Feelings, Food, Judging, Music

Dear Adele, What the Hell?


I think by now we all know who Adele is. She seems like a cool person, but of course, I’ve found a reason to not like her. Well, it’s not that I don’t like her. I’m just questioning her existence.

Adele famously said,

I love food and I hate exercise. I don’t have time to work out…I don’t want to be on the cover of Playboy or Vogue. I want to be on the cover of Rolling Stone or Q. I’m not a trendsetter…I’m a singer…I’d rather weigh a ton and make an amazing album than look like Nicole Richie and do a shit album. My aim in life is never to be skinny.

Hmm this seems like a sensitive subject for Adele. I’m going to dissect this quote so all of you can be bothered by Adele too.

“I love food and hate exercise.” Oh really? How strange. I’ve never met anyone in life who has that problem. Come on Adele. Who doesn’t love food? No one. I get that she’s trying to be relatable, but isn’t that too relatable? Oh you love food and hate exercise? There’s a club for that–it’s called everyone in the entire world.

“I don’t want to be on the cover of Playboy or Vogue.” Okay again, Adele, no one wants to be on the cover of Playboy. That’s a sign of desperation. And as for Vogue, can beggars be choosers? I mean, no one has to put you on the cover of anything. Oh wait, look. What’s this?

You look like you’re having an alright time on the cover of two different copies of Vogue. Did you tell them that you didn’t want to be on the cover when they called you up?

“I’d rather weigh a ton and make an amazing album than look like Nicole Richie and do a shit album.” Good news! You can actually be skinny AND make a good album! It’s been done before, I’m sure it will be done again. I mean, look at Amy Winehouse. She was super skins and she had an awesome voice. Granted, she died. But still.

“My aim in life is never to be skinny.” Hmm that’s interesting. It seems like you’ve lost quite a bit of weight. I mean, it might be because you have a new boyfriend, or because you wanted to look good at the Grammy’s knowing that you would win everything, or it might be because you realize that being overweight doesn’t make you happy. You don’t have to be super skinny or really overweight. There’s a happy medium for everyone. Just don’t be so crabby about it.

Also, your chin creeps me out.

Standard

76 thoughts on “Dear Adele, What the Hell?

  1. Lisa says:

    Let’s just hope that she and Aaron Eckhart don’t have children. Those would be some scary chins!!! Girls shouldn’t have cleft chins anyway. I hope she’s not hiding an Adam’s Apple, too? Ew.

    Yeah, she’s super defensive about her weight. She’d be better off saying, “I know I’m a bit overweight. Eventually I’ll get sick and tired of it and I’ll do something about it. It’s gonna have to be on my terms, though.”

    Well, actually that’s something I would say. Haha! She’s welcome to borrow it, though.

    • She would be way better off saying that. I mean, she’s just so talented that its a shame she has to be so angry about her weight.
      Hahahh about her and Aaron!

    • Jovie says:

      Oh because she chose the chin she has, really. Intellectuals now a days, you guys make me sad. You take everything to heart and let the women be it’s her mouth shit if I dissected every word you said you would probably call out “freedom of speech”.

  2. Lisa says:

    I also just want to say… she’s not soooo fat. Everyone should back off. Especially if you’ve never had a problem with food and body image stuff.

  3. “Adele and Aaron’s child, Androgynous, was born today in an undisclosed location. Doctors are still at a quandary to the sex of the child because, so far, all anyone can see is a huge cleft chin.”

    ick.

    I’ve just noticed Adele, and, from the photos, it seems her proclamation about not caring isn’t being carried out by the change in her shape. Good for her either way–her voice remains jaw dropping. So does the cleft in her chin, only, not the same jaw dropping kind of way.

    • Hah yeah I agree. I mean, good for her for losing weight, but I thought she didn’t want to lose weight. Hmmmm. Lets clarify, her SINGING voice is jaw-dropping. Her speaking voice is just awful.

  4. Marya says:

    Is it just me? I believe the reason Whitney Houston committed suicide (or whatever she did) is because Adele was riding HER wave.

    Adele…how do you spell humility?

  5. I think it’s a bit unfair to look at a few comments to judge her overall attitude. Besides these quotations she has also said she had body insecurities but doesn’t hang around those who make it an issue. She does come off as defensive with these quotes but I mean she is a singer…you would think people would want to talk to her about you know, her singing not her weight.

    In some of the same interviews you quoted and her most recent interview with 60 minutes she said that she has body insecurities and that it is fine to change the things you don’t like about your body but first you need to be okay with yourself. Pretty uncontroversial but some how that quote doesn’t make news. Anyways, due to her recent surgery she wasn’t eating as much so of course she is going to lose weight. I’m sure she feels better and now probably wants to keep up with it which is great but again her choice. I think what people should be more upset with is the fact that as a women she has to field questions about her weight and not just her craft. If she was a man this wouldn’t even come up.

    • Yeah I think you have a good point. I think Adele is an amazing singer/songwriter. She’s super talented. I’m glad she has talked about her insecurities! I think that’s the most relatable thing she can do–because, lets face it, everyone has them! I just find it interesting that people love her for the quote that I wrote about. I don’t think that’s a good quote of hers, and that’s why I wanted to point out some of the weird stuff. But mostly, I was joking. I joke a lot about people on here, but it comes off as serious. I don’t think Adele should do anything she doesn’t want to. It’s her life and her career!
      Thanks for reading and commenting! Lots of good points!

  6. :( I heart Adele. She’s awesome.
    It’s a-okay with me that she doesn’t aim to be skinny. Skinny has never been sexy. No, ma’am. Slim? Yeah, maybe. Skinny? *shudders* Lol.

    I also think she’s just been focused on her music, and isn’t particular about looking glamorous or whatever (hence the magazine statement). Mind you, she IS quite gorgeous. Her face is beautiful. And the weight she’s lost… I’d say her health is thanking her for it. But see her skinny? Nah, I wouldn’t want to.

    Btw, a lot of celebs have lost TOO much weight. It’s gross. I don’t think a person should go from size 24 to size 2. It’s just… No. Not pretty.

    Did I mention that I heart Adele? :)

    • Lol I agree! Being skinny is pretty gross. I think the weight she’s at now is perfect! She looked to good at the Grammys! And she looked happier, didn’t she? She does seem very concentrated on her music–and she should be!
      It is gross when celebs loose SO much weight. I feel like that can’t be healthy!
      Hmm I can’t really tell, but do you heart Adele? ;)

      • She did look really good! I hope she maintains it.
        She looked happy too! Probably a big combo of feeling good, having so many nominations, a glamorous night, and being in looove.
        Yeah, I admit it… I heart her. :)

  7. I don’t watch music. The quotes she made were those of a kid (19 was recorded when she was 19 etc.) Personally, I don’t really think to much about seeing any singer, I much prefer hearing them, this is the true test. As far as Whitney, she was a voice, an instrument. Adele is a singer and a songwriter. Different skill set, not comparable.

    • You’re right. Its hard nowadays when everyone is supposed to have a style, or judged on their outer shell. I much prefer listening to the music than hearing what they have to say. I feel the same way about actors. I don’t want to know their stance on issues, I just want to see/hear them perform their craft. That’s all!

    • I’d rather hear it too. Too often, music videos taint the music itself. I like to hear the song before seeing a video. I have to admit, though, that some videos reeeally make a song more than it was.

      • I guess a good way for me to say it is I never look for videos, unless I’m posting. then it makes sense. A video to me, cannot make the song better, but it can make it more popular. And her weight is so subjective. She is not light, but I assume she lost a bit when she was recovering from her throat surgery. It would be healthy and smart to keep it off. Ha, perhaps I should get some throat surgery, could use losing a few myself.

      • Haha same! Throat surgeries all around! I think music videos are a good way of making a song come to life, especially if there is a story line in the song.

  8. Thing is, you’d never think she was overweight by looking at her on those magazines. She looks incredibly attractive on every one I see. Buxom would be the perfect word to describe her there. Then I see normal shots and that creepy chin gets in the way.

    She’s just trying to be a role model for other fat people. She’s getting a little too damn self-righteous though. Like her not losing weight will change the world. Probably is a sensitive subject for her.

    Any bets on her dropping 30 pounds in a few years and trying to cover up her past?

    • Yeah, I think she can look really pretty. But certain angles are not cute. Mainly chin angles. She is buxom and curvy, which is great! But I agree that she’s sensitive about it. And making comments like that just show that she’s insecure.
      For sure–she’ll drop 30 and everyone will think she’s awesome and forget about how she never wanted to lose weight. But we’ll remember.

  9. Well to be brutally honest, she isn’t exactly Nicole Richie’s weight now either. But in her defense, I’m pretty sure I heard that she had to lose the weight due to health problems.

    • True! Another good point! She seems happier now that she’s lost a little weight, doesn’t she? I mean maybe it was just the fact that she won every Grammy. Hah

  10. Kristie says:

    People should be open to change their mind. There is nothing wrong with getting healthier nor changing your mind. We all change our minds everyday. She is human.

    • That’s true. I just think she was being defensive about her weight. Instead, she could have said something about how being overweight doesn’t bother her, but she she’s knows its not good for her health. She just seemed to angry in her comment. But yeah, I was mostly joking around in this post. I don’t hate Adele or anything. hah

  11. Matt says:

    Jealousy doesn’t look good on you, Lily. If you are gonna rip her, find a reason other than her appearance to rip on. If she sucked at singing, or was a diva bitch, or beat her dog, well, yeah, I see a good reason to rip on her, But not about the way she looks or her telling an image conscious, appearance-focused world to kiss her ass. I kind of like that, myself.

    • I’m definitely not jealous of Adele. She’s got an amazing voice and deserves every award that she’s received. But I just don’t like when celebrities makes a statement about liking themselves the way they are, and then end up changing themselves. Also, she said she didn’t want to be on the cover of vogue, yet she went on the cover. Which is it? I just wish she would be more genuine.

  12. Michelle says:

    What is “skinny”? Adele was unhealthy big, now she lost some weight, but skinny?? She isnt skinny. She is smaller but still considered over wieght. As for the Vogue thing, she said she doesnt WANT to be on Vogue, not she WONT be on it. She also didnt say skinny people only make shit music, what she was saying is she is more focused on her music than making some loser blogger think she “looks amazing.” I also think she was touching on the subject of the no-talent hacks that r famous because of thier looks. You are a sad person that you would write all this to try to get people to dislike someone you dont even know. Some people will agree with you because they have no conviction of thier own, but as for me, all you have managed to convince me of is your incompetence.

    • You realize that you attacking me, is the same thing that I did to Adele, right? You don’t know me, same as I don’t know Adele. I actually like her quite a bit, I just don’t like what she said in that quote. It makes her seem like she doesn’t care about her image, when really, it looks like she does. These are just my opinions. They aren’t right or wrong. They’re just how I feel. I don’t think she should act like being on the cover of Vogue sucks and then agree to be on the cover. If you don’t want to do something, don’t do it. Ya know? What I wrote may seem harsh, but I was mostly just picking fun. I don’t hate Adele. She’s an amazing singer and song writer.

  13. Liz says:

    Why hate her for losing weight? You can have serious health problems from being overweight, eating unhealthy foods, and not exercising. And honestly ask yourself, have you ever changed your mind, or decided that you were wrong? If you haven’t, good for you, but otherwise, SHUT YOUR TRAP!

    • I don’t hate her for losing weight. I don’t hate her at all. I think she’s amazingly talented and sweet. I just didn’t like the fact that she preached so much about loving the way she looked and not wanting to be on vogue, and then she ends up on Vogue twice, and loses a lot of weight. It just seemed insincere to me.

      I never have to shut my trap–everyone is entitled to their own opinions.

    • I never said anything bad about her weight. I just said that clearly she isn’t alright with being over weight since she lost so much weight. She flip flops. I’m definitely not insecure, but thanks for stopping by.

  14. Jenn says:

    She lost weight because she had throat surgery???? Leave her alone! She’s still a healthy size! She wasn’t lying or anything, sometimes shit happens and our weight fluctuates.

    • Yes, weight fluctuates and she’s definitely healthy. She just shouldn’t go around saying how she doesn’t want to lose weight and how she doesn’t want to be on the cover of Vogue and then goes and does those things. Slightly hypocritical is all I’m saying.

  15. Pingback: There’s Something About Cameron | Lily In Canada

  16. unfetteredbs says:

    I am glad you referred back to this post there Lily. I was not following you then( I know– loser right?) I wasn’t even blogging then. But anyhoo — boy you really stirred the pot with this one. Haaa great comment stream.
    Being voluptuous is far better than being skinny…that’s my 2 cents.

    • Yeah I agree. Everyone should just be happy with who they are. It’s just good to be healthy.
      Sometimes I forget about these old posts…but every now and then I’m like, “hmm didn’t I write a post on that once?” Crazy how time flies when you blog! :)

  17. Adele Adkins says:

    This is NOT the real Adele, by the way. You’re a hater! Why do you pick on her? She was expressing her opinions, you arrogant jerk-off!

    • I know she was expressing her opinions. I just hate when people are hypocritical by saying one thing and doing another. Just some observations!

  18. Anonymous says:

    She is a lovely singer indeed and I believe her comments were meant to boost the plus sized community’s confidence but like some many comments of its kind it just serves to hurt more than anything else.

    • Yeah I think I was being extra scrutinizing with this one. I definitely think what she was trying to say was good, but she just came off sounding so angry (in my opinion).

  19. Darya says:

    Dude keep ur comments to ur self ! You dont have to post them or do some shit like this ! ur nothin but the the hater thats it !

    • I wasn’t trying to be mean, I was just looking at her comments in a different light. The reason I started a blog was so that I didn’t have to keep my comments to myself. I wasn’t really hating on Adele, just wondering why she said some of the things she did.

  20. TheNoodleFish says:

    I dearly hope you are not attacking this lovely women for losing weight. Because that would be absolutely ridiculous. When she was 19, she was significantly overweight, and perhaps felt insecure about it, hence needing to make comments that justified her weight level. As she got older, she realized it was in her best interest (health wise! not career wise!) to lose weight. And she looks great. And it’s not hypocritical. She could not have anticipated how famous she was going to become after her next album.

    Adele is just so popular that she seems to be damned if she does, damned if she doesn’t, no matter what the issue! When she was fatter, people loaded up hateful comments on her. Now that she’s lost weight, you’re attacking her FOR losing weight? Come on. This is about personal life choices and pure talent. Adele clearly has both, and everyone should respect that.
    No one should care how much she weighs except herself, and her partner.

    • Thanks Noodle Fish for sharing your opinion and not calling me names while doing so. I appreciate that.

      This is one of my earlier blog posts and I used to be very judgmental and harsh towards celebs. I agree that Adele seems like a lovely person and I ultimately don’t care what she looks like or whether she loses weight or gains weight. She has amazing talent and that’s all that really matters.
      I just don’t think it was appropriate for her to attack other celebrities for being skinny. I don’t think she should act appalled by fashion magazines and then agree to be on the cover of them. Either way, I was kind of going overboard with my opinion, but I appreciate your view point.

  21. Sarah says:

    This blog really, really annoyed me.
    Firstly, the way you have written this makes it sound like you are fighting to tell some secret truth or opinion that has long been shunned upon, and you’re being really inspirational or clever by speaking out about it. No. You aren’t. You’re someone behind a computer screen who has nothing better to do but moan about a celebrity.
    Secondly, just because she has stated that she isn’t interested in losing weight, DOESN’T MEAN THAT SHE HAS TO STAY AT THE SAME WEIGHT for the rest of her career! Do you realise how stupid your argument is? You are complaining about someone FOR LOSING WEIGHT!! In a world where the UK and USA are fighting an obesity problem, I really don’t think that anybody, could validly argue that this is a bad thing… :/
    Thirdly, the comment about the chin, was completely unnecessary and had given me yet another reason to not take your argument or you, seriously. Don’t be so petty that you judge someone by their chin……

    • This post was mostly made in jest. I have nothing against Adele or her choices. I was just kind of trying to play the devil’s advocate in a joking way. But I guess that didn’t really come across.

Comments are great, eh?

