Food

My Favorite Teas


Oh hey guys I’m back with a really exciting post about tea. I didn’t become a tea drinker until the late age of 21 and even then I strictly stuck to Chai tea. And most of them were in latte form, so does it even really count? Does this post even really count? DOES MY LIFE EVEN REALLY COUNT? tumblr_lza98wF1aY1r61bvjo1_500

After spending time in rainy countries I understand why people need tea in their lives. It’s so cozy and comforting. I don’t even drink it for the caffeine. I drink it for the warmth. The town that I live in seems to celebrate their love for tea by having a hundred tea shops. I’m exaggerating, they have like, 6. And one of them is called Special Teas.tumblr_mtt7fuTVI41qzdzbuo1_1280

One of my favorite tea shops goes by the name Silk Road Tea. They have a store located in the Chinatown of my city and it’s pretty pimp. They sell many a tea with plenty of accouterments. They hand out samples (a must, if you want me to frequent your place of business) and they even have a spa. So yeah it would be safe to say that Silk Road Tea is my everything.tumblr_mghu8sUijn1r5kl7zo1_500

Their teas have fantastic names such as Philosopher’s Brew, Gunpowder, and Angelwater. One of my faves is called Seamist/ Mermaid’s Potion. I basically only drink this one for the name. It tastes very minty and light and has a bit of lemongrass and seaweed mixed in. This tea is comforting during all seasons and it’s a good reminder that I’m actually a mermaid.imgres

I also recently ventured into the popular David’s Tea store after trying some of my friend’s Bear Trap tea. Bear Trap has a very fruity taste because the ingredients include elderberries, apples, rosehips, hibiscus, blackcurrant, raisins, strawberry leaves, lemon verbena, blackberries, strawberries, raspberries, cherries, blueberries, and papaya. Needless to say that this one smells delicious and is totally different from most herbal teas. I also think it would make a great iced tea in the summer time.imgres

I’m pretty sure I’ve mentioned this tea before, but I’m a real fan of Golden Sail Brand China Lichee Black Tea. It’s just a plain black tea that comes loose in a sweet tin. I like how basic this one tastes. Whenever I go out for sushi I really look forward to the black tea that they serve with the meal. I also realllly look forward to the sushi as well, don’t get me wrong. I don’t know where you can specifically find this brand, but I’m guessing you can wander around any China town and find some. It’s also available online.url

I’m also a pretty big fan of Tazo’s Awake tea. It’s essentially an English Breakfast tea so that’s what I usually opt for at Starbs when I want something warm, but not fattening. 0079452220078_500X500

And lastly, a little tea that my husband picked out at David’s Tea which turned out to be one of my absolute faves is The Earl’s Garden. It’s a black Ceylon Tea with a floral infusion of blue cornflowers and calendula petals as well as strawberries and bergamot oil. It’s like the perfect tea. And it smells divine. If you’re a fan of Earl Grey and feel brave, definitely give this one a try.10084_s

What kind of tea do you like to drink?tumblr_mzioepNSG31sp0k8to1_500

Standard

34 thoughts on “My Favorite Teas

  1. I too acquired a taste for tea but at a much older age than you, Lily. I like Lady Grey and one of my favorites is Aveda’s tea. Also Bigelow’s I Love Lemon. That mermaid tea sounds yum. I love mermaids too. I have a mermaid pillow. I think I’ll have a spot of tea now. Do they say that in Canada? Eh?

    • Mmmm I’ve never tried Aveda’s tea! I didn’t even know they made tea! Although, it doesn’t surprise me. I also love lemon flavored things so I Love Lemon sounds really good! A mermaid pillow –awesome! I wish they said spot of tea here! That would be so proper!

  2. I’m the only person in my family who’s not a tea drinker. It’s only in the last few years that I’ve picked up herbal teas here and there to experiment with.
    My mom knows that if she’s coming for a visit she has to bring her own tea bags.

    • Haha yeah I tend to drink more of it in the winter and fall I think. I also never drink water ( I know, I know) so I feel like whenever I drink tea I’m being healthy haha!
      It’s good that you’ve been experimenting! It’s fun stuff!

  3. In order:
    Earl Grey
    English breakfast
    Lipton (Orange Pekoe and Pekoe Black!)

    We have a whole shelf of our pantry devoted to tea.
    Didn’t start out that way. My wife just keeps getting more of it, mostly as gifts now.
    And it’s never going away!!!!!
    *sob*

    Do you have a fun tea ball?

    • Ooo those sound good! Haha I know what you mean about the tea shelf. Our little corner of tea is starting to spread and my husband doesn’t like it very much!
      I do have a fun tea ball! :D :D

  4. I too drink tea for the warmth. It’s cosy indeed! You could say I’m a tea whore. Though my favourites are the one with a bit of cinnamon (to-tal-ly awesome on cold days), and one called ‘Russian tea’, for the obvious reasons. And also the taste.

      • Hahaha yes! Though currently I have to read a very boring book about a Russian priest in 1200 or something… With English breakfast tea. Have you ever noticed how beautiful tea bag boxes are sometimes? It’s like art!

      • Yes totally! I think I’m more attracted to the outside of tea boxes than the tea itself haha. Ugh reading about anyone from the 1200′s reminds me of university haha. So many historical figures and I would always mistake them for different people haha.

  5. The Earl’s Garden sounds wonderful. I’ve been a fan of Yorkshire Tea for years, and, I’m fortunate enough my little town has a store that carries it, right next to the Lipton. I also adore sweet ice tea, which I consume by the gallon in the summer, because, like you, I don’t drink water. I know, I know.

    • Thank you kindly! Wow 5 cups a day is pretty good! You are definitely getting your daily dose of tea. Herbal teas are super good. I like the minty ones too. Cheers!

  6. This is like one of your Lush reviews but with something I can actually relate to.

    Although I usually have tea rather than coffee, I really only like bog standard tea – all that fancy guff is a bit, well, fancy and offputting.

    I also find it weird how tea is seen as such a British thing, given that we had to enslave the Indians to import/steal it in the first place.

    I really like this Twinnings tea advert as well – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LdkcsDueSMM

    • LOL thanks Michael. Glad you can finally relate to my posts. I agree with you though. I usually just drink old regular brand English Breakfast, or Earl Grey.
      You’re right about the British tea thing. I’m pretty sure the Asians and East Indians had it first. Enslaving people is clearly how you get things done.

      I like that advert! I was thinking at the beginning, “What does this have to do with tea? Is she a twin?” Haha. It’s a cool idea.

  7. I’m a fan of the regular ol’ black Lipton tea. That’s my grandma drank and that’s what my mom still drinks every day. I happen to like green tea and the other light, fruity teas. I’m not a big fan of the chai…

    • Chai has a really distinct, sometimes sharp spicy taste and I can see why people wouldn’t like it. But yeah I definitely feel ya on the Lipton, green, and fruity teas. That’s cool that your a third generation tea drinker.

  8. unfetteredbs says:

    My husband is huge tea drinker. We have shelf or two dedicated to a myriad of flavors. I’m not a fan too much. I dig the smell. The warm scents are very soothing.

    I like a Tension Tamer( cranky pants) or mint magic. Really though, give me high octane black java and I’m good to go.

    Coolio gif.

    • That’s cool that your husband drinks tea. I feel like more of the men I know prefer coffee to tea. Tea is probably healthier though I’m guessing?
      Tension Tamer sounds good! I also like the sound of mint magic. My mom likes her coffee too. I’m not quite there yet. I’m sure once I have kids.

      Thanks biatch.

  9. Oooh, girl, I am all about tea. On the daily, I drink Earl Grey with cream and honey. If no EG, then I’ll hit up English Breakfast. If I’m feeling fancy, I get this chocolate coconut situation from the Steeping Room, but I don’t know the exact name. It’s just delightful.

    • Ooo girl sounds like you know how to make a good cup o’ tea. I’m with ya on the EG and EB. That’s the good classic stuff. Chocolate coconut, eh? Steeping Room–I better check them out! Sounds like a dessert almost!

  10. I have recently been getting into tea! I love chain tea, and usually stick with it. Except I drank all that we had in the house, so I has to raid my Mom’s selection. So far my favorite is Tazo baked cinnamon apple with a little honey and milk. I think that I am going to start branching out and trying new teas, these sound really good! :)

    • Baked cinnamon apple sounds super calming and soothing. I gotta try some of that! Thanks for the recommendation!
      Yeah I need to branch out and try some new ones too. I should’ve named this post “The Only Teas I’ve Ever Tried” haha.

  11. Pingback: When Abroad I Like to... | h.morningstar

  12. Pingback: Tea Time with a little Southern Comfort | My Life. One Story at a Time.

Comments are great, eh?

