Beauty, Music

Girl Crush of the Week: HAIM


It’s not often that I’m a fan of an entire record album. I mean, sure, earlier bands (60’s, 70’s, 80’s) pumped out great, solid albums all the time. But nowadays I feel like modern musicians are shooting for singles. But finally, thankfully, a group proved me wrong.

HAIM is a rock band consisting of three long haired sisters (and a male drummer but he’s not part of my girl crush) from “The Valley” aka The San Fernando Valley aka Los Angeles aka I’m done. I first fell in love with their melodic tunes when I heard “The Wire” while driving one day. I find that song has a bit of an 80’s vibe to it which I find really refreshing.

Danielle, Este, and Alana Haim

Danielle, Este, and Alana Haim

The gal’s sound had been compared to Fleetwood Mac, Stevie Nicks, John Waite, and En Vogue (according to Wiki). I can definitely hear all sorts of influences in their music and I’ve been loving it all. I can’t stop playing their album, Days Are Gone, on repeat.

I really enjoyed seeing the sisters almost “act” in their music video for “The Wire”. Their long locks and similar looks were intriguing and kept me coming back for more. Creepiest sentence I’ve ever written BT dubs. I also really like the name of their band because it’s not only their last name, but it also means “life” in Hebrew.

Anyway, I definitely think you should download their album and give it a listen. You don’t even have to intently listen–just put it on in the background at home or in the car or something.

Tell me what you think!

Standard

10 thoughts on “Girl Crush of the Week: HAIM

Comments are great, eh?

