Judging

Gettin My Hurr Did


Or I could opt for this look...

It always scares me when people say that. But I can’t resist taking in a blackcent. I scare myself more oft than not. I’ve been blonde my entire life. Some years it’s been lighter or darker than others, but I’ve always stayed in the blonde family. I’m thinking about changing my hair color (gasp!) even though my bff said she won’t be friends with me any more if I go through with it. Understandable.

I’ve asked people on my facebook status (yes, I’m one of those people) if I should stay blonde or go brunette. Everyone accept 1 person said stay blonde. Do they know something I don’t? Do freckles look sick with dark hair? Burning questions.

Don’t worry, I wouldn’t chop off my hair. I’ve noticed that when people get married or have children they tend to get the “mom cut”. Not a smart move. Long hair distinguishes you from the weirdos. Although I just got my hair cut and its only a little past my shoulders. So technically, I’m half weirdo, half normal.

I hate when people use the phrase “get your ears lowered.” And by hate, I mean it literally makes me want to throw up everywhere. I remember when I was standing in line somewhere in Utah, and an old cowboy man asked me how tall I was. “Umm 6 feet.” He replied, “No you’re 5′ 12″.” For some reason he thought this was hilarious because he repeated it a couple of times. The sales person and I exchanged scared looks and probably both went home and cried.

I feel like I should do one of those makeover.com whatever sites to show what my hair would look like brown. Ugh all of the sites are taking forever to process my flawless face shape. I’ll work on it more a little later. But for now, whats your vote? Blonde as always, or brunette?

Standard

24 thoughts on “Gettin My Hurr Did

  1. I don’t know much about hair. I own too many hats to care. You look good with blonde hair, but who knows if you dying your hair brunette could possibly usher in peace on earth? It’s worth a shot if it’s something you really want to do. Maybe wait until you’re ready to make a complete mental breakdown.

    I hate when I cut my hair and everyone says “Aww you cut your hair” when nobody told me for months that they liked it long or they said that I needed a haircut. Which is it??? So, make your own assessment. It’s not like you can’t go back to blonde after a while. And you can always borrow one of my hats.

    • Yeah its a tough choice. I mean, on one hand its fun to mix things up, but I don’t want to be one of those people who always changes their hair. It’s always weird/cute when guys cut their hair because it’s kind of a sign that they’re taking care of themselves.
      Keep a hat aside for me in case of an emergency.

  2. Personally, I change my hair color ALL the time. I had pitch black hair this time last year, then went back really blonde (not platinum, but really blonde), and now I’m rocking the ombre look with a reddish tint to the darker part on top.

    The only thing I caution you about is once you go dark it takes a really long time to lighten it again. And if you do it too fast it will really damage your hair. Firsthand experience, right here!

    • Yeah, that’s what scares me. If I don’t like it, I’ll have to wait it out for a while, and I may never get back to my perfect shade of blonde!
      I’m jealous that your look is so versatile! I would love to do an ombré look, but I don’t even know where to start!

  3. I would try brown. It will grow out or you can always re-dye. It’s fun to mix it up. I will say that it’s a little hard to adjust at first. You have to get use to it. It will always be a question for you so you might as well try and then you don’t have to think about it again. Just saying…

    • Yeah, I might love it. But I have to make sure it’s the perfect shade. I’ve been studying pictures of people with brown hair and sometimes it can look so blah. But sometimes it looks so good! Choices choices…

    • Yeah thats what I think too! Blonde is a little more unique. It’s nice that you are naturally blonde. My blonde is like a weird honey color…Its not my favorite.

  4. Go brunette. There is nothing wrong with blonde of course but personally I prefer brunette. Long, dark hair looks more sophisticated I reckon. Catherine Zeta Jones and Kate Beckinsale for example.

    Make sure you go proper brunette as well. There is a sort of ash colour that looks a bit grey for those who chickened out at the minute.

    I don’t see why the freckles would make any difference either.

    And 5’12” man is a penis. I imagine he had been saving that joke up for months, desperate for a tall girl that he could bound up to and just blurt it out to. In fact it would have been fantastic if you had actually initially replied to his question saying that you are 5’12”.

    • Yeah if I went brunette, I would never go light brown. Gotta go all the way! I think you’re right about the weird cowboy guy. It was probably one of the best days of his schizophrenic life. That would have been amazing if I told him I was 5′ 12”. I gotta remember these things…

  5. Why not take a good pciture of yourself and play with your hair color in Photoshop or whatever type of photo editing software you use- would be a quick way to see what you might look like and if you would like it without spending a bunch of money. Would be interesting to see your choices.

    • Yeah I was going to, but I don’t have photoshop on my computer. I heard it was expensive. Maybe I’ll play around and see what kind of editing stuff that I have. Thanks!

  6. Why not try Brunette, it’s only hair. You can always change it back if it looks rubbish. I have to shave mine now since the head injury because the scar has messed up the flow of my hair. I just to look hawt with spikey hair :(

    • Hah you have been rooting for brown forever! I found an old picture of us where my hair was pretty dark and yours was really light for some reason…it was weird!

Comments are great, eh?

