Books

Good Reads


According to my fun gauge, I rate books higher than television but lower than movies and going online. But lately, I’ve been really into reading. It might be because I finished my mammoth book of short stories by Roald Dahl. Every book that I’ve read since, just flew by. Maybe they weren’t as dense? Or maybe I enjoyed them more? Or maybe it was because they were shorter. Either way, I’ve been reading a lot lately and it feels pretty weird.

One book that I recently finished is Half Broke Horses which is a prequel to the book The Glass Castle. If you haven’t read the latter, I suggest that you do. I don’t remember it as clearly as I should because I read it years ago. But do I remember that it was good. What a professional review I just gave. The Glass Castle is a memoir by Jeannette Walls. Her life was anything but ordinary and it’s an amazing read. Half Broke Horses is about Jeannette’s grandmother’s life. It really helps those interested to connect the dots in her family and clarifies why certain members act like they do. The book alone is a great story, but having the background information on the family makes it even better.

After that, I read A Stolen Life by Jaycee Dugard. I’d be lying if I said I had a good time reading it. It’s almost as if I entered a depressed state. Maybe because Jaycee was kidnapped at age 11 and I couldn’t help comparing myself to her, thinking about what I would’ve done if I was in her place. How would I survive? Would I eventually escape? It’s a great book if you want to know the details of what really happened in Jaycee’s own words. This sad but true story will definitely captivate you.

Right now I’m trying to finish the book Naked by David Sedaris. I hadn’t read any of his work previous to this book, which is odd because he’s a very popular writer. Even though it doesn’t say it on the cover of the book, this is a memoir. New York Times described it as “SIDESPLITTING”. All right New York Times, calm down. I’ve cracked a smile here or there but I haven’t chuckled. And I definitely haven’t split my sides laughing. But I do have to admit (and I hate admitting this) that Mr. Sedaris is pretty funny. I like the way he writes, the way he describes the members of his family. It’s a colorful book that’s definitely not a bore. So far so good!

If you haven’t heard of the site Goodreads.com, you should sign yourself up right now. If you like reading, that is. It’s a great way to keep track and rate the books that you have read, make lists of books that you want to read and get recommendations from friends or other people who like the same books as you. They have every book from Good Night Moon to The Scarlet Letter (I gave that 1 star by the way) and everything in between. Enjoy!

Standard

37 thoughts on “Good Reads

  1. In order for me to read more, I’d need to blog less… decisions, decisions. It’s very satisfying when you get a book that takes you far away from your reality and keeps you involved. I love that. Okay, you talked me into it. Now, which of my twenty books that I have waiting for me should I start with…? haha!

    • Read the one you want to read the most. I find that if I read ones that I’m not sure about and they turn out bad, it discourages me from continuing reading. It’s nice that I don’t have any books here except the ones that I’ve read. Now I can’t get overwhelmed at choices. I just get one book from the bookstore and that’s all I’ve got!

  2. It’s amazing, I have all the time in the world and now I’m reading less than when I was working. Blogging is to blame! WordPress is such a bad influence. 😀 I’d be interested in checking out Naked. I mean, it’s an interesting title, and I like funny. 😉

    • Haha I know what you mean! Blogging takes up SO much time. I have a love hate relationship with it. But yeah check out Naked. The last chapter in the book is called Naked so I’m sure that explains the title. 🙂

  3. I have been reading The Scarlet Letter since 2001. And at my current rate I expect to be done around 2016. That book is the bane of my existence. I fucking hate it, but either I conquer it or it conquers me…

    And I just joined Good Reads yesterday. Sadly I’m too computer illiterate to figure out how to link it to my blog. Also, Jeanette Walls’ book made me oddly happy about my own sad little life. That probably wasn’t her intention, but go figure…

    • Hahahah it’s literally the worst book of all time. I gave it one star and I haven’t even finished it. Maybe I should’ve given it no stars?
      Yeah I had trouble linking it as well, so I gave up. hah. Yes! I felt the same way about The Glass Castle. Welp, I guess my life isn’t THAT bad.

  4. I really need to get on the goodreads bandwagon. I’ve heard awesome things about it. Right now I’m reading Tina Fey’s book. It’s pretty funny! I hate to say it, but I started reading the Bloggess’ book and eventually had to put it down. I really didn’t think it was nearly as great as everyone said it was.

    • You really do need to get on the bandwagon! I’ve heard good things about Tina Fey’s book, but I can’t help thinking that she knows she’s funny. I mean, of course she does, but I hate it when you can tell when people think they’re funny. I don’t know. But that’s the same reason why I didn’t by the Bloggess’ book. I was like, “Hmm someone thinks they’re pretty funny and they actually aren’t” hah why am I so cruel?

      • Read the Bloggess’ book and 80% of it came straight off her blog. All of the funniest parts. Still I have to say the chapter on My Childhood: David Copperfield Meets Guns and Ammo Magazine made me laugh so hard I cried. Twice. No, make that three. Ok, everytime I read it.

      • Hmmmmm. I don’t read her blog, so I mean all of her jokes would be new to me, which is a total bonus. Buttttt I don’t want to stroke her ego because I’m jealous that she has a book and I don’t. Ya know? Maybe I’ll cave one of these days…. 🙂

  5. Addie says:

    I’ve laughed so hard at Sedaris’ work I had people walk over to ask me what I was reading (I was at an outside cafe). I quite literally had tears of laughter in my eyes. I, too, loved both of Jeanette Walls’ books (that opening line in ‘The Glass Castle’ was a killer), along with the works of Mr. Dahl. I’ve not read Jaycee’s book, as I feared I’d be more depressed than uplifted. I’m not sure I’d have survived her situation, and, the thought so many young children don’t escape makes me beyond sad.

    I like GoodReads–I’ve found a number of books there I’ve not heard of, then read and enjoyed–so, I give it a hearty thumbs up. Good blog, Lily. Good book choices, too.

    • Well thanks Addie! Seems like we have similar tastes! Yeah I might have to read more of Sedaris’ work. Any recommendations? Yeah, stay away from A Stolen Life if you don’t like depressing stories…yikes!
      Yeah Goodreads is awesome. Glad you found it!

      • Addie says:

        I loved ‘Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim’ and the aforementioned ‘Me Talk Pretty One Day’ (the story of the mouse in the house in one of them is one of the best tales evah) are great. His mother was one of a kind. I wasn’t fond, sadly enough, of his last book.

      • Ooh okay sounds good. I’ll check those out. His mother is definitely one of a kind. So weird and annoying. And not motherly at all. Someone else said his latest book wasn’t the best either. I’ll skip that one!

  6. I LOVE DAVID SEDARIS! I did in fact laugh out loud when reading Naked as well as the rest of his books. He’s so smart and witty. I just started reading Apron Anxiety by Alyssa Shelasky. I have a feeling u may like it.

  7. Pingback: Up and Coming | Lily In Canada

  8. Pingback: Lily’s Literature | Lily In Canada

  9. Pingback: Lily’s Literature | Lily In Canada

  10. Pingback: Lily’s Literature | Lily In Canada

  11. I preferred Half Broke Horses to the Glass Castle although both were good reads (see what I did there). In the last week I’ve been thinking of reading Jaycee Dugard’s book because of the rescue of the women in Cleveland. I just don’t know how you don’t just die, just quit and die.

    • That’s interesting that you preferred HBH to The Glass Castle. Interesting. I liked them both a lot but Glass Castle a bit more. I see whatcha did there! Ugh Jaycee’s book is gut wrenching. Like WHYYY does this kind of stuff happen to sweet and innocent people. I would definitely find a way to leave the earth instead of enduring that crap for 19 years. Heavy stuff.

Comments are great, eh?

