Books

Lily’s Literature #2


If you haven’t noticed, I’m trying to make Lily’s Literature a staple part of my blog. By now you should be obsessed with my blog and notice any sudden movements or new installments. Anyway, as I’ve explained before, after I finish reading three books I’ll review them in one post. You can read my last couple reviews HERE and HERE.

The last 6 books I read had mostly been about serious topics. I decided to switch it up and read something that I know would make me laugh, White Girl Problems by Babe Walker. During the last couple of years the mysterious Babe Walker has gained a cult following by being simply hilarious on her twitter account. Quickly followed by an equally comical website and Youtube account, Ms. Walker’s fame started to grow. And the birth of White Girl Problems became the crown jewel to her funny observations.9781401324544_p0_v1_s260x420

In a way, the book is a recounting of life events that brought Babe to her lowest point in life–shopping rehab. She lived the life of a privileged California golden girl who was handed everything she could ever want. Often being made fun of in rehab, in a fit of rage she scribbled down how hard life could really be for a white girl.

This book is super funny, super cringey, and very inappropriate. It’s a quick read and definitely entertaining. You’ll fall in love with Babe Walker. Or totally hate her. Or both.

After that I went back to serious again. From my mom’s suggestion, I picked up the book Loving Frank by Nancy Horan. This book is the pieced-together true story of the woman who had a lasting affair with the architect Frank Lloyd Wright. This book was hard for me to love because I didn’t feel a connection to the main character. She let lust get in the way of her marriage to a loyal man and let it help leave behind her two children at home. She was selfish in so many ways.loving_frank

This story is a very detailed account of the relationship–the ups and downs of changing your life for someone else. The excitement of new places, and the dread of going home and being judged by everyone. For a pretty tame book, the ending is unbelievable and makes it worth the read.

And the most recent book I read was The Virgin Suicides by Jeffery Eugenides. The reason I picked this book was because I haven’t seen the movie yet. If I’ve seen the movie version before reading the book version, I won’t be able to read it because I’ll already know what happens. And that’s super boring. However, if I see a movie and already know what happens because of the book, it’s okay because I’ve only painted the picture in my mind and I haven’t seen in acted out yet. Do you know what I’m saying? No? Okay cool.VirginSuicides

I expected this book to be depressing. It was pretty much everything I thought it would be. The writing style is different in that it’s like a stream of consciousness retelling events in chunky paragraphs without taking a breath in between. The tale is told through the eyes of the boys across the street of the Lisbon household. Five girls living in under one roof that were seriously depressed. You can probably guess what happens in the end. The story is sad and beautiful at the same time. Definitely worth a read if you feel like living (or reliving) through a 70’s high school experience sprinkled with sex, sisters, and suicide.

Standard

29 thoughts on “Lily’s Literature #2

  1. Nice job. I like this new literary installment. It’s a good way for me to pretend I’ve read books I haven’t. Just kidding! The ending of Loving Frank is the best, so unexpected. I’d probably find white girl problems cringy, right?
    Anyway, keep reading. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yeah you might find it cringy. But you surprise me something. Sometimes I’ll show you things that I think you’ll think are weird and gross but you actually find them funny. So I don’t know. It’s not so bad, but there are some weird parts for sure.

      Thanks!

    • I don’t know if I could choose a favorite. I really liked East of Eden. I also like Catcher in the Rye, Of Mice and Men, The Glass Castle, and The Good Earth. Those are probably some of my top picks.
      What about you?

      • Chris Jericho’s autobiography was pretty good. He’s a wrestler.

        But really anything by Seuss.

        No. I’m kidding. The only “classics” that would make me smart that I enjoyed were A Clockwork Orange, One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, and Animal Farm. I like tell all shorter autobiographies the most though, but only if I’m familiar with the person’s other work, like what they did to get a book deal. Short anecdote stories. The only book I read in a day was a Vonnegut one though so I feel smart about that. I didn’t so the popularity.

      • I would’ve understood your Chris Jericho joke. I have a brother, remember? Seuss is a genius–that goes without saying.

        Out of the ones you’ve named I’ve only read Animal Farm. It was good, but I read it in 6th grade so I’m sure I didn’t appreciate it as much as I could have. I’ve seen the other two movies though, so there’s pretty much no way I’m reading the books.

        Which Vonnegut? I’ve read his short stories in Welcome to the Monkey House. They were really good. Harrison Bergeron I liked in particular. I heard Slaughter House Five is really good.

  2. Marya says:

    I read “Loving Frank,” over the holidays. Ouch! Great literary report, Lily. As you know, I currently live in Milwaukee. I was so captivated, disgusted, bemused, etc. with the book that I was wondering if the author was on Mamah’s side. I know someone who grew up in Spring Green and said her grandparents despised all of the Wrights including the very Frank himself. Frank/The Wrights were so despised that when my friend heard tale that one of Frank’s granddaughter’s was in her 7th grade class, she simply thought, “Meh.”

    • Mamah was totally annoying. Mostly because her name was Mamah. I found a lot of the book kind of slow though. Frank also kind of bugged me. He seemed so aloof obnoxious. I just couldn’t like either of them. Frank’s granddaghter was probably lame. Haha!

  3. I really want to read The Virgin Suicides. I have seen the movie and it is totes brills; you’ll like it. I am kind of the opposite of you in that I usually see the movie version of something before I read the book. Because lazy.

    • Yeah I guess it would be good for some confusing books to know what happens already so you can understand it better. I’m supes excited to see the movie! Can’t wait!

  4. Excellent reviews Lils ๐Ÿ™‚ just wondering what makes you choose the books you read? Usually I’ll find a few authors I like and just stick with them, I find it difficult to just grab a book and read it because what if it’s a load of shit? But something written by Terry Pratchett I knows going to interest me, I was looking for books to read today (thought I may aswell actually use my Kindle) and came across The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out Of The Windows And Disappeared written by some Swedish guy, I don’t know if its any good, but it cost 20p and the cover looked good.

    • Fanks Pete! I’ve had trouble in the past picking books so I usually choose them based on other people’s suggestions. My mom has the same taste as I do so I try choose ones that she’s liked. But it’s so much more fun to choose books by cool covers, right? Haha. I also try to stick to well-known best sellers because they will most likely be super good. Or shocking.
      Sounds like the one you picked out could be good. 20p is so cheap! Nice!

      • It’s like on the top of the best sellers on Amazon but that’s probably because it only cost 20p, I’m currently reading something called the Timewaster Letters at the moment. They really do publish anything these days.

      • Hah they really do. Book stores are so overwhelming. Imagine growing up in the 18th Century when there were only like, 20 books to choose from.

  5. unfetteredbs says:

    Love this staple of your blog Lily. I loathed Loving Frank. I read it for my book club. I had a real hard time with Mamah. If you liked reading about the 70’s, I enjoyed “History Lessons for Girls” by Aurelie Sheehan. I have not read Eugenides, not sure I can do his writing style. Keep reading and keep writing woman!

    • Aww thanks Miss Audra. Yeah Mamah is such a slut. I didn’t like her at all either. Who could do that? She only had her own interests at hand. It was very frustrating.
      Thanks for the suggestion! I’ll add it to my list! Yeah I hear you about Eugenides’ writing style. It was okay, but there were only 5 chapters in the whole book (which actually wasn’t that thick anyway) and I like a lot of chapters. I don’t know why. My next book has NO chapters! Ugh!

  6. My family owned a Frank Lloyd Wright home in Michigan. I saw the Ken Burns documentary on him, the end of that relationship was horrifying. I could hardly believe it. She’s a tough protagonist. “Middlesex” by Eugenedes is one of my favorite books although I recently purged “The Marriage Plot”, a very weak book for him. “White Girl Problems” sounds like fun, I’ll pick it up.

    • Right? I almost thought it was fake when I was reading the end of the book. Like how could that even happen? SO crazy. I really want to Middlesex! It’s on my list, so I will definitely read it soon. I’ll make sure to stay away from The Marriage Plot. Thanks for that!
      Yeah you’ll probably like White Girl Problems! Kinda racy, but I think you’ll like it.

  7. Interesting! Pretty keen to check out this ‘White Girl Problems’ books because it sounds completely up my ally. And like yourself, every now and then it’s important to put down the ‘serious literature’ and have a giggle.

    I read The Virgin Suicides a couple of years ago, and like you, I haven’t seen the movie. I don’t know how I felt about it. I think I read that, The Lovely Bones and Lolita all in quick succession and the combination just really creeped me out and kinda depressed the hell out of me. Also, I know he’s super popular, but I read another of Jeffrey Eugenides books last year, The Marriage Plot, and even though I was excited by the blurb I ended up being pretty underwhelmed by his writing style.

    • Yeah White Girl Problems is super funny! I think you’d like it!
      That’s so funny that you mention The Marriage Plot because another one of my readers (it’s weird to think that I have “readers”) also said how lackluster it was. I will avoid that one! Thanks for the tip!
      I read The Lovely Bones and I loved the beginning and kind of got bored throughout it. I never saw the movie though. I haven’t read Lolita but it’s on my list! Those are all super depressing and dark books! Haha hopefully you enjoyed some light reading since!

      • Haha having ‘readers’ is a good thing, you’re practically famous! (Well, sorta). Definitely avoid it! I really enjoyed Lolita but it’s similar to The Lovely Bones, I got a bit bored in the middle and towards the end.

        And don’t worry, I somehow find time to squeeze in the chick lit or two

  8. I’ve been reading free books constantly on my kindle lately. It’s amazing how many writers are out there that I don’t enjoy.
    So is this a prelude to “Lily’s Condensed Books” to take on Cliff’s Notes?

    • That’s so nice that books are free through Kindle. There are tons of writers I don’t enjoy either. I know what you mean. It’s hard to weed out the bad from the good.
      LOL I should totally make a Cliff’s Notes/Lily’s Notes. I love helping people cheat on papers and exams. This might be my new life calling!

    • You know flattery gets you everywhere with me, right?
      But honestly, you’re too kind. We would be here all day if I named the things I couldn’t do.

  9. I was going to read the virgin suicides too, but I’m not sure now. I read Eugenides other book Middlesex, as part of this 1001 books thing. Didn’t really like it, took a long time to get going.. Blogged it ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. Pingback: Lily’s Literature | Lily In Canada

Comments are great, eh?

