Holidays

It’s Christmas Time, and by golly, you’ll like it!


Those who are politically correct belong on the Island of Misfit Toys.

Pretty much everyone in the first world knows that it’s Christmas time. We’ve been celebrating it for the entirety of our lives. We have our traditions, our family, our homes, and delicious food to look forward to. It’s a time of happiness, and most importantly, celebrating the birth of our Savior. Some would say it’s a magical time.

It seems like people have lost sight of what a special time this is, though. The world is becoming more and more focused on being ‘pc’ or politically correct. In an elementary school in Canada, the faculty told the students that they were not allowed to have a Holiday Party. Why? Because some people don’t celebrate the holidays. I can see where they were going with this, but I have to strongly disagree and say that this is child abuse. Okay maybe not child abuse, but I would threaten to kill myself if I went to that school.

Maybe the kids whose parents don’t celebrate the holidays WISH they could. Maybe this school party was the one thing that would put them in the holiday spirit and the school stomped all over their dreams. The school decided that they would have a party in February so it wouldn’t coincide with any specific religious events. Oh how politically correct of you! You really make school such a fun experience by taking away any sort of enjoyment that they could’ve had.

In 1998 I was in 5th grade. I remember vividly that my class had a CHRISTMAS PARTY every year up until 5th grade. The 90′s were a great time because everyone was semi-racist and Christmas was the only holiday that was recognized. “Oh, you’re jewish? Use this candy cane to catch your tears.” In 5th grade I opted out of public school and decided to do homeschool instead. Not because I was boycotting the fact that there wasn’t a Christmas Party (because there definitely was), but because I started to hate everyone at the ripe age of 11.

It’s so wrong to take away a child’s school party. That was one of the best things to look forward to! I have some of the best Christmas tree decorations that I made in elementary school. So classic. I don’t remember making menorahs. And I pretty much ignored Kwanzaa’s existence until college.

I would say the majority of kids in school celebrate Christmas. When you take it away for the one kid that doesn’t, you ruin everyone else’s fun. And let’s face it, that one kid would have so much fun eating Christmas cupcakes and making a wreath out of macaroni for his parents.

Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah, Happy Kwanzaa, Happy Holidays! Whichever one you celebrate (or don’t), have a good one!

Standard

18 thoughts on “It’s Christmas Time, and by golly, you’ll like it!

  1. I agree with everything here. Nobody gets offended when you wish them a Merry Christmas. I wouldn’t get offended if someone wished me a Happy Hannukah. I also never really get offended by anything though. We grew up in the same time period so we’re used to being “semi-racist” as you put it. This is me saying nothing new or relevant.

    Merry Christmas to you!

    • Haha yeah I know what you mean. The only thing I get offended by is when people are trying their hardest not to offend me.
      Yeah I like the fact that we are the exact same age so I know at least one of my readers can relate to my flashbacks.

  2. Lily in Canada,

    I actually choked on my stale Jujyfruit (red, of course. How many landfills are full of the yellow and green ones?) when I read the candy cane sentence, I started laughing that hard. I’m not sure if the tears were from laughter or the choking, either way, I was crying.

    I am so effing tired of being PC. I almost want to get to my 80′s so I can say whatever I want, and people will say, “Oh, poor dear! She doesn’t know what she’s saying.” and I will totally know. And I won’t say “Bless your heart” after I say it ’cause I WON’T CARE!!

    Merry Christmas!! Celebrate the event that brought this holiday, because we should remember he was to represent Peace and Good Will.

    Now, go to bed, because Santa won’t show up until you do.

    • Haha glad I made you choke and almost die on Christmas Eve! Ooops! I’m so tired of PC too. It’s so dumb. Offending people is one of my favorite hobbies.
      Merry Christmas to you too! Hope you had a great year! I will definitely keep in mind the true reason we celebrate Christmas.

  3. Lisa says:

    Hahaha! “Use this candy cane to catch your tears!” Sooo funny and unexpected. Exactly what everyone is thinking! Which is worse, PC people who feel the need to censor everyone, or the fearful people who accommodate them?

  4. We get these stories about schools not celebrating Christmas pop up over here every so often as well. There was quite a famous one about how the Birmingham council cancelled Christmas and instead called it Winterval.

    It turns out that Winterval was just the name given to a period of about two months that covered numerous religious holidays. Nothing was cancelled, it was just the newspapers reporting it incorrectly on purpose.

    Always makes me laugh when I read about it though.

  5. Marya says:

    PC-ing is so wannabe…Lily…I’m a bit stuck on the you being home-schooled at 5th grade…let’s address this. You and my daughter are obviously sisters from another mother. She used to “hang” with me a lot between the ages of 11-13 because (1) she would have loved to have been home schooled and (2) she was basically babysitting her peers at school and (3) they canceled the “holiday party” and had a “Party of Love” for Valentine’s Day. So..your mom was really thinking of you and understood you…I guess I go down as the meanest mom around…because I just told my girl to “just deal.” Your mom is cool. Your mom had curriculum all lined up for you and you sailed right through.

    Merry Christmas, Merry Christmas and another Merry Christmas! Remember when the employees at Target were told they couldn’t say “Merry Christmas” but “Happy Holidays.” What a bunch of non-merry sickos…xxoo

  6. What’s Kwanzaa? I’ve never heard of it.
    Maybe we should just re-name Christmas, to make it more politically correct for those who don’t believe in God. I mean, it is about eating and drinking, right?

    • I THINK it’s a holiday that African Americans celebrate, but I have no idea really. Haha We should just have an extra holiday for eating and drinking!

    • Haha I know right? I feel like there are maybe 100 people in the states that celebrat Kwanzaa yet we feel the need to accommodate all of them. Maybe I’ll just start celebrating Christmas, Hanukkah, and Kwanzaa so I feel extra recognized.

    • True. There is nothing better than seeing the shock on someone’s face after you have offended them and then the awkward silence that follows. And by nothing better, I mean that anything is better. It’s definitely an adrenaline rush though.

      • You forgot the rule given in an earlier blog discussion, Lily in Canada!!! Say whatever you like, then, smile and say “Bless them!”

Comments are great, eh?

