Exercise, School

Skiing With Lily (Guest Post by CozyinChicago)


Look at me, I am so cool writing a “guest post.”  Really, Lily doesn’t know what she agreed to! ha ha.  Lily and I go way back as we grew up close to each other in the Chicago area.  And, it just so happened that we ended up at the same college for a while until she decided to be too “cool” for the USA and hop over the pond to London…ok, I guess thats kind of cool.  Now she thinks she’s super cool and landed in…Canada?  Yikes.  JK LILY.  Ok, so I decided to write about Abby & Lily’s skiing adventures, mostly because its hilarious for me and probably really embarrassing for Lily…but I know you guys will get a kick out of it.

I somehow convinced Lily to sign up for a skiing class with me in undergrad.  I mean in my mind, skiing+college credit=what could go wrong?  You basically get to ski for free for a semester and get classes which is a great deal!  Lily hadn’t ever been skiing before the class so I decided, being the wonderful person that I am, to take her up before classes started and show her the ropes.  Now while a good portion of our day consisted of taking sweet pics to post on facebook:223314_503775868189_6737_n
The rest consisted of Lily like this:safety_fall
And a lot of swearing.  Actually, I’m surprised she is still talking to me today, you all know how she is with grudges.  Then it came to the semester long class.  We had these weird sort of “try out” things where they watched us ski and then put us in classes based on ability.  Somehow I got put with the crazies who like to jump off cliffs and ski in “unchartered territory”…wtf?  My teacher literally called me “the Chicago princess” just cause I valued my LIFE.  ugh.  So while I was stuck with those bozos Lily got a PRIVATE class and got to hear all the ski instructor gossip.  Really, it was like Real Ski Instructors of Beaver Mountain or something…she’d tell me all the dirt on our rides home.  I was jealous.  By the end of the class I think Lily could make it down the hill in one piece with a little bit less swearing…right?  Don’t know if she’ll ever ski again but it was definitely some great memories.  Maybe I”ll have to make my way out to Canada for some skiing…Lily??
*If you want to read more of Abby’s work, go to CozyinChicago.wordpress.com!
Standard

18 thoughts on “Skiing With Lily (Guest Post by CozyinChicago)

    • Yes. I actually got better. Now I’m a pro. Just kidding. I’ll never go down black diamonds ever. I’ll stay on the easy slopes. Or just on the ski lift.

  1. Ahahahah! OMG! This was hysterical. Abby, you and Lily are clearly twins. (Except I don’t remember giving birth to you?) Seriously, you express yourselves in almost identical ways. No wonder you guys are friends! Loved this post and the awesome picture of the two of you. So glad you’re on word press!!!

    • abbykramer23 says:

      thank you! It would be quite interesting if we were twins…Lily is about a foot taller than me..guess she took up all the height genes?

  2. When people hear I’m from Michigan, they always assume I can ski and participate in winter sports… Ha! I am the worst skier of all time. My first experience scarred me for life. Every time I fell down I could barely get back up, in part because the instructor gave me poles of two different lengths. I asked him about it, and he claimed “it didn’t matter”. Bastard. Ahhh, memories. Lily, you’re not the only one to hold grudges…

    • Hah I think it’s always more traumatizing when you’re not taught to ski when you’re young. If I had learned when I was closer to the ground, falling wouldn’t be as scary. But since I learned when I was six feet and super off balance, it was awful. Two different poles huh? Ugh! Sounds like the worst! I’m glad I wasn’t the only one who was scarred forever.

  3. Well, at least we know you’re a daredevil, Cozy, because the rest of us would be really scared of revenge posting that 2nd pic of Lily!

    Still, looks like it was a really fun day.
    (Yes, yard-sales skiing are fun!)

    • Hah luckily the second picture is not really of me! If it was I would forbid the entire post!
      It was an awesome day :D definitely up to your adventurous standard!

  4. Pingback: Learning to Drive « Lily In Canada

  5. It feels like I’ve visited this blog before on but after browsing at some of the material I realized it’s new
    for me. Anyhow, I’m certainly glad I have found it and I’ll
    add it to my bookmarks to check back often.

Comments are great, eh?

