canada

Red Meat in Georgia Straight


The title of this post should make absolutely no sense to you. I will explain. When we were in Vancouver, Paul picked up a newspaper out of one of those newspaper boxes. Newspaper boxes freak me out. You know they have hobo pee all over them, don’t you? Well, they do.

The Georgia Straight is an offbeat weekly mag that is distributed in Vancouver for free. Let me just point out that I don’t trust anything that’s free. Unless we’re talking about the samples in Costo–too good to pass up.

I call this magazine offbeat because it has a groovy feel. I guess they got in trouble because they published an article on how to grow pot. So not only are they an usual publication, they’re a stupid one as well.

While I was giving it a read through, I found myself looking at the comics. Okay, lets be honest, I went straight to the comics. I was taken aback when I saw that they had one of my favorite comics, Red Meat, in their paper.

click to make readable

When I was about 16 I found a book of Red Meat comics in my house. I was creeped, but not half as creeped as when I was read Edward Gorey stories as a child. Gashlycrumb Tinies will always be imprinted in my mind. Red Meat comics aren’t HILARIOUS. But they make me laugh more than Garfield or Dilbert or something equally as stupid. I was just excited to see it make an appearance in a newspaper since it’s not that popular. And glad to know that I’m not the only one who likes Milkman Dan.

Standard

9 thoughts on “Red Meat in Georgia Straight

  1. I have never really laughed at Garfield stuff but Dilbert is immense. Maybe ‘cos I work in an office and have to deal with plebs all day.

    That Red Meat strip is pretty good, I have seen similar stuff before.

    You ever read an online comic called ‘Sexy Losers’ before? It’s drawn in a Manga style but some of it is brilliant. Perverse but brilliant.

  2. Lisa says:

    I love Milkman Dan!! Those are too funny. Especially the first one. So unsettling. Haha.
    Only slightly twisted people can enjoy Red meat. A good way to separate your friends into categories; those who are dark and twisted and those who don’t get it.

  3. neil says:

    great blogging, lily! you consistently find good topics and have fun and funny things to say about them. i love “red meat” and I think I even remember that ‘newpaper’ from when I worked in vancouver–it is indeed a groovy and highly suspect publication. keep up the good work but be kind to mr. gorey and his work; he was a true original in the world of american literature. definitely creepy but like willy wonka (at least when played by gene wilder), you gotta love him!

    • Thanks Neilio! Too kind! That’s crazy that you probably read the Georgia Straight. Crazy Vancouverites. Mr. Gorey is the coolest. He and Gene both shaped my childhood. Gotta love ‘em both!

  4. Marya says:

    I find it interesting that you can size a person up just by asking them a) do you read comic strips and b) what kind of comic strips do you like. For example, anyone who likes Garfied, is someone “glass half empty.” If you like “Calvin and Hobbs” well then you are an adult who never grew up. If you enjoy “Milkman Dan” you have an amazing sense of humor and you probably know a few “Milkman Dans” in you sphere of influence…and that’s ok.

  5. Random Lily Post Wednesday!

    I agree with Michael’s year and a half old comment and think Dilbert is also funny for the same reasons. I hate my life. I should quit and become a milkman and just go around abusing small children, that seems to be the way to go :)

    • Haha Milkman Dan is the best. I love how awful he is. Thanks for looking at my older posts! It’s crazy how much my writing has changed. At least, I feel like it has!

      • Haha definitely but still just as good :D I remember when I first started, so much to blog about, now I’m grasping at straws. I wish I had some workmates I hated so I could bitch about them but I’m even that much of an angry person at the moment.

Comments are great, eh?

