Beauty

Lush Review: Christmas Edition Part Deux


I felt super blessed in Las Vegas because a.) I was on vacation b.) I was spending quality time with my husband and c.) there was a Lush store in my hotel. Dreams really do come true, kids.  True Lushies know that the only day in the calendar year that Lush holds a sale is on Boxing Day. Needless to say I was pretty excited to be in Vegas during this time of year, with the added bonus of being so close to a Lush before their biggest and only sale.

I arrived at the store around noon, so most of their leftover holiday inventory had been picked through, but I still managed to find some items worth trying. One of them was the Luxury Lush Pud bath bomb. I really wasn’t attracted to the scent of this one. It was kind of spicy and I didn’t really like the look of it–there was too much going on. But since it was on sale, I decided to grab one and try it out. I totally changed my mind after I dropped it in my bath. It smelled so nice–like flowers (which doesn’t really fit the dessert theme…) and the colors were fantastic. The purple and white combined to make this beautiful magenta water with little pools of pastel. I loved it. Had I known how great this one was, I would’ve purchased it earlier! It contains lavender and ylang ylang oils and gardenia extract.3fd7a71f38dc48b43658f44ca7ff7251

I picked up another product that I wasn’t too excited about–the Melting Snowman bath melt. His look really turned me off. He looks like something I would’ve made out of Play Doh when I was 7 years old. But I thought I would give him a chance because I didn’t have that many choices for the sale. I was pretty underwhelmed with this one. It didn’t melt as quickly as I would’ve liked. It smelled good, like cinnamon and patchouli–very warming. It also includes shea butter, almond oil, and chocolate drops. Much to my chagrin, the chocolate didn’t melt thoroughly and left tiny chunks of sweetness bobbing in my water. Which was fine while I was bathing, but I had to make sure to scrub the tub afterwards because chocolate colored bits don’t look good in a dried up tub.Lush-Melting-Snowman-Bath-Melt-2013-review-holidays

Golden Wonder bath bomb had received amazing reviews and I was pretty stoked to try it. In comparison to other bombs, Golden Wonder is quite large. Some people prefer to break the big bombs in half and get two baths out of it, but I just used the whole thing in one go because I’m wasteful. GW is in the shape of a cute little Christmas present (or Hanukkah present, shalom) and it’s covered with a gold coating. When shaken (not stirred), you can feel that there’s another little bomb inside the big shell of the present mold–making it feel like an actual present.  As the white and gold of the outer shell dissolved, the inner bomb made itself known by dispersing a turquoise hue through the tub along with little golden stars made of soap. The bomb was very invigorating because it had cognac oil in it and smelled of citrus. It was a magical experience. 5683-Golden-Wonder-640-x-587

I’m not a huge fan of Lush’s soaps. I know that’s blasphemous Lush-speak since they’re one of Lush’s most popular items, but I feel like generic body wash from drug stores are cheaper, last longer, and smell just as good. I did manage to get a free sample of their Christmas soap called Ice Blue. It’s a very pretty sky blue colored soap with round white chunks embedded into the top. I’m not usually drawn to minty scents, but I really like the clean, refreshing scent that the soap gives off. I think it would be a great one to use in the morning because the peppermint oil tingles your skin and invigorates you for the day ahead. I also think this is a great soap for both women and men alike. It’s not overly feminine–just clean.img-thing

When I picked up this little Snowman bath bomb, I knew that it was basically Butterball bath bomb in holiday form. It smells of vanilla and cocoa butter–very rich and luxurious in both scent and texture. This bomb has oils and butter that float around the water and melt into your skin–leaving your body moisturized even in the coldest, driest weather. The color of the bomb left something to be desired–it was mostly white with a little bit of red coloring from the snowman’s scarf–nice winter colors.Lush-Snowman-Bath-Bomb

Have you tried anything from Lush recently? Or any new beauty products in general?

Standard

19 thoughts on “Lush Review: Christmas Edition Part Deux

  1. Ahhhh, that first bath bomb looks AWESOME!! I want to go to Lush with you … I feel like you could get me to try so many great things!

    Also, your new blog pic? YOU’RE SO CUTE, LILY.

    Ok, that’s all. Sorry I haven’t been around your blog much lately :( The Internet hasn’t been a top priority, but I’m fixing that! Because the Internet should always be a top priority, of course :P

    -Sarah

    • Ahh yes, in the words of Aladdin, I could show you a whole new world. ;)
      LOL thanks gurl, but lemme just tell you that that picture is 5 years old, so I’m not that cute anymore :( But no one needs to know that…

      Dude, do not apologize. I take blog breaks all the time. I think it’s better. But the internet always misses you when you’re gone. And I do too! :D

  2. I’ve been waiting for a new review.
    My boyfriend made good and got me some Lush bombs for Christmas. I can’t wait to try them but I’m still using ones I’d picked up last month. I’m hoping to hit the City and Lush this weekend but we’re in the midst of a blizzard here in Nova Scotia. (And I’m so bored that I’m actually heading off for a Lush bath right now – Cheers.)

    • Hah this was a long one! So I hope it was worth the wait! That’s so nice of your bf! He’s obviously a keeper! I can’t believe how much it’s been snowing on the east coast! I feel for you! Nothing like a Lush bath to warm up your soul! ;)

    • Lol thank you Guap. I’m honored that you made an attempt to translate this girly jargon.
      The rest of your comment sounds like spam and I love it so much.

    • I know, right? Dreams come true! Only in Vegas would anything like this ever happen! Having one of those plastic ball pits in your house would be the ultimate dream. I would never leave.

    • Lol many people are confused by Lush because their products look so strange, but they are so fun! I bet you have one closer to you than you think…!

  3. Woah, I imagine your happiness when discovering not only there was the Lush shop in your hotel, but it also had its sales day when you were there!
    I don’t know if we have Lush in Belgium though…

    • Lol no problem Sarah! Trust me, I barely have enough money to shop, or enough patience to bathe. But somehow in these dreary winter months, I made it work! Thanks for stopping by! I will check out your post when I can!

Comments are great, eh?

