Feelings

1,000 Followers


I could start my own cult if my heart desired it. I can’t believe that 1,000 + people have started following my blog. I know not all of them read my words or even remember that they’re subscribed to my blog, but I definitely feel a sense of pride and that “You like me! You really like me!” feeling.

I also feel very undeserving. I kind of let my blogging habits slip away during the summer. I didn’t visit other blogs, I was late answering comments, and I haven’t addressed a lot of the awards I was nominated for. So to make it up to those who have subscribed to my blog recently and those who have been subscribed to my blog from the beginning, here’s some info about myself so you know who you’re following. And so you can immediately unfollow.

  • I am a Libra in western horoscopes and a rabbit in Chinese astrology.
  • I love all things magical and mystical, historical and cultural.
  • I’ve lived an extremely #blessed life that involves lots of laughter.
  • I love looking at photography and have devoted my Tumblr to things that I find beautiful, intriguing, and funny.
  • I have a husband, Paul, who is my best friend and supporter. And by supporter, I mean that he literally supports my life. I would not have food if it wasn’t for this guy.
  • I’m slightly obsessed with music, movies, books, pop culture, beauty products, and video games.
  • I don’t worry about what other people think about me. I like to avoid spending time pleasing others and trying to impress.
  • In fact, I think I displease and offend more oft than not. But I know my soul and my heart and if people don’t get me or understand where I’m coming from, it’s okay.
  • Decision-making is my enemy. But in the end, I’ll usually make a quick choice because I’ll stop caring after ten minutes.
  • I will go on any trip to any location if someone else is paying. I do not turn down free vaycays.
  • I have strong faith that can’t ever be shaken.
  • I love most foods but I hate cheese, milk, and most dairy products. I’m not even lactose intolerant. I just hate them. (I can feel the unfollows occuring.)
  • I like making people laugh and smile.
  • I love all animals (more than I love people).
  • I like spending time alone, but I also like being in the company of others.
  • I sing every day.
  • I like going on walks and meditating with my thoughts.
  • I love my very small, dysfunctional family.

So if you’ve made it this far listening to me talk about myself, I think you’ll really enjoy read my blog. Because that’s all you’re gonna get. Also, I’ll let you in on a little secret: I’m going to have my first ever blog giveaway right here, right now. Most people that have the pleasure of knowing me in real life would attest that I have gnarly mix tape skills. Mix tape = burned CD. I’d have to agree with these people. So I figured I should share my gift with the world.

The ways you can enter are pretty simple:

Comment below about a song that you would loveeee included in a mix tape made for you. (This is mandatory for your entry!)

And you can follow me on Twitter for an extra entry!

I’ve never hosted a giveaway so if things get messed up, it’s most likely my fault.

Anyway, I’d like to thank everyone that follows my blog and my very simple thought process.  I started this blog just for fun, kind of like an online journal. I never imagined that people would be interested in what I have to say. So thanks for that. You’re all crazy.

Standard

59 thoughts on “1,000 Followers

    • That is good to keep in mind. Even though I’ve reached a milestone, it’s not really that important because no one actually cares. Thanks for keeping me grounded Harry!

  1. It’s because you’re so darn endearing, dearie. But I have to laugh that the four likes on this post so far are all dudes and four of us are geezers. Niche marketing!
    As for the mixed tape, the perfect song would be a song I wouldn’t know but that the person would think I would love because they know me so well. So, I don’t know yet what that perfect song might be, see? But I like to think it would be a song like the one below and that the person would write by hand in small print on the CD listing: “I thought you would really dig the piano at the end.”

    • Ahh why thank you, kind sir. I try, I try. Niche marketing indeed. I can’t help that men are so interested in my girl crushes of the week and my stories about Lush soaps.
      I totally know what you mean. You gave the perfect mix tape answer. Stop being so perfect! I think my mom saw The The when she was in college. I never really gave them a listen, but I thoroughly enjoy this tune. Thanks for turning me onto it! :D

  2. Just yesterday, Anne was bemoaning that all of the Meet Up women she met only wanted to discuss their babies and houses, and, although she loves Joe and her house and her husband, she wants to talk about her favorite video games, books and movies. Maybe you are the same person.

    Congrats on the massive following!

    • I knew it! Although, I wouldn’t go a to Meet Up group (even though they’re very popular)…I’m too content staying at home. So maybe we are slightly different. ;)
      Danke schon, Addie.

  3. Congratulations! And now I can say that I knew you easy back when you were just snarking at a few of us. ;)

    A mixtape should include Don Ho – Tiny Bubbles. Because then you have to listen to it while you’re burning it.

    hehehe

    • Thanks Guap! Isn’t it crazy how long we’ve known each other? You were one of my first followers! I’m glad you’ve stuck around haha!

      Hah for some reason my husband was happy that you suggested Tiny Bubbles. I guess I’m going to have to download that one regardless.

  4. Emily says:

    Congratulations, Lily!!! This is awesome for you and always deserved. I actually loooove to play random music blendCDs–or play tapes! How cool of you to do this and generous. I have some fav songs–one of them lately is ‘say something, I’m giving up on you’. I love it! Not sure if I got the title right? Anyway I have a definite style and there’s some songs I cannot stand to listen to.. Wonderful news on your 1k milestone–way 2 go : )

    • Thanks Emily! I love burned CDs too! One of my favorite things to do is to burn one and then go on a long drive and listen to it. I will make sure to look up that song! Thanks for always stopping by!

  5. unfetteredbs says:

    Congrats! I don’t want to ask for a song because I think getting a cd that’s totally all Lily would be super coolio.

    Your blog always makes me smile and that is just the tops!

    • That is a great answer! A Lily cd is pretty sweet, I’m not gonna lie. Like nectar of the gods.

      Thanks Audra. I’m so happy to know you. You always brighten up my space!

  6. Holiday, by the Buggles (They did the Video Killed the Radio Star song) For a couple weeks in 1986 it was playing on the radio all the time, and I loved it, a song about taking a holiday (who doesn’t love a holiday?) I have never heard it since, I haven’t been able to find it. No one I mention it to ever remembers hearing it. I don’t even know if it ever existed! Maybe I dreamt it or it’s a false memory implant. If you were to ever do a mixed tape for me and it had that song on it, I would be blown away! (A relieved my memory is not making up random non-existing songs in my head.)
    Or the Lucy and Linus theme from Charlie Brown would make me dance when no one was looking. (I know that one is real.)

    • Lol that is so funny! I really loved Video Killed the Radio Star when I was younger. I would listen to it quite a bit. Such a catchy tune. I didn’t know they had another song…I will look up Holiday and see what I find!
      I also like the songs from Charlie Brown. I love that show!

  7. Congrats Lily! You are so funny and you’re pretty too. These attributes will serve you well throughout your life. Use them always. I can’t think of a song right now but I like Tom Petty and I like the The Wallflowers. That’s off the top of my head while I’m tapping right now. You know, I think I sing everyday too, usually to my sweet pups.

    • Thanks Brigitte! You are too kind. I also love Tom Petty and The Wallflowers. Good choices, my friend. I think singing every day is good for the soul. I’m jealous that you have sweet pups. I want some!

  8. Hey, congrats! I’m right there behind you. Only a couple hundred to go. Must have song on any mix tape should probably be the retro “take you back” song. For me that’s 90’s so I’m going with “got you (where I want you)” by The Flys.

    • Thanks Bro Jo! That’s awesome! It’s a great feeling, huh? I hadn’t heard the song that you suggested, but my husband was so excited that someone mentioned that song. Hah I’ll have to listen to it and learn to love it.

  9. KING HELL!

    Even Jesus only managed to get 12 official followers – proof, if any were needed, that you don’t win friends with salad.

    I reckon Whigfield – Saturday Night deserves a spot on your mix tape.

    • Hah I know, right? Kind of cray cray. Thanks for being my very first follower Michael! i can’t believe we’ve known each other for so long! Thanks for stickin with me all these years!

      I’ll check out Whigfield!

  10. Yay! Congratulations! That’s awesome and well deserved I love my books, music and movies too although I’m not much into video games. I adore mix CDs so if I win, I’d love to have any new song that’s out right now that you enjoy. I say that because living in Germany, I’ve lost touch with what’s out right now. You may remember this when I mentioned the lack of new movies I’ve seen lately. So, if I win, please help me rejoin the music world!

    • Thanks Deanna! I’m glad you like mic Cds as much as I do! New songs are always fun to listen to–to be in-the-know. I will try to reconnect you with the music world if you win! It’s so cool that you live in Germany!

  11. Sammy says:

    Congrats Lil! I’m stoked that I knew you before you were so famous! Don’t forget the little people know that you are.
    I love I Feel A Sin Coming On by the Pistol Annie’s. I have to listen to it at least once a day so it would be required in a mix tape.

    • Thanks Sammykins! I’m proud to say that you knew me when I was just a normal gal, tryin to make it through life. I’ll always remember you, girlfriend. I don’t know if I’ve heard that song! I’ll have to check it out! Thanks for the tip!

    • Haha how thoughtful and responsible your response was.
      I don’t know 1,000 words either. I pretty much use the same ones over and over. The most popular ones in my repertoire would be “ugh”, “like”, “I know, right?”, and “hahah”. The classics.
      Thanks Tim!

    • You don’t care about a mix made from my depths of my heart and soul? ;)
      Thank you very much for always stopping by my blog. I love your input!

    • Oh cool, I hadn’t heard that song before, but I really like it. Weird that they used it for the closing ceremonies though..you silly Canadians. Thanks for following me for so long, John! I’m glad you’re around.

      • Disappointed I didn’t win lol. Hope to be out there this summer. We will likely do some sailing offshore there. I’ll let you know and we can buy you guys some dinner.

      • Aw I know! Sad times.
        Definitely! That sounds awesome. Make sure to contact me before you come! I could probably hook you up with a CD and give it to you in real life which would be pretty rad.

    • Thanks Linda! You are way too kind! That is very cool that your son is in a band, and a very good one at that! I wish I had that kind of talent!

Comments are great, eh?

