Stores

O.P.I. WHY?


Even the model can't stand this collection.

Like many women, and creepy men, I really enjoy nail polish. I barely have any nails but I seem to collect every color under the rainbow, and then some. One of my favorite brands, O.P.I., has discovered a way to make me NEED their nail polish even more. They come out with themed collections every 6 months or so that are temporarily available. So you have to buy them all up. Or at least that’s how I think of it in my head. I mean, they also have a permanent collection, but no one cares about that.

Some of O.P.I.’s best collections are travel-themed. There was a Swiss one, a London one, and even one with colors inspired by India. Cute idea right? RIGHT! Last night as I was browsing through some colors on my O.P.I. app (be jealous) and I stumbled across a color called Mauving to Manitoba. I froze. WHAT. WHAT. WHAT IS THIS?

I looked it up. Sadly, O.P.I. felt that they ran out of options (that’s the only reason I can think of) and they made a Canadian Collection. But they must have tried to hide it from the public or something since I only stumbled upon a random color. Let me tell you the names of the polishes. Get a barf bucket if you need one.

Nice Color, EH?

Niagra Falls for O.P.I.

Mauving to Manitoba

Don’t Wine…Yukon Do It

Polar Bare

Paint Your Toron-Toes Rose (what does that even mean?)

Glacier Bay Blues

Canadian Maple Leaf

Chocolate Moose

At Your Quebec and Call

Van-Couvered In Snow

You Ottaware Purple

I don’t know if I can trust O.P.I. as a brand any more. I know that they made a conscious decision to make this collection and that scares me. What can we expect next? A Cabrini Green Collection?

Standard

10 thoughts on “O.P.I. WHY?

  1. Lisa says:

    Don’t wine, Yukon do it??? How many people frequent the Yukon or have a connection to it? What were they thinking? It’s definitely blog worthy, though. I mean I like to know what’s going on in the world of nail polish at all times. This is good reporting.

  2. Marya says:

    Lily, I welcome you to the world of Essie. I, too, have been know to purchase an O.P.I. just for the name of the polish. My fav being “Great Wall of China.” The creative director @ O.P.I. Headquarters probably owes your Prime Minister a favor. Anything to promote tourism. Essie’s names are catchy.. Turquoise ‘n Caicos, My BBFP/My Best Boyfriend’s Polish. Whatever…I do see Essie falling off the wagon one day soon and scraping the bottom of the barrel as O.P.I. has.

  3. Marya says:

    Craig just saw the names of the Canadian Collection by O.P.I. and said, “I don’t know about you but, ‘I’m Having Nunavut’.” (Craig just looked up the proper spelling of the name of Nunavut on a map…it’s waht we do.)

    Apparently, Nunavut is a newly created Province in the Northwest Territories and is strictly, Native American. Lily, we will give you “I’m Having Nunavut” to pitch to O.P.I. and you can collect the proceeds.

    XO

    • I too have used Nunavut in a sentence and didn’t know where it was. Thank you for researching it for me! I like Essie too! My mom’s favorite polish from Essie is Fiji. You should join us this summer in ONLY wearing that color like we did last summer!

  4. Marya says:

    I have been “Fiji-ing” on my toes for the past two summers…I’m an exclusive, enthusiast._ What color should “I’m Having Nunavut,” be? Deep red (cause that is the phrase you would say when you are mad) OR the color of the worst meal you mother cooked when you were growing up? A casserole-y type of color…

Comments are great, eh?

