Exercise

Ski Bunniez


Sunburn. Another downside.

I went to school in Utah for about a year and a half. While I was there I took skiing as one of my classes. I wish someone had warned me about how scary standing on two planks on a hill of snow can be, but no one did.

Surprisingly, Illinois has very poor skiing so I didn’t have any prior experience. My friend who liked skiing decided to take the class with me since it was “all levels”. They didn’t have a level for how awful I was. But it turned out to be okay because I got one-on-one practice with a coach who was really nice.

By the end of the semester I was decent at the sport. By no means was I (or am I) ready for black diamonds. I do actually have fun when I go skiing though. I’ve always wanted to go on a ski vacation, rent a big lodge-type ski chateau, drink hot chocolate, and relax in a hot tub after a long day of skiing.

Ever since I learned how to ski, I loved being able to hate snowboarders. If you don’t know how to ski or snowboard you really can’t say anything. Just having permission to hate a group of people is good enough for me. Skiing is worth it for this reason alone.

Every time I go skiing, I say a little prayer because I am terrified of breaking something. I have heard so many horror stories of people breaking bones when they ski. Luckily nothing has ever happened to me. Although I did do a full flip the first time I tried skiing on fresh powder. I got really pissed at my coach for that. I was the one that did the flip, but clearly it was her fault. Bitch.

Things that terrify me about skiing:

1. Moguls. How do people do them? Who’s thought process was, “Hey, lets pack snow into little mounds and then ski on top of them!” Ugh hate that person.

2. Free Skiing. Just skiing down a mountain where paths haven’t been made, risking your life. Sonny Bono style.

3. Cross Country skiing. I heard it’s like running a marathon. This would be an instance when I would find a way to injure myself.

4. Really long skinny skis. Whenever I get fitted for skis, I demand shorter, squared off ones so I have less risk of dying. My life is a joke.

5. Crashing into another skier. Some people come barreling down the mountain at top speed. These people scare me so much. I usually just mind my own business off to the side, but every so often, people have to come inches away from me. Sorry, but this isn’t competitive downhill skiing–this is a trail called Pinecone, get out of my way.

6. People who take skiing super seriously. Groan.

Standard

22 thoughts on “Ski Bunniez

  1. LOL! Awesome video! I hate skiing, I think mainly because no one ever taught me how to slow down, the only way I could stop was by diving on the floor then hitting myself in the back of the head with a ski. I fractured my coccyx doing skiing last year in France and well… that was the end of my career.

    Walking up the stairs with ski boots on brought back fond memories haha.

  2. Marya says:

    Even though our family growing up had a place in Sun Valley, ID, I was raised with a father who said, “I never met a skiier I liked.” My sister lives in Park City and her children have taught my children that you never, ever wear ski clothes that match, when you can wear hardly anything when you ski and ski down hill on an eensy, beensy tiny pipe and have family members applaud when you you’re done. I actually love to ski…but the die-hards are something to behold. My nephews do it right. I don’t think our family from Milwaukee will ever look cool on the slopes…nope…no way.

    • That’s smart that they advised against matching clothes. You have to look effortless. I would love to see my family on the ski slopes all together. Well, mainly just my dad and bro. haha

  3. AgrippingLife says:

    I have seen your brother and let me just say that he had difficulty getting off the lift and never went back up! Haha! Such a trooper!

    • Hah yeah. Skiing for the first time, especially when you are over 6 feet tall is one of the hardest things to do. Its better to start out younger and closer to the ground!

  4. Skiing is great! It’s been a while since I did it, but it is fantastic. And the video is so funny, I can almost see myself trying to get those skis back on… which doesn’t work out… :). I miss it.

    • Now that I can ski, it is pretty great. After you’ve spent a day skiing, it feels like a big accomplishment.
      Putting skis on is such a challenge…!

  5. I have been a dry ski slope but didn’t do anything that could really be called skiiing.

    I like the idea of learning something so that it validates your hatred towards something else that is similar.

    You like a professional snowboarding hater in that pic. That’s all down to your own hard work though, no need to give any credit to your coach.

  6. Did you ever see a movie called Frozen? It was about getting trapped on a ski lift. I liked it a lot but everyone I recommended it to hated it. I had to look away at a few of the frost bite scenes.

    You asking for a different kind of ski reminds me of how whenever I would go ice skating I’d have to ask for figure skates instead of hockey skates. Hockey skates are much harder due to the smaller blade size. They assume because I am male that I should have better balance? That’s sexist. All of the skates were blue which meant that few people noticed. Until I did a cherry flip and let Scott Hamilton lift me up in the air. The girls in my family were real big into figure skating in the 1990s.

    • No, but I wanted to. I didn’t think it would be that exciting watching people freeze to death, but maybe I should give it a shot?
      I thought hockey skates had thicker blades! I’ve had it all wrong for years now. I’m awful at any skating related sports. No balance.
      That’s a pretty impressive move. Have you ever tried the iron lotus? (Hopefully you’ve seen Blade of Glory.)

Comments are great, eh?

