Food, Holidays, Stores

Update


Yep. This really exists.

I was in the grocery store the other day and I saw this magazine on the shelf. Really though?  Apparently they have it in the US too, but I just don’t want to believe that. What kind of people purchase this thing? I’ll tell you what kind of people–the worst kind.

Speaking of the grocery store, we decided to go to Safeway instead of the many bizarre Canadian alternatives: Thrifty Foods, Fairway Market, Peppers, Zellers, Oxford Foods…the list goes on. At home, my fave grocery store (yes, I have a fave) is Dominick’s. When I first took Paul to my beloved Domi’s he said “this is the same as Safeway” and “Safeway is Dominick’s parent company” to which I replied, “No.” Well, to my surprise, Safeway is just like Domi’s and they might be related somehow. I felt so much at home when I walked inside. If I ever get homesick, I am going to walk the aisles of Safeway. Seems normal.

In other news, I made 24 funfetti cupcakes. I don’t know why vanilla cupcakes taste better with rainbow sprinkles in the batter, but they just do. I also bought a bag of those mini reese’s cups and ate them in one sitting. I haven’t been eating well, but I also haven’t been gaining that much weight. I am going to see how long I can ride this no-weight-gain-train. Hopefully I didn’t just jinx myself. Also, whoever invented Munchies is a genius.

Halloween is coming up–thankfully the Canadians have it on the 31st as well. I don’t know how many more fake holidays I could take. Our upstairs neighbors are having a Halloween party and Paul and I still don’t have our costumes–typical. Paul has also informed me that he has never seen Nightmare Before Christmas. Apparently he’s  grossed out that all of the emo/goth kids wear the movie merchandise. I mean, he has a point. There are people that are just destroying the movie’s credibility. Nevertheless, I am making him watch it. Also, if anyone has any costume ideas for us, please help us out! Or don’t.

 

 

Standard

2 thoughts on “Update

  1. Marya says:

    I find it fascinating that a grocery store is such a part of a town’s character. I agree. Growing up in Los Angeles, Safeway was a huge part of my food chain of memories. I plan to have my ashes scattered in Costco when I pass on. To long for the way things are done at the grocery of your childhood is something that all therapists need to tap into. Find your inner grocery store and go with it!

    XO Marya

  2. natty-pie says:

    Best. Movie. Ever. Literally the breathe of my childhood. Aka my excuse to curl in a ball and binge eat throughout it’s entirety.

Comments are great, eh?

