Exercise

Row Your Boat


Let’s be real, rowing is hot. I imagine every east coast prepster is into rowing. It’s so respectable. Who would have thought that Canadians are really good at rowing? No one, that’s who.

Canada has won many Olympic medals in rowing. In fact, in 2008, the Canadian male rowing team placed first. And guess what? Their national rowing center is here in Victoria! It’s located on Elk Lake, which doesn’t sound very preppy or east coast-y, but I’ll take what I can get at this point.

Canadian high schools are weird. They don’t have football teams or indoor pools, yet they have rowing teams. Jealous! Let’s revisit one of my favorite scenes from “The Social Network” –don’t worry, Jesse Eisenberg and his gross voice are not a part of it.

So now that everyone is turned on, let’s all get into rowing, shall we? I think I’ll be spending a lot more time at Elk Lake.

 

 

Standard

19 thoughts on “Row Your Boat

  1. I have done canoeing whilst in the scouts many times but never rowing. It looks like the sort of thing only rich, posh people do because they aren’t masculine enough to play a real sport.

    I was rubbish at canoeing, I always veered off to one side.

    I love the word ‘preppy’ though.

    • I, too, am rubbish at canoeing. I literally just sit there with an ore sitting on my thighs and refuse to do any work. So I’m sure you weren’t half as bad as me.

  2. Lisa says:

    Great clip. Love the music. You can bet I’d be hanging around Elk Street pretty much during all daylight hours if these gentleman were there. If girls row, do they get too many muscles in the wrong places? Also, I don’t believe you were rubbish at canoeing, Michael.

  3. Adair says:

    I can see Elk Lake as some preppy East Coast place to hang out and row. To me, Canada would have a lake called Moose Scat or they’d say, “Today, we’ll practice checking it down (yay, Wikipedia!!) on the lake at the base of Mt. Mountie.”. As soon as I read this, I thought of the GEICO commercial. In case our good American commercials don’t make it to the wilds of Canada, I’m leaving the link for you, Lily in Canada.

  4. I rowed at Elk Lake probably before you were born… as part of the UBC rowing crew in 1983. I think we were up at Shawnigan Lake as well, though since those weekends also involved more than a few beers…
    Rowing is a great sport, but very time consuming. Unless you live in a boathouse, it’s not as if you can just step outside your place and row.

  5. Becoming Bitter says:

    I would want my man to row for me (whenever I get one that is), but I rowing myself? No. I’m not an exercising or sports person. Chores are enough.

  6. Marya says:

    So, last year, our son, then 13-years-old wrote at the top of his science test, “I’m tired, can I finish the test tomorrow?” My husband and I got a phone call, not from our son, sleeping on a cot in the nurse’s office, but from the science teacher. The end result? Our now, 14-year-old, 6′ 1″ son rows. A time consuming sport that has molded and shaped our son in such a way that he will never, ever, write something that creative/hysterical/stupid again on the top of a test. His first regatta found him with an inefficient coxain (the captain/commander of the boat) and the crew hit a U.S. Coast Guard boat…the crew has a police record…I couldn’t be more proud.

Comments are great, eh?

