Holidays

Left Over Resolutions 2012


Doesn’t 2013 sound like an unlucky year? Is no one bringing up the fact that thirteen is unluckiest number of them all? Hotels don’t even make a thirteenth floor, that’s how bad it is. But it’s okay, let’s just all keep pretending that 2013 will be a great year.

I was looking at my resolutions last year and I was actually very surprised. Usually resolutions depress me because I’ve never really set a goal for myself and accomplished it. At least, not on purpose. But I completed a lot of the things on my list with flying colors!tumblr_mfvjlhQbG71ru60b7o1_500

For example, one of my goals was to start volunteering and I estimated that it would only last four months once if I started. Well, not only did I get a volunteering job, I stayed there for 10 months. Technically I’m still there, but they’ve been slow for a while so they haven’t needed me much.

Another resolution of mine from last year was to be more spontaneous in Victoria–do things I haven’t done, make more friends, and put myself out there. Well, now I’ve made lots of friends and did many adventurous things. And by that, I mean that I went camping twice.

Something else I had on my list was to read more. I projected that I would probably read one book this year and I ended up reading five! My little library is growing. I didn’t even realize I was completing a goal I set out for myself. Maybe that’s the key to setting goals, they have to be something you like to do so that you’ll end up accomplishing them no matter what.

Something else I wanted to do was to “make our apartment cozy and perfect”. I am so proud of myself with this one. Around the time that I wrote last year’s post, I had saved up a little over $1000 with my babysitting money and I wanted to buy a couch with it. Since then, I’d saved up enough to buy that couch, a chair and ottoman, a rug, a TV credenza/mini entertainment center, a trunk, and a mirror. I have definitely accomplished that goal. It makes me proud to have “feathered the nest” and I think it makes Paul proud too.

I still had other things on my list that I didn’t really accomplish like going to church more, stop hatin’ on people, and to complain less. And I think those will be my resolutions for this year. The year of the left-over resolutions.

But really, like I said last year, I’m basically perfect and I’m just writing this list out to feel more human.

Standard

26 thoughts on “Left Over Resolutions 2012

  1. Are you saving this year’s resolutions to review next year?
    I would say just roll the list over. You’ve already finished the stuff on it, so now you can just coast all year!

  2. Haha, that comic panel is great. I’m one of those crazy ones that thinks ’13 is going to be a great year. 13 has never been unlucky for me–I think it’s a conspiracy by all the other numbers to make themselves look better by bullying 13.

    I don’t make New Year resolutions either. If you want to do something or change something, do it now, you know? Why wait for a new year?

    • Hah well if you believe ’13 will be a great year, then it probably will. You will it to happen, right? But if ’13 does me wrong, I’m blaming it on the unlucky number thing!
      You’re totally right about doing things now. Why wait for a random month or date to start improving yourself? :)

  3. Resolutions, smesh-aloutions. Make little changes everyday. There’s something to be said for simplicity and the simple things. That’s the good stuff. Have you ever read Living a Beautiful Life by Alexandra Stoddard? It may be a good one to add to your list of reading (or not). You’re right, you’re perfect exactly the way you are. ;).

    • Thanks so much Brigitte! I will check out that book ASAP. Sounds like a good read to me. I almost titled my post “resolutions smesh-aloutions” so I love that you said that! Haha!
      Hopefully, if I make my little changes everyday, I’ll be the best me I can be. :)

  4. unfetteredbs says:

    The year of the left-over resolutions— I like this very much. My leftovers are pretty moldy so I threw them out.
    I was just saying at work today that for some reason I hate righting 13 for the date– we date alot of crap being a library and all. High five on the feathering the nest thing too, that shows alot of determination to stay on track to save money. So very cool.

    • Haha moldy left-overs definitely need to be thrown out. It’s nice to start anew! Fresh and clean.
      Ugh yeah, I’m so glad I’m not in school right now. I hate typing out 13 or writing it. Not that I’ve written it yet…I just know I won’t like it.

      Thanks so much! It was a lot of hard work to feather my little nest, but I think I’ve done a good job. There was also a lot of hand-me-downs involved haha!

  5. A gripping life says:

    Look at you getting lots of love! I think that your saving all that money and working toward getting furniture for your apartment is/was very cool. It’s got to make you proud every time you walk in your living room. Good job.

    • Lots o love from all my pals! Yeah it was fun to do all the little bits and pieces and make something of my very own. Not everything was perfect at first, but that’s good because now I can look back and be proud :)

  6. This is like that Arthur episode where he thinks he didn’t do anything he planned for summer then finds his list and realizes he did them all in a different way. I may have to write about each Arthur episode individually.

    It’s great you did do everything you planned after all. You bought a trunk? What about the rest of the elephant? lololol I’m going to try making more bad animal jokes this year.

    • You really should write about every Arthur episode individually. It could be the one continuous thing that keeps our blog cool.

      Your trunk joke didn’t make me laugh until I saw the “lololol”. Good luck with your jokes. I’ll stick with spices.

    • That’s true! There’s a fine balance, right? The Mona Lisa SHOULD have eyebrows though…hah every girl needs a good pair of brows!
      Yes, I am a believer!

  7. Pingback: Guest Post: LilyInCanada is Stuck in an Elevator! | rarasaur

Comments are great, eh?

