Holidays

Away in a Manger


The world we live in today makes it easy to forget why we celebrate Christmas. Ever since childhood, we learn to connect presents with Christmas. Consumerism is at a high, but happiness is also apparent, so it’s not all bad.

A lot of people say that we should put Christ back in Christmas and I’ll often think “Right, Christmas is the time when we celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ.” but I wouldn’t really ponder any more about it. People will sing hymns, go to church, and decorate their houses to feel the spirit of Christmas, but is that it? Is that all we can do?

I went to a Live Nativity Pageant that my church put on last night and I was expecting it to be totally cheesy and dumb. I seriously always expect the worst for stuff like this because I’m always ready to cringe. ┬áBut I was very surprised at how much I enjoyed it and how much I learned about the birth of Jesus.

I think we have it easier living in a time where (for those who believe that Jesus was the son of God) Jesus had already come and died for our sins compared to those who were expecting his arrival 2,000 + years ago. I don’t know if I would’ve been a strong enough person to believe that God was going to send down a Savior to the world. So it’s cool to think that there were so many people that recognized his birth on the very first Christmas.mary-and-joseph-and-babe

Like, the three Wise Men are so coolio. They were my favorite part of the nativity. Mostly because one of them was wearing shoes that looked like the Genie’s from Aladdin. Also, I just like the idea that they traveled so far to see an infant child that they knew was their King. It was eye opening for me since I never really thought much about ┬ábaby Jesus being born in a manger. But the fact that people already knew how great he was the minute he arrived on this Earth, to have that much faith, really impressed me.

Can we just respect how flashy the first wise man was?

Can we just respect how flashy the first wise man was?

Also, the Wise Men had a llama with them which I could not stop watching. He really stole the show for me. Like, if I hadn’t known he was acting, I would’ve thought he was a biblical llama. The donkey in the manger was also exceptional as well as the goats.

The thing I like the most about Christmas is how happy and full of peace people are. Of course some families get lost in the shuffle and get stressed with holiday pressure. But I think if we keep this time of year simple, help our fellow men and women who need it, and make our hearts full of love and joy, this time of year will feel how it was intended to feel.

I hope all of you have a great holiday season. And if you don’t celebrate Christmas, I hope you still get to spend time with your family and friends and feel warmth during this magical time of year.

Standard

18 thoughts on “Away in a Manger

  1. I watched something on the History Channel a few weeks ago about how the Wisemen were aliens and the star they saw that led them to Jesus was a spaceship. History Channel….

    I think a lot of productions like this realize they need to be more modern in that it’s entertainment, not preaching time. I’m mostly impressed they got a llama.

    • Omg the history channel is so weird at times. Actually, all the time. Yeah I agree with you about the entertainment factor. I hate preachy stuff. This one was pretty solid because the “actors” didn’t talk, they just had a narrator and music in the background. Pretty safe.

  2. Emily says:

    Thanks for this heartfelt post, Lily! I’m celebrating my first Xmas in England this yr w/o family so it is really special to pause and find joy in the ‘little things’… One day we’ll look back and realize those are the most meaningful or big things of life : ) i went to a cafe and a mean lady who owns the place wasn’t so nice… When I read your new entry, it cheered me up–thank you! I luv the lush rec on sea salt scrub too!! Happy Christmas darling! X

    • Thank you Emily! Glad I could lift your spirits during your hard time! It’s so hard to celebrate without your family around. But I think you’re going at it the right way–enjoy all of the good and happy things that surround you and your spirits will be lifted.
      That’s awesome about the Lush scrub! Now I need to try it for myself! Happy Christmas to you too! Be safe! X

    • Thank you Addie! To you as well!
      I don’t think I’ve listened to Handel’s Messiah all the way through. I should give it a try this year to put me in the mood! That’s a sweet sentiment, Addie. Hope you and yours have a great holiday!

  3. unfetteredbs says:

    The pageant transcends time, doesn’t it? Nice reflective post my friend. I just wish people would remember the spirit throughout the year.

    Merry Christmas and here’s to a fabulous 2014 to you and your family.
    Audra

    • Thank you! And yes, it does. So fun to watch. I wish people would remember the spirit throughout the year as well. I think we would have a happier planet.
      Thank you Audra! Merry Christmas to you and your family as well! I hope we have a great new year! :D

  4. Morning, Lily!
    Your post is up and running, so when you rise and shine, head over and greet your adoring public! (In your own time, of course.)

    If you don’t mind, I’ve added a plug for my book to the end of each of my posts (Between being Pressed and The Bloggess’ appearance, I’ve had an upswing in viewership this week so I’m taking advantage of that fact to see if I can sell some books. I’d pretty much given up on the book because quite frankly I was disappointed in my first effort, but a first effort is supposed to be rough, right? The second will reflect my evolution.)

    But enough of me, thanks again for being so cool and Lilyish, Lily! See you soon!

    • Awesome! My first thought this morning was actually about how excited I was to be featured on your blog today! Also, thanks again for the kind words on your post!

      That’s great about your book! Do not be disappointed! The fact that you were able to write a book is a great feat! I’m proud of you. The second one will obviously reflect your evolution and keep your audience coming back for more!

Comments are great, eh?

