rather pay a little extra for service, a good meal that I couldn’t make myself, and the relaxation of not having to wash dishes when I’m finished. It’s just worth it to me.

I love finding new restaurants to love–secret spots that no one has heard of or popular places that my friends have raved about. The other week, my husband and I passed a tiny spot called Foo on the way to the movies. We had walked past the place many times but never  ventured in to see what they had to offer. Last week we decided to take a chance and I’m so glad we did.logo1

For those of you who’ve been to Wagamama in England (I think there is one in the Brisbane airport, one in Boston, and maybe one in DC–trust me, I keep my eyes open for Wagamama locations…) it’s kind of like that but on a much smaller level. They describe their food as “Asian Street Food” which my stereotypical mind automatically thought was code for “We Cook Cats and Dogs.”  I was wrong. It’s actually code for “We Prepare Amazing Food That Will Keep You Coming Back For More.”

Foo’s menu is the perfect size. There are only about 12 options to choose from along with about 4 daily specials. I like how simple they make things. Nothing is more daunting than a Cheesecake Factory menu with so many pages that you feel like you’ve finished reading a short novel afterwards.

The ambiance is so cool and hip and that’s saying a lot coming from me. I immediately hone in on people and places that try too hard. It turns me off. But Foo is just cool. They play 80’s and 90’s pop music and have two rows of window seats where diners can people watch while they eat their grub. I usually don’t like seating like that–I hate having to balance on a stool while eating with chopsticks (I could join Cirque du Soleil after that) but it just works with the atmosphere of the place.

My husband tried their Rare Steak Salad. He's much more adventurous than I am!

My husband tried their Rare Steak Salad. He’s much more adventurous than I am.

So far I have tried two different items off of the menu: Pad Thai with Pork and Prawns, and Red Coconut Curry. The dishes they serve seem so perfect and clean–each served in a white bowl–but they actually give you a lot of food. Very filling and delicious. The flavors aren’t boring or predictable.

I know that I really like a restaurant when I try different things on the menu. I’m usually a creature of habit and will find one thing I like and stick to it, but at Foo everything sounds so delicious and actually is scrumptious, that I find myself having to try a little bit of everything they have to offer.

Overall, Foo is a fun and easy place to eat where you will have a good meal guaranteed. I’m going there again tomorrow and I can’t wait!

Should I get the Pork and Pineapple Fried Rice, Beef and Brocoli Chow Mein, Butter Chicken, or Caramel Chicken? Choices, Choices…

 

Standard

37 thoughts on “Foo Asian Street Food

  1. This was an excellent review. I think you should print it up and give it to them. They could frame it and it will impress people to no end. This review made me hungry, especially for wagamama – that may be the determining factor of where I move!!! Haha!

    • Thank you! I need to do more restaurant reviews I think! Lol if I gave them a copy of my review they would be like ummmm thanks?
      I love Waggies. So good!

  2. unfetteredbs says:

    You’ve made me quite hungry as I lie on my couch like a slug too lazy to make dinner. Will Foo deliver to CT?
    Great review.

      • unfetteredbs says:

        Yea it does but that means going out. And I’m not leaving. PBJ it is 🙂
        I live in a town of no deliveries. You believe that?

      • No deliveries?! I’ll pray for your soul.
        You could always do McDonald’s drive through in your pajamas! Fun times.

  3. I could have written that first paragraph. I LOVE eating out, and now thank God we’re doing a lot more of it now since C is fairly manageable in restaurants; she’s a good eater and will basically share whatever we order. Foo sounds SO GOOD. You made me think of all the street food we ate in Korea. Get the beef!

    • This proves again that we are not only the same person, but bffaeae (best friends forever and ever and ever). C of course is a smart girl and knows that eating out is much more fun than eating at home. What a wise soul she is.
      You would love Foo. It’s so coolio. I need to go to Korea sometime. I defs wouldn’t blend in though. The beef does sound yum, I agree.

    • I like those bad translations. I don’t understand how other languages don’t have words for everything that we have words for. How do they convey feelings? I don’t get it.

  4. Carter says:

    Dear spirit animal, yes first paragraph. Apparently i should be spirit animals with The Waiting too. Yep, thats me, secretly a white woman. Is this my life?

    I prefer take out because there are fewer people staring at me and asking why I only eat one part of my meal at a time (veggie, then starch/carb, then real food [ie, protein]). Plus, I’m already subsidizing the restaurant’s rent by buying food; I have to subsidize that of the waiter by tipping? (Im actually a good tipper, i always triple the tax, which works out to 21-24%, but just hate to do it, like most social protocols. I think black people have a natural aversion to paying people to fetch food for them. Cant imagine why…)

    There’s a restaurateur named Stephen Starr in Philly; his restaurants are the epitome of trying too hard, as are the clientele. If you ever come here, we can go and hate it proper-like. What did you end up ordering?

    • The Waiting is super coolio and funny and I’m pretty sure you would like her too. White women are obvi super relatable. Either that or you’re just really weird and should be dis-blacked. It’s kind of like being dis-barred. I think. Wait what.

      I like that you’re a big tipper. As am I. I always tip on tax as well. And I’m bad at calculating so I just round up. Yikes. Unless the waiter/waitress is a biotch and then I leave like, a dollar.

      I’ve never been to Philly but when I do eventually go there, I will avoid any Stephen Starr restaurants. Thank you for the tip. I hate try-hards. However, I would love to go with you and make fun of it (and probably secretly like it). Sounds like fun!

      I didn’t even end up going. What a bust.

      • Carter says:

        Ahh sorry for the long comment. But I’m calling it blog training. Manic mornings seem to be my muse.

        I should probably be disblacked for making Pavement and Drive Like Jehu playlists on YouTube. They’re so white most white people I know don’t even know of them.

    • No wayyy. Go in! It’s yum for sure. It’s definitely different though. I think it’s considered “thai fusion” whatever that means? But yeah I would suggest it!

    • Haha I know right? I stole the picture from their website. I hope they don’t sue me.
      I don’t even really like steak, but I want to eat that picture for some reason.

  5. Awwww u went here mmmmm dining to try this place out. I love wagamamas.. Yum yum yum. What Mr Lily got looked nice. I will try that. Some nice places here 4 u to try, when u visit me 😀

    • Hah yeah Cheesecake. I mean, I wouldn’t NOT eat there, because I love food too much, but I know what you mean. When you have a time restriction it’s slightly different!

Comments are great, eh?

