Judging, living in canada

Mad Hatter


Remember when Kate Middleton and what’s-his-name came to “the Americas” and gallivanted around, talking to people and pretending they were interested in Calgary, Alberta? Yeah, good times. Kate’s outfits were alright, but they weren’t outstanding. I think Kate could have done a little more to honor Canada instead of wearing traditional royal garb.

Whenever I go to a different country, I make sure to dress appropriately. Example #1: In Edinburgh, Scotland I wore my finest kilt.

I even matched the store's display!

Example #2: In Paris I didn’t go anywhere without my beret!

I was the best thing about Versailles.

Example #3: You’ve already seen a picture of me in my Dale of Norway traditional sweater!

I think Kate could have stepped out of the box in the hat department if you ask me. I’m thinking something along the lines of this:

The "Lady Puckingham"

Or perhaps if she wanted to recreate a personal favorite with a touch of Canada, she could have opted for this:

Phillip Treacy would be proud.

And if she really wanted to catch the attention of environmentalists, she could have always gone for the goose covered in oil. And she could have re-used that hat in her trip to the United States. They always talk about how she likes to recycle her clothes and how she’s a “people’s princess.” I’m just throwing ideas around. You can look at more hats here.

Unique, but not overly-busy.

Standard

26 thoughts on “Mad Hatter

  1. Marya says:

    Lily, you are so fashion forward with your outfits! I love the one with you in the kilt. But onto the hats…the mad hats. Am I the only one that knows that before the Royal Wedding in April 2011, Fergie sat Eugenie and Bea down and said, “I’m not invited to the wedding, but I will be there in spirit. Here, wear these hats.” Grounds for child abuse, Fergie. Way to use your children as pawns in “sticking it to the Royals.” I think the reason Lady Kate can’t step out of any box is because she has invisible “Royal Duct Tape” across her mouth, and her mother’s…Pippa didn’t get any duct tape.

  2. Becoming Bitter says:

    I am way behind on fashion. When did black cloaks and scary masks stop becoming the most fashionable and coolest thing to wear?

  3. I can’t wear hats, as I tend to look homeless. I must say, LiC, you did match the store display perfectly! I was in Edinburgh once, and, while in a pub during Hogmany, found out Men in Kilts Drinking Whiskey will find it necessary to show you what they don’t wear under those kilts. No wonder William Wallace was so grumpy, riding a horse while in traditional Scots attire. Ewwwww!

  4. Lisa says:

    Every wardrobe should have a goose covered in oil. That’s a staple or my “go to” look when I want to impress. I’m big on clothes with strong political messages. I like to be thought of as a human billboard.

  5. Kate Middleton is top stuff and I am proud to have her as my princess. Wills is a bit of a soppy div though.

    I am about half Scottish or so but I have never been to Scotland and wouldn’t ever wear a kilt if I went there. I would look like an English tourist and some of them up there don’t like us English much. It’s what happens when you are culturally superior to your neighbours, they start hating you.

    That is a corker of a red coat as well.

  6. I always wear a hat to work. I’ve worn the same one for the last 3 years. I was hoping I’d be known as the hat guy so all of my other flaws would go overlooked. Unfortunately everyone was very friendly and learned my real name. Bastards.

    The British always make a fuss about strange things, like women who are only famous for who they’re married to. I’m so glad us Americans don’t care about who a woman marries, only who she sleeps with.

    • Hats are great on guys. Girls, not so much. I don’t know how America does it, but we somehow are the best and most embarrassing country, while England is just the over all worst.

      • I always feel weird if I’m the only one in the room wearing a hat. Then, if pictures were taken, I feel like I’m the smartest one for thinking of wearing the fancy hat. I’m happy only in retrospect, I’m afraid. And I heart Versailles (I studied landscape architecture and it was one of my favorite personal field trips) and I especially heart that last bird hat! Good job.

      • I totally know what you mean about wearing a hat. The only time I would definitely wear a hat would be to the Kentucky Derby where I know I wouldn’t be alone. Versailles was amazing! Thanks for reading and commenting!

  7. That was hilarious! You didn’t really enjoy Versailles? I’ve never been there, nor in Canada, but if I ever come there (which I won’t because you scared me :)) I will wear appropriate clothes.

  8. fashionista! i buy nice and trendy clothes but i always opt to wear my sweatpants and tee…or sweater in the cold.

    i have so many clothes i havent tried in my closet!

Comments are great, eh?

