Food

A&Dubs


Attention A&W lovers: Our beloved burgers, hotdogs, and onion rings are being eaten in Canadian establishments called A&W with no connection to the USA’s A&W. Confused? Let me explain.

Paul and I received coupons in the mail for A&W’s delicious foods and beverages. So today we made the responsible decision to take advantage of these sweet deals. Through careful observation I took note that on Canada’s A&W sign there was a whole ‘Burger Family’. Now this is a detail I definitely would have remembered had it been part of my hometown’s A&W. Like, who is the family? Shouldn’t they be obese? Do they run A&W? Why are they so happy? This was certainly new to me. So I researched it.

A&W was founded in 1919 in California by Roy Allen and Frank Wright ( and no, he wasn’t the long-lost Wright brother who really liked burgers). In 1956 A&W was introduced to Canada and then in ’72 was bought by other management and became a completely separate brand from the A&W in the states. Weird, huh eh?

I guess the Burger Family was a campaign from the early 50’s because the wiki article says:

In the late 1990s, marketing and products began to take on a more retro approach. Former menu items, such as the Burger Family, were re-introduced, and marketing became more targeted toward the baby boomer generation.

This whole thing kind of creeps me out. Why must Canada keep making things their own? Can’t they just accept that everything cool in their country has come from the states? I feel like we would get along much better if  they just showered us with credit.

Oh, and we may or may not have stolen a mug.

Standard

3 thoughts on “A&Dubs

  1. Lisa says:

    This is hysterical! The last bit about the mug killed me. I actually stole a mug while attending BYU in the 80’s. It was a prized possession even though every time I looked at it I felt like I should repent. Haha. One more thing,..it’s questionable whether or not the family is obese since all we get to see are their faces and they look pretty round to me. Also, their rouged circle cheeks look kind of circusy and trashy so my bet is they are obese. Just saying…

    • I randomly looked back at this article and I guess I never responded to you! WHAT THE? I thought I had more comments on this?! Weird. Haha they do have rouged circle cheeks. I guess it runs in their unfortunate family?

  2. Aw, this was a very nice post. In thought I would like to put in writing like this additionally ? taking time and precise effort to make an excellent article? however what can I say? I procrastinate alot and under no circumstances appear to get something done.

Comments are great, eh?

