Exercise, victoria b.c.

The Tweed Ride


I don’t even know where to begin with this one. About two weeks ago Paul and I were walking downtown. We were about to cross the street when a string of bicyclers soared in front of us. Typically I would have thrown my purse in the road hoping to trip all of them using a domino effect. But this time I was too transfixed to even attempt to cross, never mind cause them to crash.

All of the riders were casually biking, not racing. And they were dressed in what seemed to be 1920′s and 30′s British attire. All of the outfits looked so authentic. Not a bad one in sight, really. And everyone had a bit of tweed incorporated into their outfit as well.

I was really intrigued, watching them go by. I felt like I was on the set of a movie. Some people had their children on the back of their bikes and they were dressed up too! So much detail. One of the best bikers actually had a penny-farthing. I don’t know how he found it, but he looked awesome.

Yeeeah. I decided to find a picture because I know none of you knuckle-heads knew what I was talking about.

I guess the Tweed Ride started in London in 2009 and has been picked up throughout the world. It’s described as “a cosmopolitan ride with a bit of style.” Righto.

Usually I wouldn’t be interested in an activity that included exercise and public appearances. But for some reason I want to participate in it next year. I’ll have to start looking for an outfit. And a bike.

Congratulations Canada. This is the first cool thing I’ve seen in a while. Massive props.

Everyone in this video is super annoying and British, but you get the picture.

Standard

29 thoughts on “The Tweed Ride

  1. The LDS Convert says:

    I used to watch a lot of ByuTv. There was a show on there called Wind at my Back. Horrible show, but I couldn’t help but watch it. This reminds me of that show. (It took place in depression era Canada.)

    • Haha you WOULD watch ByuTv. I’ve never heard of Wind at my Back, but I’ll look it up just for a laugh. I wonder if the depression hurt Canada at all. I’m guessing no because Canada’s population was probably only 100 people back then.

      • The LDS Convert says:

        Hey….I DID watch it. I had to stop because I was addicted to this show, and Doc. Remember that one? Starred Billy Ray Cyrus as a doctor from some hick town, transferred to NYC.

      • Hahah can’t say I remember that one! I never got ByuTv on my TV though. We didn’t get the fancy channels! But that show sounds like a quality production.

      • The LDS Convert says:

        Fancy channels? Here is something I learned. If you happen to not send in your DirecTv money, they will shut off your service. When they do this you can still pick up Religious channels and the weathers channel. So…if you happen to be forgetful for one particular month, or just plain poor, you can see if and when the Rapture is coming AND what the temperature will be when it gets here.

      • Haha that makes a lot of sense why my family never got it. But we did the weather channel. So maybe we were half poor?

  2. This is SUPER cool! First of all, your post was awesome because who doesn’t love to be called a knuckle head? But seriously, I want to live in that video world of Tweed and Queen songs and good looking British people. I think you should start planning your outfit now, I will too because obvi I’m going to be in Victoria when that race/ride goes down. I’m going to use this as my new motivation to lose those silly last 20 lbs! haha! I want to look good when I get captured on film! Naturally.

    • Yeah! Glad you’re so stoked for it! I like that the one in London is sponsored by Ralph Lauren. Jerks. Victoria’s was probably sponsored by Something More, The Velvet Crease, and Sunday Snowflake. You should definitely come up for it!

  3. I want film of this ride when you participate. Actual film. You’d look amazing, I think, in the vintage styles. Don’t ride a penny-farthing, though (I did know what it was! Yay!)

    • Kk. I’ll see what I can do. I’m sure everyone would want to film us! In a year from now, look our for it! Of course you knew what a penny -farthing was, Addie.

  4. You guys should get a tandem bicycle for the event and sing Daisy the whole time. I guess that’s a bit more turn-of-the-century than 20s and 30s, but it would still be awesome ;)

    • Ohh I think that’s a great idea! Tandem biking seems like less work too! If you think of any other good ideas, send ‘em my way!

  5. Pingback: Those Silly French People (And Some Canadians) « Other Stuff From P.D.

  6. I thought this was going to be about Boss Tweed, the corrupt New York Mayor or whatever his position was. Actually I was more hoping than thinking that way.

    I am glad I now know the correct term now for “bike with gigantic wheel”

    • Sorry for the late response! I don’t know why I didn’t comment! Hahah why would I ever write about Boss Tweed? That sort of topic doesn’t exactly scream Lily, does it? Maybe you know me better than I know myself.

      Yes! Same! I didn’t know what it was either but I think I googled “bicycle with one big wheel and one small wheel” like a pro.

Comments are great, eh?

