Exercise, Surroundings

Embracing the Lifestyle


Before my husband Paul and I left on our road trip from Illinois to Victoria, B.C. (if you don’t know where that is, its right above Seattle–longest road trip of all time? RESPECT) I decided to pack my whole wardrobe, as per usual. I like to think of myself as a stylish gal. Even if I am just wearing jeans and a t-shirt, I need ALL of my jeans and t-shirts just so I have variety. Needless to say, the car was full of my clothes–in suitcases, on the floor, in garbage bags. It wasn’t pretty.

Once we got settled in and actually left our apartment, I started to take notice of my fellow Victorians. I would consider myself somewhat of an expert people-watcher, or people-judger if we’re getting technical. So I started to realize that no one dresses to impress, they dress to workout. Literally everyone on the main road by my apartment was either running, power-walking, walking their dogs, riding bikes, or carrying a yoga mat. I mean, I like to workout and I understand taking advantage of nice weather, but this was a little creepy. But I was also intrigued and slightly jealous that all of these people have motivation to work out every day.

I have wandered through the city and noticed that there are a lot of trendy (and expensive!) athletic gear stores.  People here worship their yoga pants. It seems like there is little to no effort in looking presentable for Victorians and Vancouverites. I mean you can be fashionable while you workout (besides being super sweaty, having a tomato face and not being able to breathe).  I still kind  of have a bizarre attachment to working out with wii fit. Especially when it says “Hmm that exercise wasn’t really your forte” :/ Although, its easy to understand why people workout or are just outside all of the time here. The temperature is pretty mild–its never too hot or too cold. You also get the mountains and the ocean, and a little bit of city and the suburbs. Its a fine balance. But that’s all besides the point. There are way too many fashion crimes to count here. The other day Paul and I were walking down the street and a woman was walking her dog with curlers in her hair. I mean, she could have forgotten that they were in. She also could have no one to impress. But I’m sure she knew they were in after she saw the look on my face.

To further prove that I am not the only one who has noticed the severity of this epidemic (I think it’s fair to call it that), Paul pointed me in the direction of this article.

Standard

4 thoughts on “Embracing the Lifestyle

Comments are great, eh?

