Feelings, P0wning N3wbs

Schadenfreude


No, I didn’t just make up that word. But I think the person that did was my soul mate. Schadenfreude is a German word meaning pleasure derived in the misfortune of others. I have this. This would be my diagnosis from most doctors. And then they would kick me out of their office and tell me that I’m going to hell in every religion.

To be clear, I don’t like when bad things happen to good people. Well, not to confuse anyone, but I don’t think there’s such thing as good and bad people. I think everyone is a good person. But I think life choices and circumstances make good people do bad things. Lot’s of bad things happen to undeserving people. But such is life. We should take those bad things and use them to make ourselves stronger, not to use them as a handicap or a “woe is me” excuse.

One time when I was flying to London, I sat next to a guy on the airplane who was in a wheel chair. We started talking and he mentioned about how he hadn’t always been in a wheel chair. Being the nosy biatch that I am, I inquired more. He told me that he was riding his motorcycle and that he got in an accident on the highway. He used to run marathons. He was so kind and had such a good outlook on life. He still competes in marathons, but now he wheels instead of runs. He was actually going to race in the London marathon. As cheesy as this sounds, he made me want to be a better person.

But I’m not. Moving on…

Karma is my favorite thing. I’m a fan of both bad karma and good karma. I know that life isn’t fair, but I like to think that justice is always served and that good deeds always get rewarded. Is there a place where that happens? Because I want to move there.

I can’t help but laugh when someone’s being super annoying and then they trip and fall when they walk away. This happens to Kim Kardashian A LOT.  That’s instant karma. And it’s gonna get you. John Lennon clearly only writes about pressing issues. Like being a walrus.

Why is Yoko blindly knitting in the background of the Instant Karma video? She's the devil.

Good karma is all fine and dandy, but bad karma is much more entertaining. I remember in 7th grade I left my Hello Kitty wallet in an Abercrombie and Fitch dressing room. Looking back, this was a horrible situation. Why did I think I could pass as an Asian girl by owning anything Hello Kitty, and believing that I could fit into Abercrombie and Fitch?  When I went back to get it, all of my money had been stolen, including a gift card to Target. But they clearly had good taste and left my wallet behind. My mom told me that the person that stole my money would end up having bad karma. That made me feel good.

Wait…what if my money being stolen was my own bad karma from doing something bad. Brb–re-evaluating my life.

 

Standard

26 thoughts on “Schadenfreude

  1. AgrippingLife says:

    Do you think John Lennon’s untimely death had something to do with Karma? Probably just his time to go.
    Where did you find that word? Haha! It’s perfect for you!
    I forgot about the hello kitty wallet. Now I remember how upset you were ; (
    I think people who steal are so mean and insensitive. I could never steal something from another person. It’s such a violation.

    • Haha the Germans just understand me. I found it on someone’s tumblr!
      It’s definitely possibly that John Lennon had bad karma for saying that the Beatles were more popular than Jesus. Or whatever he said.
      Yeah I was sad that people stole money from me, but I guess it happens to everyone? :/

    • I’d like to think the same about myself, but alas–neither of us have won the lottery. Therefore, karma doesn’t really exist, does it?
      I feel like I was a cat in my previous life. But yeah, I was probably up to no good.

  2. This might be one of my fav posts of yours. Best first paragraph ever, too. I also lost a ridiculous wallet when I was young. I think it’s a lesson to hold onto our money better, and they only way to do that is by losing a measly $20 instead of our life savings. And to the adults that stole from a kid’s wallet: you suck. But it was probably some punk kid. They still suck.

    My favorite word is baumschule (tree school – very appropriate in my line of work) and I love Yoko Ono so much. She’s slightly coo coo but full of love and peace. Don’t you love that she was knitting? I bet she would never steal your wallet. She would make it into art instead.

    • Aww thanks doll face! That just made me sound like a 50 year old waitress. Losing an embarrassing wallet and getting our money stolen must be some sort of introduction into the real-world. There’s no other explanation.
      I like baumschule! Very cool. Learn something new every day!
      Yoko is pretty groovy. She seems really kind, but she’s just so odd. I do love that she was knitting. It’s just too funny.

  3. Of course the Germans would be the ones to come up with a word for getting pleasure from the pain of others. I wouldn’t expect anything less from THOSE people. I can call them those people, they’re white.

    I don’t believe in karma. I think bad people surround themselves in bad situations. If you’re a murderer eventually you’re going to get caught. Or possibly always be in a state of worrying that you will. So maybe I think bad karma exists but not good. There are plenty of good people out there that don’t get their “just desserts.” Everyone loves desserts. Why can’t the bad luck people get theirs too?

    Have a positive attitude and your karma will seem good. Too bad having a positive attitude can be fake for some people (me). But yeah, I love seeing bad things happen to other people. We all do. Would you rather hear about someone from high school winning a ton in the lottery or getting shot in a hunting accident? Don’t answer that. We all have the same answer.

    • I know, right? I all of a sudden feel a deep connection with those crazy Germans.
      I think you’re right about karma in a way. If people make bad choices, bad things are bound to happen to them, right?
      I try to have a positive attitude normally, but sometimes you just have to be realistic and hope for the best.
      As for your questions about a peer winning the lottery or getting shot, I mean, it goes without saying.

  4. Whenever something shitty happens to me I just look up and say, “take one off the pile” ;)

    I like to quote this one for our kids.

    “Pain is inevitable, suffering is optional” :)

  5. Harper Faulkner says:

    I like the candies with the karma centers.

    On a more serious note, I was taught in English class to beware of the Karma Splice. I think that’s what killed Ghandi.

    Enjoying your mother’s blog.

    HF

    • Karma/caramel are two of my favorite things.
      Hey, I never got to learn about that in my English classes! Interesting though, I wouldn’t be surprised if the Karma Splice killed Ghandi.

      I’m enjoying her blog as well! It’s a good one!

  6. There is no such thing as good or bad karma unless you create it for yourself by believing in it. Then it becomes a self fulfilling prophecy executed through your subconscious.

    Karma is a new age version of the old Christian good goes to heaven and evil goes to hell idea which is equally false.

    We should be good not because of some cosmic balance, but because it makes sense rationally. If you’re good to others they will like you and you will feel more welcomed, more relaxed and happier in your community and in the world in general. By doing bad things you may get ahead in life on the short term, but you will always feel like an outsider and you will always worry a little about being caught and that’s just not worth it.

    Btw, I like your writing.

    • Why thank you!
      I suppose you’re right. I like the idea of it though. I like the idea of self-fulfilling prophecy even more though. Maybe if I truly believe that I deserve a million dollars, I’ll end up getting it down the line?
      It always just seems like too much of a coincidence when someone trips or something after they do something obnoxious. But yeah I definitely understand what you mean.

      • Yes, I think if you really believe in deserving a million dollars you will increase your chances of getting it simply by projecting it to other people and by acting on your desires every day.

        Those events that you experience as proof of the karma idea is simply confirmation bias. You tend to notice events that support your hypothesis and neglect events that contradict it.

        Falling for the confirmation bias is also addictive. You get a slight “high” from getting a confirmation and you will want to experience the same positive feeling again later on. Thus you tend to deviate from reason further with time.

      • Did you, by any chance, do your dissertation on exploring karma, self fulfilling prophecy, and bias? Because you seem very sure of yourself. But I definitely agree with what you’re saying. Although I still think it’s more fun to believe that karma’s a real thing. :)

      • I don’t have any formal education and while I may sound sure of myself it doesn’t mean I’m not ready to change my mind if any contrary evidence is presented. Sorry if I come off as a know it all.

        It’s definitely more fun to believe in Karma. I also have my unfounded beliefs that I keep no matter what. Like for example the idea that if I really work hard on something and I never give up no matter what I will eventually get what I want. This is of course not true because we all have limitations and certain situations will prevent us from achieving our goals, but if I don’t believe in this idea blindly I would not be able to overcome temporary issues that are too depressing to deal with realistically. I have couple of similar ideas like this on the topic of love and the on the objective of life itself. :)

      • Ohh gotcha! You present your ideas so well! You don’t come off as a know it all, you just seem very informed. Do you have a blog? I don’t see it linked to your name.

Comments are great, eh?

