Favorites, Feelings

10,000 Views!


I think I’ve finally made it in life. I reached 10,000 views on my blog! My mom is probably responsible for about 8,000 views, but still, what an awesome milestone! I was going to do a giveaway, where you guys would have to answer some weird question and whoever gave the best answer would get an awful Canadian souvenir. But I decided against it. Instead, I’m going to share 10,000 10 facts about myself that you hopefully don’t already know. Here it goes!

1. I was born with only one kidney. Well, I was born with one enlarged kidney, and one mini, deformed one. I had to get an operation when I was 3 to connect both ureters to my big kidney ( I think). Being deformed internally is awesome. You get all the attention and unqiue-ness of having something wrong with you, but you also look normal. That sounds terrible. I admit that it must have been the scariest thing ever for my parents when they had to send their child into surgery. I never want to experience that. But hey, if I’m able to joke about it, then everything worked out alright.

2. I performed in the Sydney Opera House with my choir. I love singing. It’s one of those great things that anyone can do if they practice hard enough. I mean, obviously some people are better than others, but anyone could do it if they really wanted to! Unless they’re mute. Then that would be tough. Singing in Sydney was amazing, but practicing 4 hours every day made me want to shoot myself in the face. I need to go back to Sydney to really enjoy it, because I didn’t have enough time. I would post a picture of me standing in front of the Opera House or petting a kangaroo, but I just look so bad in all of them. I was 18 and hadn’t discovered makeup or mirrors apparently.

3. I bite my nails. It’s disgusting. I have really small nail-beds to begin with, so even if my nails have been growing for months, they still look short. Such a curse. Not only do I bite my nails, but I also swallow my nails. That’s right, I eat my nails. Sick, I know. It’s such a bad habit that I can’t lose. I’ve tried growing them out so many times. One time I lived solely on a diet of gummy candies and the gelatin in them must have done something to my nails because they grew so long and super thick. It looked like I was wearing acrylics. I need to try that diet again.

4. I don’t drink. When I was studying in England I drank but only because there’s not much else to do there. I don’t like alcohol with food. I definitely don’t like the taste of it unless the alcohol itself is undetectable. I have my memories of getting schwasted, and I certainly had a lot of fun, but I think I’ve out-grown that now.

5. I wrote in a journal every day during high school. Looking back, they’re the most embarrassing things ever…I had to dispose of a couple. Journaling is really therapeutic. Maybe that’s why I come on here.

6. There was a period in my life where I ran for an hour and ate under 1000 calories every day. It only lasted a year, because really, who can do that for so long? It will catch up with you. It started small, just by eating healthy and exercising, but then it turned into “how far can I push my body?”, “how much weight can I lose?” I didn’t do it out of depression–more out of boredom. I went to college in Utah for 1 and 1/2 years, came home, went to community college, and was bored. Good to know that I can really buckle down and lose a lot of weight if I want to, but I think I’m fine how I am now.

7. I’m an anti-feminist. I wouldn’t mind if men were in charge of everything. I would much prefer having babies, cleaning, cooking, and staying at home than working. I would be fine if women weren’t allowed to vote, compete in the olympics, or run for president. Is that weird? Yes. I mean, I think its awesome that women have done so many great things and fought for their freedoms, but they’re just making life harder for us.

8. I like to bake, but I’m still learning to cook. Cooking is so hard, guys. Why didn’t I ever learn this important skill? It’s hard to mess up baking because the recipes are so exact. It’s almost fool proof. Unless you leave something in the oven for too long and it burns. I’m guilty of that. There’s more experimenting and guessing in cooking…and that scares me.

9. I love nostalgia. I am constantly watching old 90′s shows on youtube and playing video games that I had in 4th grade. It feels good to go back to a simpler time; When I only had to worry about beating a level in Mario 64, and not about the bills. Okay, lets be serious, I still don’t worry about the bills.

10. Freak shows intrigue me like none other. By “freak shows” I mean anything on TLC basically. Hoarders, the Tree Man, bearded ladies, The Elephant Man, Simon Birch, siamese twins, etc. I know I seem like the worst person, but I don’t watch to make fun of them. I’m just so fascinated that people live their lives with such crazy outward appearances. They definitely humble me and make me realize how lucky I am. I have to admit that they’re captivating.

Whew! That was actually more difficult than I thought it would be. Who knew talking about myself would be so exhausting?!?!

Standard

32 thoughts on “10,000 Views!

    • Haha nothing! I swear! I’m an open book! I think people who drink are hiding something…!
      I was th opposite of dark and dirty in high school. Dumb and naive is more like it!

  1. I can’t imagine your parents stress when you had your operation! You want to take that pain from your child, and do the stuff yourself–although, with the whacked kidney, it would be hard for your Mom to have the operation for you. Did they let you keep it in a little jar of formaldehyde? That would be rather nifty, I think. “Hi. My name is Lily in Canada. Would you like to see my kidney?” Talk about a conversation starter!!

    I burned my journals, too. Oh, the angst!! Well done on the 10K views! I’m only 9,953 behind you!

  2. I forgot this part–an anti feminist? No voting? But, but–what about the suffragettes? Mrs. Banks in that pretty yellow dress:

    Our daughters’ daughters will adore us
    And they’ll sign in grateful chorus
    “Well done! Well done!
    Well done Sister Suffragette!

    • Oy yeah you’re done. I actually still have my deformed kidney inside me! Yay! You have a lot of views for just starting!
      I’m ignoring your sister suffragette post.

    • Yeah I think more people would agree with you more about the cooking. It just seems so scary! I feel like I could mess things up so easily!

  3. Your poor kidney! At least you still have a good one. I used to bite my nails, but I was able to kick that and NOT popping my joints and knuckles. Way gross and inappropriate in a lot of professional situations. Speaking of professional situations…anti-feminist?! Have you seen Mad Men? I get so worked up for Peggy. And the comments to the secretaries. I love that show though. I would go absolutely crazy if I was treated the same way. I have so many decisions I need to make in life. In fact, I’m so feminist, I let my hubs cook for me! But that was because I can’t cook either. We’ve gotta eat somehow!

    Congrats on your page views! That’s so fun! When did you start blogging?

    • Yeah kidneys stink. But at least you only need one to live! Whew! Yes I love Mad Men! I used to like Peggy, but now she’s almost too powerful and smart for my liking. Haha. I obviously can’t cook either! So I totally know watcha mean!
      Thanks girl! I started at the end of sept and tried to blog consistently everyday! Surprisingly a lot of work!

    • Thanks so much! You’ll get there super soon! I’ll make sure to go on your blog every day!
      Hah most people are! It’s very rare when women agree with that one. Anytime you wanna share your opinions, feel free! I won’t bite your head off or anything, I swear!

  4. Lisa says:

    Mad men does illustrate how crappy women were treated not too long ago. I like to work it both ways, though.

    I want equal pay for equal work, I want to be able to compete with men in any arena, I want to vote, run for president, etc. BUT…I also want all that is female/feminine to be revered and the differences to be highlighted. I am woman hear me roar! I want men to stand in awe of my female ways which would include my ability to multi-task, nurture, create beautiful aesthetically pleasing spaces, give birth, etc, etc. (not in that order).

    I want to be treated like the goddess I am. Simple. that’s not asking for too much, right?
    Tee hee : )

    • Yes, exactly! It’s important to be recognized for all the things are wonderful and uniquely feminine, while at the same allowed to explore my potential as a human. I just don’t want to be told what I can and can’t do – it has to be up to me. And if I so decide that I need to be coddled and taken care of from time to time, it’s my decision. So is being my own boss and competing for projects alongside men.

      Being feminist can mean whatever YOU think it means. It’s merely giving you the power to choose. Thanks for the soapbox, Lily!

  5. Congrats on the 10,000 views!

    I have way too many of these in common with you and would like to keep them to myself in fear that we are somehow destined to kill each other in the future to save or destroy the fate of humanity. Did you ever see Carnivale? If so, that’s what I’m thinking.

    • Hey thanks!
      I’ve never seen Carnivale. I feel like we need to make movie lists for each other just so we understand all of the references that we throw around.
      But yeah sounds like we have similar mind-sets. Spirit animals.

  6. Congrats on the milestone! I’m not so far off that number myself, I another couple of weeks I reckon should do it haha.

    Not sure biting nails is disgusting… swallowing them definitely is, I hope you don’t bite and swallow your toe nails!

    • I’ve been desperate for nails at times in my life…toe nails probably wouldn’t be so bad. Just kidding. But seriously.
      Yeah you should do some kind of celebration when you reach it! It was pretty exciting for me!

Comments are great, eh?

