Music

Festival Season


Not the most flattering look.

The music festival season is slowly approaching. Well, the season for good festivals is, anyway. I can’t think of any that take place in winter, but I’m sure they exist. Music festivals are great if you’re interested in seeing a lot of bands that you like in one fun-filled weekend. However, there are a lot of sketchy characters that go to these events. Out of the goodness of my heart, I’m going to give you a run down of the do’s and don’t’s of being an excellent attendee. So that you don’t end up looking like these guys.

Do be prepared to be sweaty and smelly. Depending on which fest you’re attending, you might end up covered in mud, sweat, tears, blood, alcohol, or crack. I know Glastonbury gets super muddy every year (which isn’t worth it in my opinion). Then after you’re all muddy, you don’t get to take a shower. You have to go back to your tent. I would probably spend the week crying myself to sleep.

Do dress appropriately. I’ve been to Lollapalooza twice. The first time I went, I worse dresses and cutesy things. For some reason I wore a white sweater on a day that it rained and some douche jumped in a puddle right behind me and speckled my sweater with mud. You better believe I whacked him with my umbrella a couple times. From that day on, I learned my lesson–I can be careful with my clothes all day long, but it only takes one unpredictable knucklehead to ruin my sweater/life.

Don’t be afraid to do your own thing. If you go with a group of people, take into consideration that they might want to see bands that you don’t. Unless you and your friends have the exact same taste in everything and are clones of each other, you’ll most likely have this problem. It’s good to split up and go off on your own. Just pick a meeting place, or else prepare to be lost forever.

Don’t buy merchandise. Unless your shirt is drenched in sweat or mud, try to avoid the purchase of concert t-shirts. I used to love collecting the t-shirts from shows that I went to, especially ones that had the tour dates on them. Until one day I realized that I was being super tacky. One time my brother got a t-shirt at Lolla. It was black and in bright yellow lettering it said “I am a Snoop Dog Millionaire”. I’m assuming he got it because he thought it was funny. But it’s haunted my dreams once or twice. Talk about being tickety tack.

Do stand at the back for some of the less popular shows. You don’t need to see every member’s face and take pictures of how sweaty they are. Just stand at the back and enjoy the tunes. Then you don’t have to push people out of the way when you want to leave to catch another band. The more you push people out of the way, the more likely you’ll get AIDS. Definitely try to get to the front for a headliner though!

Don’t transform into a hippie. I think Vanessa Hudgens is the biggest culprit of doing this at Coachella every year. Sometimes she dresses bohemian-y during the year, so I think she’s under the impression that she’ll pass as a hippie at the festival. Seriously? Eye paint?

Trying wayyy too hard.

Standard

25 thoughts on “Festival Season

  1. Only been to Coachella. Loved it – crossed about 30 bands off my “to see” list, and found another 30 great ones.
    Do bring water too. because you get dehydrated when you drink that much beer over 3 days…

    • I’ve never been to Coachella, but I’ve heard great things! One of my favorite bands, Squeeze, is playing there this year but I don’t think I’ll be able to make it :(
      True about the water! Smart thinkin!

  2. I have never been to a music festival actually. I would probably enjoy it as my years in the Scouts made me immune to the problem of being dirty, cold and sleeping in a tent.

    I have very narrow music tastes though and would no doubt spend the entire time in the dance/rave tent.

    Did you ever go to Ministry of Sound in London when you were in the UK?

  3. How can you be a hippie and a millionaire? Vanessa needs to stop being phony and start sending more nudes to Zac Efron, even if they aren’t dating anymore like I don’t think they are.

    I don’t think I could ever go to a music festival. I’m not that big into concerts or being out public in general anyway. I know someone who said they really wanted to go to Burning Man because nobody accepts money there, it’s all a bartering system. Well if that isn’t a way to start prostitution I don’t know what is. Hippies stink. Lily doesn’t.

    • Thanks for the comp (compliment). It’s true though, I don’t stink! Some creep in my building told me I smelled nice today too!
      I was seriously debating about throwing a Burning Man reference in here but I didn’t know how many people would understand/think I was a druggie whore. One time I was at a party in Salt Lake City (of all places) and I ended up in a basement watching clips of someone’s Burning Man trip. Possibly one of the worst nights of my life.

      • Ewww how old were they? That’s such an early 90s thing, to show clips of your vacation to someone. I hope it was at least a moving, talking picture and not a slide show.

      • It was like home video style, but with songs playing in the background instead of talking. So it was super lame. They were probably in their 30’s and I was 19. Looking back, I’m actually surprised that I wasn’t taken advantage of.

  4. Tickety tack! Love it. I am terrified of large crowds so I don’t do well at festivals. However, I went to ACL 2 years ago because Bjork was playing and she doesn’t come around often, much less to Texas. I kind of wish I went to see Stevie last year, but I can’t brave it every year. I am thinking of going to SXSW this year because I am getting some passes for a 2 month stint working for them. Maaaaybe I’ll brave the crowd. Mostly my brother is trying to finagle getting my pass so he can see metal shows. Bleh.

    • Oh nice! I haven’t listened to a lot Bjork but what I have heard, I’ve liked.
      Oh yeah, I remember that you said something about working for SXSW! Sounds fun! Yeah metal isn’t really my thing either.

    • Yeah true. Every time I go to a concert I want to leave early because there is always a rush to get out at the end. So then I only end up seeing 3/4 the show any way. Might as well just listen to the album at home…

  5. I think it would be interesting to go to Burning Man, but I may be underestimating how much stupidity I would be exposed to. Don’t think my wife would be up for it and I’m probably too old to do this kind of stuff anymore. What is the age limit now- 30?

    • Hah yeah something like that. I mean, you could go at any age, but anyone over 30 at burning man is a certified creep. Hah just kidding. You should go and then blog about it!

  6. Sammy says:

    Oh man Lily. I was laughing out loud about the Do’s of appropriate attire. Thanks girl! It’s been a depressing week. Then I read it to Lyle. He didn’t think it was as funny as I found it. He def would be the knuckle-headed douche.

  7. We’re like the king of festivals over here haha. I went to Leeds Festival last year, my God I hated it. The music was awesome, Muse, 30 Seconds to Mars, MCR and Pulp were the main big bastards there. But yeah I pretty much looked like the people in that photo this year, just hammering with rain constantly. Trawling through mud all day, standing on our feet for 15 hours a day. 44 hours without sleep, not going to the toilet for a poo for four days. Aggh. Still it’s an awesome experience.

    Didn’t get hit with piss one either. :D

    • Yeah you guys definitely have a lot, which I appreciate. Sounds like you had a good time even though it was gross weather. Those are always great memories. And I guess if everyone’s muddy, then who cares, right?

      • The mixture of muddy and constant rain was a definite downer on the weekend, the thing I looked forward to was giving my feet a massage when I got back to the tent haha.

Comments are great, eh?

