canada, Holidays, living in canada, victoria b.c.

Canada Day!


I just wrote an immensely awesome post about Canada Day and WordPress somehow erased it. Usually WP is really great about auto-saving, but this time they failed. Instead of writing about Canada Day, I’m going to write about how WordPress owes me big time. They can pay me back in Freshly Pressing all of my posts from here on out.  Jk I’ll write about Canada Day. But I’m not jk-ing about being Freshly Pressed.

While all of you are being distracted by the recent American tragedies (the death of TomKat and Adele’s pregnancy announcement), the Canadians are celebrating. Celebrating what?, you might ask. That’s a good question. You should Google it. Any time you ask a question you should Google it. Asking questions is SO 90′s.

Canada Day is basically Canada’s Independence Day. Like their 4th of July, but except it’s on the 1st of July and full of Canadian pride. On this day in 1867, the British North America Act (aka the Constitution Act) was signed, uniting 3 colonies into a single country called The Dominion of Canada. This is great and all, but they were still under British rule in a way. Like, if they wanted to pass a law or anything, they had to go through Parliament. Cray cray, right?! In 1982 (aka 30 years ago aka lol) the Canada Act was passed which made Canada a distinguished, sovereign land. No more “Dominion of”, just plain old Canada. Yipee!

This was my first time ever celebrating Canada Day. I didn’t want to admit to myself what a great time I was having. I was part of a human flag! Do you know what that is? It’s pretty self explanatory, but I imagine all of my readers to be complete idiots. Here’s a picture of what I was a part of.

Isn’t that cool? Aren’t you jealous? I was in the Maple Leaf part of the flag. That’s the best part. Who wants to be the boring old white part? Or the red stripes on the side? The Canadian flag is a pretty lazy design when you think of it. Obviously not as lazy as say, the Japanese flag, but you catch my drift.

After that we meandered down to the food pavilion. Mainly because I kept talking about how hungry I was. There were a series of food tents of all different ethnic delicacies. Of course Paul and I opted for the Jewish Community Center’s stand. We each got a huge kosher hot dog. We were eying the blintzes, but we didn’t want to be complete fatties, so we walked away. Quietly sobbing to ourselves.

Later on we had a BBQ and played with our friend’s kids and dog. I’m forever entertained by dogs. They never get old. Well, technically they DO get old, but you know what I mean.

Speaking of things that don’t get old–the fireworks at night were awesome. How are fireworks so cool? It’s literally fire being shot into the sky. We see them at least once a year, yet they are always awesome. They were displayed over the harbor and everyone around us was drunk and singing O Canada. It was a night to remember for sure.

Thanks, Canada. Here’s to many more Canada Days to come!

Standard

22 thoughts on “Canada Day!

  1. Canada needs some points deducted for unoriginality. Fireworks? Come on! Have a snowball fight or look at the Northern Lights instead. Such a ripoff holiday. A lame name too. So cocky. Independence Day/Fourth of July is so much better. It’s about Independence and it’s in the name. It also takes place on the fourth of July which reminds us all when it happens.

    I’m glad you somehow made this travesty of a holiday into a good time with Kosher hot dogs.

    • So true. Everything is basically one big copycat version of our Independence Day. Don’t hot dogs make every holiday better? I feel like the Northern Lights don’t show up until winter time, but that’s a good suggestion. Maybe I can see them and blog about them?!

    • I was the leaf part! It was pretty awesome! I think the US flag would be much harder to do. Canada’s was pretty straight forward!

  2. AgrippingLife says:

    Hey, you ended up re-writing instead of throwing your laptop through the window! Good for you! The flag is super cool. I like any occasion where you get to sample food and walk around and judge people. Only kidding on the judging! Lol!

    • I know you’re not kidding about the judging. You don’t have to pretend to be nice in case anyone reads your comment. You birthed me. Therefore you must enjoy the occasional judgement. haha! But yes, I re-wrote. Even though I was so annoyed. I had to threaten WP. The flag was awesome! I wish you were there!

  3. Interesting. Please forgive my ignorance (I’m from the US), but was the Constitution Act passed on July 1st, or the Canada Act, or both? :)

    • That’s an awesome question. I’m from the US as well and I just had to look it up! The Canada Act was passed in March! So maybe their Independence Day should be then? They just want to be like the US! :) Thanks for reading and commenting!

  4. “but I imagine all of my readers to be complete idiots.” That we are Lilington :D it’s easier that way.

    I like how countries need their own days to celebrate things, Independance Day where the American’s were freed from British rule… with the help of the French. They often leave that part out. Most American’s don’t even know what French is, they think it’s a type of fry.

    Why are there even French people living in Canada anyway? Man I hate the French…

    I feel as though I’ve gotten off topic a little here…

    • Whoa Whoa whoa. Don’t be hatin on the US of A. We totes know what French is brov! We know we got help from the French, but they’re just jerks now, so who needs em right?! But yeah, french is definitely a type of fry as well :)
      Man I know, why are there French in Canada? Why is French one of Canada’s national languages? The world may never know!

      • Ahaha sorry :P Maybe that was the deal when the french helped US, they gave them a small area of Canada to live in but you know those Frenchies, they’ve branched out and spread like a disease!

    • Haha well, TomKat didn’t really die, but they got divorced! And yeah Adele is pregnant! Crazy huh? You’ve been living in Belgium having an awesome time. Did you see the Tour de France time trials? Don’t they go through Belgium?

Comments are great, eh?

