living in canada, Stores

Extreme Makeover: Canada


So I think Canada finally looked in the mirror and said, “Wow we’re like, a super gross country. Let’s fix ourselves!” I knew it would be baby steps after I heard the news about the Canadian introduction of Target, but never in my wildest dreams could I imagine that Canada would take their country’s makeover to the next level. Friends and family, may I have the pleasure of being the first to announce that Nordstrom is coming to Canada!

I heard the news when I was volunteering, and I thought I was going to faint. My supervisor asked me if I’d ever been to Nordstrom. That’s like asking me if I’ve ever breathed air. I told him it was only my favorite store in the world, duh. And our conversation pretty much ended after that.

It’s like God keeps answering all of my really important shopping prayers. I’m so blessed. There’s just one problem. I don’t have any money. And in order to even look at a Nordstrom parking lot you have to have some dough. I might be exaggerating a bit.

The sad thing is, I’ve almost gotten used to not spending money here. I never buy clothes for myself anymore. I never have the urge to. See what happens when you move to Canada? It changes you.

Maybe the new introduction of Nordies will light a fire within me to shop more. Even though the closest one to me will be in Vancouver. So basically I’ll have to take a ferry or plane to get there. How rude. Clearly they didn’t have my best interests in mind. Actually, I don’t think they had anyone’s interests in mind since there will only be 4 locations in all of Canada (Toronto, Ottawa, Calgary, and Vancouver).

Canadian Nordstrom Pros: More shopping for me, more street cred for Canada, I will feel a sense of normalcy in Canada, and thousands of new jobs for Canadians.

Canadian Nordstrom Cons: Canadians working in Nordstrom and ruining everything, no actual Nordstrom close to where I live, I have no money so nothing even matters.

Standard

29 thoughts on “Extreme Makeover: Canada

    • Treat yo’self! Ahh I love Parks and Rec. Yeah unfortunately Nordies won’t be open until 2014 or something crazy like that…I think I have to wait it out for a bit before I go on a spree…!

  1. A gripping life says:

    God really is answering your shopping prayers! Target and now Nordies, you have everything you need. I like that Nordstroms gives Canada Street haha!

  2. It”s Marya…Lily, congratulations on your new family member, Nordies, moving to a location somewhat near you. You lucky duck. I’m mystified by the Fathers of Nordstrom’s choice to place a store in Calgary. What the “French” were they thinking? Now, those people from Calgary will have one more thing to brag about. I’m disgusted.

    • Aww thanks girl! Hah yeah, my Canadian adventures were definitely meant to be. It’s been entertaining for sure! But yeah, I think the Canadian shopping gods are testing me…maybe they want me to move to Vancouver or Calgary!

  3. I hear Nordies checks your VISA balance before they let you in to shop. So near, Lily, yet so far!! I think this calls for a visit to other cities in Canada to see how you like them, don’t you??

  4. LOL Lily! Good ol’ Nordys. And we know everything in Canada is marked up. Like if you buy a lollipop it will have a price that says $3.95 but $14.95 in Canada. So I doubt there will be any Nordstroms items under $5,000. Why is that? Maybe because Canada only has four locations. Up Down Right Left. Poor Canada. No wonder the US has it blacked out when they do weather reports.

    • Haha you’re so right! Why are Canadian prices so extremely high? Maybe they’re trying to live up to the times when their country was rich (the fur trade). Lol about Up Down Right and Left! I should’ve thought of that myself! Too funny!

  5. harperfaulkner says:

    Excellent, Lily. A very different post then your mother’s and yet, in its own way, very worthy. Several very good bits of writing. Keep improving. HF

    • Hah thanks HF. Yes, my mom’s post today was definitely top notch. I don’t know if this one is as worthy as hers, but it’s more fun, that’s for sure!
      Thanks for reading my ramblings…!

Comments are great, eh?

