Books

Lily’s Literature # 15


Friends, it’s been too long. I’ve had some computer trouble lately and I’ve also been over-extending myself with work and play. The month is flying by and I’m getting older. Yet I somehow always avoid getting wiser. However, I did manage to read 3 books in the meantime. Let’s converse about them.

I read a pretty interesting book by Ann Patchett called State of Wonder. I hadn’t read any of Patchett’s other novels so I wasn’t sure what to expect. I ended up really enjoying it though. In a nutshell the story is about a research scientist named Marina Singh whose mentor recently died in the Amazon. In turn, she’s sent on a whirlwind adventure to find out what truly happened to her mentor and what kind of research is actually being completed. 9118135

Whilst reading I found the story simple, yet complex, and realistic, yet unbelievable. It was a cool mixture. It’s not the best book in the world by any means, but it’s a very interesting story and it definitely has the power to whisk you away to the Amazon jungle which is pretty cool. Is it sad that the way I visualized the jungle was similar to The Magic Kingdom’s Jungle Cruise ride?

After that, I picked up Mistborn written by Brandon Sanderson. Well, I can’t really say that I picked it up because it was picked for me. My book club was supposed to read this fantasy novel, but I think I might have been the only one who read it through and through. Fantasy isn’t for everyone, I will admit.tumblr_lu3lj5YlKk1qaouh8o1_400

Mistborn is about, gahh how do I explain this?…okay it’s about this girl Vin who lives in a dystopian, corrupt version of Earth. There are many people who seem inhuman and a select few who have been blessed with powers. Vin is one of those people. Once she learns of her special powers she teams up with an outlaw-type gang whose main goal is to overthrow the government and the Lord Ruler. An almost impossible task that brings Vin and her unlikely group together.

I really had a lot of trouble getting into this book because it opened with a map. Any book that has a map on the first page terrifies me because I know I’ll have to make a huge effort in learning a new world. Everything is wayyy easier when things are set on earth. However, I powered through it and have to give Sanderson some recognition in the creative department. The writing however, is subpar, but I’m not one to judge. Actually, yes I am.

And most recently I finished Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay. I really loved this book because it not only hooked me in with it’s shocking story, it taught me something along the way. That’s always a bonus. SKUSA

The story is about a girl, Sarah, and how her family reacts to the Jewish Roundup at the Velodrome d’Hiver in Paris. The accounts are horrific, but typical if you’re familiar with the antisemitism that occurred during Hitler’s reign. The story is also crossed with another, more modern tale of a journalist who discovers the secrets that Parisian society kept buried. She finds herself connected to Sarah and opens her eyes to the history around her.

I really loved this book. It was a quick read, yet it was jam-packed with interesting facts and a disturbing storyline. I don’t know why I’m so interested in messed-up stories, but they definitely keep me hooked. This is a good book for anyone to read. There is also a movie version which is supposed to be very good as well.

That’s all folks! Have you read anything good lately?

Standard

17 thoughts on “Lily’s Literature # 15

  1. Nifty books, yo. Good to see your PC is working again.

    I’ve been reading a fair amount of non-fiction again, stuff about the Sufragettes, the decline of violence in society, WWII stuff, along with a story set in the Halo Xbox universe.

    • Nice! You always read interesting things. I have trouble with non fiction because I find it boring, but I should start reading it more so I can be smart like you ;)

  2. Lily, I’ve read some of Ann Patchett but not the one listed here. I wasn’t sure I’d like a setting in the Amazon jungle. I’ve not tried to read fantasy in a very long time because it’s just not my thing. I have been thinking of reading Sarah’s Key, now I think I will!

    I’ve finished The Weight of Blood by Laura McHugh (excellent, dark and twisty), This is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Tropper (very good), The Deepest Secret by Carla Buckly (one of those what would you do human foible novels but very good) and now I’m reading Still Life with Breadcrumbs by Anna Quinlan. Sometimes I read two books at the same time–do you?

    Hope you’re great!

    • Hey Brigitte! Sorry for the late reply! Did you read Bel Canto by Ann Patchett? I think that one is supposed to be “her best.”
      I will add the books you mentioned to my ever growing list! They sound good! For some reason my brain won’t allow me to read more than one book at a time :( I wish I could!
      Hope things are good with you :) thanks for stopping by!

  3. I finally finished The Broom of the System, which was David Foster Wallace’s debut in 1987. I say “finally” because it took me over a month. Consequently, I didn’t give it the attentive reading it deserved. “Tour de force” is a good way to describe it. It’s whacko, stunning in places, confusing, confounding in the end. The dude could write, no doubt, but what he’s saying was beyond me. Do you ever feel that? That you haven’t given a book its due? My excuse is that I’m writing a lot. (And watching basketball…) Next up: We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler, a member of the “Long Book Title” school of authors.

    • Hey! Sorry for the late reply, but yes. I totally get that feeling when I read certain books. I haven’t read any of David foster Wallace’s books, but infinite jest is on my list and it’s already intimidating me. I know it will be beyond my comprehension with its footnotes and thousand plus pages. Ugh so pretentious. I think some writers just like to show off instead of writing something worthwhile. But what do I know?

    • Oh cool! Yeah I just watched the movie and thought it was done very well! I bought a copy of Lolita and will read that soon. I always think of you when I think of that book haha!

  4. Recently, I’ve read ‘Jill’ by Phillip Larkin, ‘The Homesman’ by Glendon Swarthout–really a great book!, ‘Humans of New York’–I love his FB page, I re-read ‘The Illustrated Man’ by the Ray Bradbury and ‘Dragonfly in Amber’. Gabladon’s books are great but, exhausting to read. The last one you mentioned sounds wonderful…I’ll put it on my list.

    PS You were missed.

    • I haven’t heard of the first two but I will check them out. Humans of ny sounds cool. Didn’t realize they made a book! I’ve only read Fahrenheit 451 but I don’t remember it really, so maybe I’ll check out The Illustrated Man? So true about Gabaldon’s books. Marathon reads! I definitely think you would like Sarah’s Key. It’s a pretty quick read too. Good for summer :)

      • I suggest Martian Chronicles if you are giving Bradbury another go. His words and the stories all weave together in patterns beyond beauty.

  5. unfetteredbs says:

    I give you high marks for powering through Mistborn. For a book club ? Props

    We are going start a cookbook book club… You have to make something from the book for the meeting. I’ll probably gain 50 pounds. Gack!!!

    I got nothing else. You’ve been missed. As always … You make me smile.

  6. Helloooo!
    I think Ann Patchett wrote Bel Canto. I’ve read Bel Canto and I’m not reading anymore Ann Patchett, unless she didn’t write that and then I will read her novel about the Jungle Book Cruise.

    I really liked Sarah’s Key except for the love story part. The rest of it was riveting, heartbreaking, all of those things. I have heard the movie is better than the book.

    Thanks for returning to us!

    • She did write Bel Canto! I’ve been getting a lot of mixed reviews on ann Patchett. She’s not the most exciting writer, but I don’t mind her overall.
      I felt the same way about Sarah’s key. The love story was unnecessary. Yeah the movie is really good but slightly different from the book.
      Thanks lady! Glad to be back!

Comments are great, eh?

