Feelings

A Post About Nothing


I haven’t been feeling very inspired to write anything recently. Sometimes I feel like I’ve talked about everything there is to talk about. Sometimes I can’t even remember if I’ve written about a certain topic already or if I just dreamed that I did.

These days if you have writer’s block (or any kind of block at all really) you go onto Google and see what there is to write about. I typed “what should I blog about?” into Google, clicked on the first entry, and this is what it said:

1. What is your expertise? Readers want to read about what you know and your special experiences. Really!

Okay, geeze. I believe you. Problem is, I don’t have an expertise. Unless you count being able to name every Pokemon an expertise, I’ve got nothin. Are most people experts in a certain area? Is this some sort of life requirement that I missed out on? Should I look into something? I guess history would be my expertise because I got my degree in it, but we all know that’s a lie and I forgot everything I learned right after the final exam.

2. What’s the news? While you don’t have to necessarily be a news breaker, you can give your view on what’s happening in your industry and how it relates to your hobby, life, etc.

Am I supposed to have an industry? I don’t even know what day of the week it is, never mind what my industry should be. I feel like I break the news occasionally, but I usually sway towards celebrity gossip more than newsy news. Can we call it newsy news from now on? The reason I didn’t write about the newest celebrity news is because my heart is broken and talking about it just makes it hurt more.

I’ll give you a hint: It has to do with these two.

3. What is your personality? Do you like to take a stance? Are you funny? Do you like being a contrarian? These insights can help you to write about your topic.

Can’t I just be everything? Why do I have to choose just one of those things? Can’t I be a funny contrarian that likes to take a stance? Maybe I don’t want to be defined by one personality type. I think there are sides of me that are soft and kind and other parts that are funny and playful and other parts that are deep and thoughtful. Notice how I didn’t name any character flaws? It’s because I don’t have any, in case you’re wondering.

4. What are your hopes and fears? Things that you can’t stop thinking about or what keeps you up at night could be good things to share with others.

I would say one of my hopes is trying to live a good solid life. A life I can look back at and feel proud of. A lot of the time I get caught up in trying to make other people proud, but I think I should just be focusing on making myself proud. I try to be the best example to others that I can be.

My fear is that I’ll go to a restaurant and they won’t have my favorite thing on the menu anymore. This scenario has happened to me multiple times and it’s scarred me for life.

5. What are your hobbies? Things that you like to do on your free time are often great topics to discuss.

Um let’s see here. Sleeping is a big hobby of mine. Eating is also another big one. Going online. Driving and listening to music. Walking and listening to music. Just listening to music in general. Traveling to new places. Did I say eating? Um petting soft animals. Laughing at people. Laughing at myself. Not exercising. Shopping. Painting my nails (but only when they’re grown out). Going to movies. Eating popcorn. Eating chocolate. Eating.

I think that’s about it.

Were those prompts supposed to solve my writer’s block? Because I think they made it worse. And they made my self esteem plummet because I don’t have an industry or an expertise.

I guess technically you can’t have writer’s block if you’re not a writer, so I probably have nothing to worry about, right?

Standard

39 thoughts on “A Post About Nothing

  1. I saw the ‘news’ item about Ryan and that person, and, the first thing I thought was (I’m serious here) “Ryan, how can you do that to Lily?”. I spit on his decision.

    Don’t stop writing–your thoughts and words are too clever to not be shared.

  2. I definitely have some things in common with you. I also don’t know if I can call this writer block cuz I’m not really a writer. Boo. And I too love sleeping and eating and music and soft animals! :D But yeah, I think those prompts can be kind of depressing. Either way, you made this a fun read. “Notice how I didn’t name any character flaws? It’s because I don’t have any, in case you’re wondering.” <– Lol

      • Yeah sleeping and eating and music and soft animals are the best! Seems like we have a lot in common, besides our awesome name, of course! Those prompts are kind of depressing actually. Like, way to point out that I’ve done nothing with my life! Haha. Glad you liked it though! Thanks so much for reading!

        Ohh Ryan…hopefully he’ll come to his senses soon…!

  3. haha! I like what Emily said. The industry thing is pretty funny. That reminds me, you should probably have a “Brand” too. I sort of think you do have a brand but I don’t know how to sum it up just yet…?

    • She’s a funny one, that Emily. But yeah, I’m thinking my Brand would lie somewhere between the Kardashian’s brand and Casey Anthony’s brand, I feel. Didn’t she say she wanted to improve her brand? Like, honestly, what is your brand Casey? Killing kids?

  4. It’s Marya…not Meredith who is now, “glittercounts.” You have “Writer’s Block?” I have “Life Block.” I feel as if everything in my life has been blocked. This getting back into the grove of school has really thrown me for a loop. I’m thinking Peter Pan had it all. “I don’t want to grow up. I wanna be a kid.” And in the humble words of my good friend, Donald Trump, “Brand yourself and toot your own horn.” Find a “Brand,” Lily and go with it.

    • Glittercounts is such a rad name. Jealous that mine isn’t as sparkly or girly sounding. I don’t know what kind of Brand I would go for or what would really suit my life, but you’ll be the first to know. Man, The Donald is so wise!

  5. We have this Barbie type doll who is mock Donald Trump, complete with a business suit. You push a button on his back and he says a string of harsh, real comments like, “I should fire myself just for having you around.” “You came up with one complaint after another. I hate complainers. You’re fired.” “Brand yourself and toot your own horn,” is just one of the gems this Trump doll says. We quote that particular phrase a lot in our family. So, Lily, BRAND YOURSELF! and yes, “Toot your own horn.”

    • Okay first of all, I need to find me one of those dolls because they sound amazing. Hopefully Donald doesn’t hate complainers too much, because complaining is one of my favorite things. Can complaining be a brand?

  6. I’m with you honey. Yesterday’s post was a mess. I was writing something funny and I got phone call that changed things and posted shit. I mean to the point that people that didn’t know me were worried. Can I tell you how much I despise drama on the internet? Anyway, I gave up and posted about boobs.

  7. I LOVE that picture, what you made of it :).
    I know the feeling. It’s like you can’t keep on telling how awesome you are, how awesome dancing is and how much you love cats. There’s an end to the love of your readers. They won’t keep on loving you if you only tell them the same things over and over.
    Talking about a confidence boost here ;) ! I mean to say that we, bloggers, all fear to lose other blogger’s attention. Blogging is a very serious thing, almost like being the CEO or something.

    Now turn away your head and stop reading my nonsense. You’re doing just fine as far as I can tell, no need to panic :).

    • Hahah thank you! No one else commented on my amazing art skills! I thought I painted Blake’s features perfectly.
      Yes! I’m getting tired of making the same old jokes and saying the same old things, really. But don’t worry, I don’t get tired of hearing about dance and cats and how awesome you are! I could never tire of those! :D
      Thanks NBI. Glad you’re on my side and know how I’m feeling! Too kind!

  8. Write things in advance whenever the idea sparks in your head like I do. I don’t think this is the best way of doing it but I like convincing people to do things my way.

    Or you could just insult people weaker than we are.

    • Oh, well I didn’t plan on it explaining how cool and talented I am, but I am pleased with the result! I’ll have to write about nothing more often! Thanks Hook!

  9. unfetteredbs says:

    So I started to follow Harper Faulker.. I told him Grippy sent me his reply was:
    Lisa is special and very giving. I have discovered many a good blogger through her. HF
    PS: Not to mention that crazy Canadian, Lily, that says she is her daughter. I’m doubtful, though. Lisa is so kind and Lily, well, Lily is one of “god’s special people.”

    I have to tell you I am loving your blog.. love your “voice”.

    • Haha aww HF is a funny one! But yeah, my mom’s blog is amazing, and mine is…well…different.
      So happy that you like my “voice” and don’t take anything I say too seriously. I can’t tell you the amount of people that comment that say “You’re so mean!” I need to make a disclaimer that says, “I’m only joking!” Again, thank you and welcome. I can’t wait to read up on your blog! I love your Edward Hopper header.

Comments are great, eh?

